skip navigation
Laura

Laura(1944)

  • Saturday, September 27 @ 08:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Friday, December 5 @ 06:30 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Laura A police detective falls in... MORE > $89.98 Regularly $89.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Laura really is dead ????

    • Bob
    • 7/28/14

    Don Letta notes that the last 1/3 of the movie is a dream, now that is something to ponder on. I need to watch the move again with that perspective.

  • LAURA (WHEEEEZE COUGH)

    • Will
    • 6/20/14

    The classic who done it. Hammy acting, except for Clifton Webb whos too good for this one, but has a great time. Ive never seen anything like it. Booze and smokes and lunch and smokes and booze and dinner and questions and smokes and rain rain pouring rain and yes you guessed it, Dana Andrews in the pouring rain with a well lit smoke? HAH! Uncle Vinny as we called Vincent Price, Who kills rabbits with a double barreled twelve gauge shot gun? (so he claims). yuck, what a monster. No wonder Laura wouldn't marry him, hes as gay as Paris in this one,(not that theres anything wrong with that). No wonder everyone in this film is long gone, either from too much booze or lung cancer. Who needs a shot gun. Good bye, my love.

  • Best of Show

    • dennis
    • 5/31/14

    Classy and elegant, with an awesome performance by Clifton Webb! Beautifully measured acting by Miss Tierney, Mr. Andrews, Miss Anderson, and the always fabulous Vincent Price. A candy box of a movie!A top 10, 4 star film!

  • LAURA....or MARC?

    • Don Letta
    • 5/28/14

    I wonder how many lovers of this film,know that it's Marc's dream, beginning two-thirds of the way through, that they're watching. Marc is the pivotal character, not Laura.A worn out cop investigates another Mahattan murder; as he learns about the victim and her lifestyle, he becomes infatuated with her. On a rainy night he sits before a painting of the beautiful victim and falls into a drunken fantasy-dream. he recreates the scenario to fit his fantasy, fashioning all the characters to suit his desires, even keeping the victim alive...his ultimate triumph. The final third of the film plays out to the besotted cop's delight...the murderer is caught and Laura is his. Mercifully, we're spared his awakening.This is one of the most fascinating films ever made. Flawless in every detail, perfectly cast and Bonnie Cashin outdid herself in designing a wardrobe for Laura that was timeless. Never capitulating to the look of the day...big shoulders, pancake hats, self-concious hair-do's, Cashin makes Laura even more dreamlike by setting her apart from the rest of the female cast by designing clothes that emphasized her classic quality; even presenting her as a Geek goddess in the party scene.The score gave David Raksin his name and later on, Johnny Mercer gave it the lyrics that told the secret...but she's only a dream...

  • My No. 1 soundtrack of all time ...

    • Mark McPherson
    • 5/27/14

    I never get tired of the glorious David Raksin soundtrack ... If someone told me I could only keep one movie soundtrack, "Laura" would be it.

  • On Screen Chemistry of Dana & Gene

    • lovedanaandgene
    • 5/27/14

    Love these 2 actors and all the movies together,but this is THE BEST of this classic pair.

  • Wonderful movie

    • culebra
    • 4/24/14

    I am so glad that TCM is finally showing "Laura." It is one of the best film noir movies. Even if you know the twist you still enjoy the movie over and over again. Gene Tierney is absolutely beautiful and so perfect in the role. Dana Andrews, Clifton Webb especially, Vincent Price and Judith Anderson turn are perfect in their roles. It is, as if, the stars aligned to make this movie so special. It is absolutely "An Essential"!

  • Not disappointed!

    • Alice
    • 4/20/14

    I had heard about this wonderful film noir called "Laura". Kept hoping you would show it. I couldn't believe it was going to be on The Essential. Looked forward to it all week. I was not disappointed. This is one of those films I will enjoy no matter how many times I watch it. What a treat this was. Thank you so much, TCM. Please don't wait so long next time.

  • Laura---Long Awaited

    • Karen
    • 4/7/14

    Thank you TCM for finally showing this masterfully acted and directed film. You have made me very happy!! Gene Tierney and Dana Andrews are memorable. This is one of the best true classic films made, and I hope this not the last time TCM airs this film. This film ranks up there with Mildred Pierce,The Big Sleep, The Best Years of Our Lives, Casablanca.....

  • About time to show Laura!

    • Rich
    • 4/2/14

    I don't believe TCM has shown Laura with Gene Tierney in over a year, and yet, it's shown as an essential on 4/19/14. If it makes the essentials cut, why can't TCM show it more often throughout the year? Another classic that I believe hasn't been shown in several months is 1962's Cape Fear, certainly one of Mitchum's best film roles. TCM has to be more aware of balancing films that get frequent exposure due to multiple "themes" that certain movies fall under vs. what they're significance is across TCM's universe(ie. Forbidden Planet, It Happens Every Spring, Naked City, The Paper Chase, Bus Stop, How to Marry A Millionaire, Shock Corridor, Ziegfield Girl, Pink Panther (3 times in a month), Sailor Takes A Wife, Our Town, Murder My Sweet, & Send Me No Flowers). TCM fans surely want to be exposed to films that have never made it to our TVs in a while, but please take a harder look at how each film stands on it's own merits to the shown frequency. Thank you!

  • Where's Waldo?

    • Delia
    • 12/10/13

    Splendid film noir outing whose two leading characters have an explosive chemistry. Wonderful story twist (spoiler alert) for flatfoot, Mark (Andrews), who falls in love with Laura (Tierney at her loveliest) who is presumed dead. But wait! She's not dead. She's back. But someone did want her dead because the woman who opened Laura's apartment door took a shotgun blast to the face. Excellent supporting cast with her controlling mentor Waldo who gradually comes unglued and the very, very, very needy why-in-the-world-would-she-date-him? boyfriend, Shelby (Vincent Price) who is comforted and kept by the best fictional character name EVER for a woman who keeps men who don't marry her: Ann Treadwell. And she treads really well. Waldo's last radio broadcast while Laura listens is super creepy and scary. As is the killer's final attempt to kill Laura. A must-see.

  • Laura

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/27/12

    The film noir which introduced director Preminger to the mainstream. Tierney & Andrews are terrific as the leads, as are Price & Anderson in their supporting performances, but Webb stole the scenes & an Oscar nomination. The film won an Acdemy Award for it's atmospheric cinematography. A great, iconic film noir that capitalized on Tierney's beauty. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • O melhor

    • Sonia
    • 11/6/10

    Este filme o melhor de todos os tempos. Com atuaes espetaculares e um roteiro envolvente. Muito bom.

  • Laura

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/23/10

    "Policeman falls in Love with Murdered Woman Who is Still Alive"

  • Laura

    • Jean
    • 3/5/10

    Laura has a wonderful story line, great acting and the music adds a superb touch. However I purchased the DVD and it is very dark, a shame, because it takes away from this beautiful black and white movie, altogether ruins the viewing, I feel a waste of my money.

  • Everything falls right into place.

    • dennis
    • 12/30/09

    The casting, directing and projection of a lifestyle completly disconnected from the horrors of WWII all come together to make this flic a great example of what the movies are all about. I have not seen this film for some time, and note that it is not schedualed. The plot is not strong, but its weakness is more than overcome by the actors, directors and everyone else who produced this great example of WWII films capable of giving a few hours of much needed diversion. In addition to the "Buy War Bonds" banner which usually came with the ending credits, the film itself probably helped in some way to aid the troops in the field, and the families at the home front.

  • Haunting Film Noir

    • Laura
    • 10/21/09

    The casting of this movie is so flawless that it adds to the mystique of the movie itself. Makes you just want to turn down the lights and become enveloped in the film's aura....A GREAT MOVIE

  • Laura (1944)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 8/4/09

    What an amazing film. Expertly directed by Otto Preminger with an absolutely haunting performance by the gorgeous Gene Tierney. Dana Andrews does a great job in his best role besides "The Best Years of Our Lives." Clifton Webb however gives his most memorable performance, he is brilliant. Vincent Price and Judith Anderson are excellent in supporting roles. Great story.

  • Great mystery and romance

    • Marcie
    • 6/8/09

    I've always enjoyed watching this move because of the suspense. The movie has a wonderful cast with the beautiful Gene Tierney playing Laura.I would love to see this movie scheduled soon, movie is a classic with mystery and romance.

  • Can't get enough of this movie

    • pharris
    • 2/19/09

    This is one of those movies that is so captivating that if it was a good book you just couldn't put it down. It makes me long for a different era. Everything about it - the architecture of her apartment, the clothes, especially the music - is so perfect. I would watch it everytime it is shown.

  • Outstanding

    • Melvenia Davis
    • 6/22/08

    This movie has everything, the who, the what, the when, but how was it done. It is hard to fine a movie today with all this and it makes you think. The stars chosen for their roles are perfection in action. What a movie, what a classic. My question why is it not shown more. Please show this movie often. The music is superb. It puts you in that special place of--ahaa this is going to be outstanding.

  • A class Film Noir

    • debra
    • 7/23/07

    Please schedule this movie. It is prehaps the best film noir ever made except for made The Third Man. The actors are excellent, the music is divine, direction and script are superb. I can watch this film over and over again and see something different each time. I never grow tired of Laura.

  • PERFECTION

    • JGG
    • 5/30/07

    Class film noir direction perfect, cast Gene Tierney, Dana Andrews. Vincent Price, Clifton Webb. Judith Anderson.......Perfection. Music ............Laura's Theme Pefection...........

  • Please schedule soon!

    • Lindell
    • 5/30/07

    I would love to watch this very stylish, perfectly acted film noir!

  • It's AMAZING!!!

    • Lillian Lee
    • 2/28/07

    laura is a lovely, stylish film noir movie. loved gene, clifton, and dana in it. one of my favorites.

  • PLEASE Schedule this soon!

    • Tom
    • 9/23/06

    I caught part of this one night on regular TV. From what I saw it was a good cast with a story that shifted gears more often than an Inter-state truck driver.

  • Schedule Soon

    • Joyce Alois
    • 7/24/06

    This is one of my favorite movies of all. Please play it soon as well as The Uninvited with Ray Milland. They don't make movies like these anymore. Joyce

  • SCHEDULING REQUEST

    • Myra
    • 6/23/06

    Would like to request scheduling of "Laura" on TMC Movies in the very near future. This is one of the great "classics" and I missed it last year.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.