skip navigation
The Last Hunt

The Last Hunt(1956)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Last Hunt Two frontiersmen clash over... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • CinemaScope transfer

    • The CinemaScope Cat
    • 4/9/13

    I like this film about the buffalo hunt.Released on Monday,April 30,1956 in CinemaScope. CinemaScope movie are recommended for this film.CinemaScope movie shot in widescreen in the year 1953-1956 these films released in 2.55:1,1957 present 2.35:1 aspect ratio.I cannot buy the VHS tape.The VHS tape is in pan and scan.I can buy the US or the Spain DVD.The film stars Robert Taylor from All the Brothers were Valiant,the 1953 film in Technicolor shot in 1.33:1 aspect ratio.The Warner Archive MOD DVD is in an excellent 2.35:1 CinemaScope ratio.

  • liking granger

    • virginia white
    • 5/10/11

    dear friends i have always loved watching stewart but he was a very good actor in this movie i saw it a long time ago and i would love to have the movie . but every where i have checked to expensive . any way i give it top rating for action realism and good action and beautiful scenery as well i know for a fact i was born up in that part of the country. sincerely virginia

  • Rare bad guy role for Robert Taylor

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/18/11

    This film proves what sort of range Robert Taylor has as an actor. He was so often put into romantic leads that he didn't get the chance to really play a variety of parts. But this film offers him a good role and he does a convincing job playing against type.

  • The Last Hunt

    • Terry L. Hedges
    • 10/25/10

    Great film true depiction of buffalo hunters and their weapons. realistic scenes of loading of sharpes and winchester rifles,excellent color and scenery. fine film.

  • The Last Hunt (1956)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 4/7/10

    Excellent western. Illustrates the insanity of racism and wholesale and needless killing of animals.

  • Brutal 1956 Western

    • mxsoto
    • 1/29/10

    Greed racism and brutality in the old west. Actual scenes of whole herds of buffalo being shot to death with zeal. One hunter shoots and kills whole tribe of indians and takes indian girl to rape. Hard to watch but the plot is honest enough. One hunter has change of heart and fights the sociopathic hunter. Most characters are white racist and pretty cruel, but like I said true to the time. Thank goodness the good guy wins as usual in this Western drama!

  • THE LAST HUNT

    • LEE DEPKA
    • 7/15/09

    THIS FILM TO ME IS A GREAT WESTERN,GREAT ACTORS.IT IS THE BEST MOVIE I EVER SAW .THE SCENERY,THE DRAMA ,ACTION ,AND THE STORY WAS TRUE TO HISTORY.

  • Great epic western

    • R. Kauffman
    • 6/10/08

    This film is far beyond the average "oater" and includes great drama, portrays human greed and conflict in a realistic manner. Even Stewart Granger is convincing as a "westerner" in a great role. Good cast and good production values with a suprise ending.

  • Please show this movie again!!!

    • Peggy
    • 12/21/07

    This movie is not your typical cowboy movie, what a nice surprise! Full of human drama and such tenderness and raw emotions. I am So glad that TCM is showing good new oldies.

  • PLEASE PLEASE SHOW THIS AGAIN!!!!

    • karen campbell
    • 12/10/07

    Please show this again, I missed it last time. It is the first movie that my mum and dad went to see together 50 years ago. I have tried in vain to obtain a copy of it for them. Thanks.

  • The Last Hunt - History revisited

    • Frank Grolemund
    • 9/25/06

    Please play the movie. It is a gritty western with a powerful message about what was done to the buffalo herds and the Indians whose lives depended on them. Robert Taylor usually played a heroic role, however, gives one of his finest performances as a villain in this movie. It should be required viewing for all who love westerns.

  • please show this film.

    • lee depka
    • 9/17/06

    i love westerns. robert taylor is one of my favorite actors. could you please show it on your channel in the very near future.TCM is my favorite station.I watch TCM about 75 percent of my viewing time almost daily.

  • Please play it soon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • joe
    • 2/19/06

    Ned to play "The Last Hunt" again.!!Missed it last time and want to see it.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.