skip navigation
Land of the Pharaohs

Land of the Pharaohs(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Land of the Pharaohs A scheming seductress plots to... MORE > $16.46 Regularly $21.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • land of the pharaohs

    • kevin sellers
    • 9/17/17

    Howard Hawks is a great film maker who can occasionally turn out utter twaddle. (He's not alone in this. Coppolla and Welles have done it too) "Rio Lobo" is one example. This is another.

  • Land of the pharoahs

    • Luanne
    • 9/15/17

    I love this movie,watch it alot,great scenes,the procession into Egypt is great.i l9ve jack hawkins,Dewey martin,and Alexis who did hamar,excellent high priest,got that creepy queen in the end.

  • Great film

    • Cathy
    • 8/29/15

    I've been waiting for movie to be televised again. Just love this movie. I love Jack Hawkins and Joan Collins in this movie. When I first viewed the movie I was so surprised at the end.

  • Nostalgia but not much more

    • TK
    • 12/10/13

    I think this is a slow wearisome movie about the slow wearisome task of building a pyramid. Maybe Howard Hawks did it this way on purpose. Nostalgia drew me to watch it on TCM because I saw it as a kid in the theater with my family. The ending was disturbing back then and still is today. James Robertson Justice is a bright spot. Love his speaking voice and always enjoy his work. Otherwise, whatever magic this movie had for me as a kid is gone.

  • Joan Collins - Where are You??

    • Meredith
    • 10/29/13

    It was a pretty good film. I really had a hard time seeing the Joan Collins I know and love as Nellifer. I kept thinking is this really Collins? I even kept expecting her to come walking in because that really couldn't be her as Nellifer. It's like Joan was hidden in plain sight! I was also interested in the building of the tomb. I'm not that versed in Egyptian history so I don't know if they really used the sand to close the heavy blocks - I assume they did and that really amazes me - how can some people come up with this stuff I don't know. The ending did surprise me, so that was a treat, if not for the fact that it did happen to be a bit creepy. And of course, it did have the thousands upon thousands of extras which I always wonder what it was really like to be on set.

  • Gobble, Gobble

    • Commenter77
    • 3/8/12

    It has been said that Howard Hawkes had a hankering to try out the step-by-step building process in epic proportions, and ended up with this venue to experiment. TCM film introducer said he wanted first to do the building of the great wall in China, drawing from the huge Chinese population as extras, but was not able to work with the political environ there. Looks like he got it out of his system, to a staggering loss. The remarkable element of the experiment was that it proved his worth -- he was one of the very, very few to survive such a turkey. He went on to make many other memorable films.But it IS a turkey. Time won't fix it. It was a huge critical and financial bust at the time. That means -- a cast of thousands stayed away. And they haven't returned. It has been said of the movie Spartacus, that Kirk Douglas (produced as well as starred) didn't let the spectacle override or get in the way of the human drama. Not so here. If you like to see throngs and the like, there are too many other worthier examples. Or (it's your money) spring for the price of purchase and skip around to the teaming masses scenes, marvel at the execution, etc. Again -- your time, your money.Personally, I would feel a bit of a dunce to give another look-see. Jack Hawkins, being a good actor, is horrible in this. Joan Collins, who isn't, is flatter still. The all-consuming task of managing the crowds perhaps serves as the reason for the acting of (especially the principal players) being so neglected. It's horrible. There are better B movies -- a lot better. Again, if special effects and the like is your thing, to the exclusion of development and execution of storyline, go for it. The acting is easily the closest to an amateur production of anything to come out of Hollywood, glam or no.

  • Great Film

    • Joe Onley
    • 8/14/11

    My dear friend Del first told me about this film and we watched it together one time, many years ago. He passed away in 1997 but I never forgot about it. Today I looked it up, as I couldn't remember the title, yet here I find it will be shown very soon. I am very pleased to know I can watch this film once again on September 3rd! Thank you TCM for remaining a great source for great films for all ages.

  • get the movie

    • terri
    • 9/27/06

    go to amazon and get the movie on dvd

  • Land of the Pharaohs

    • Rose J Williams
    • 3/30/06

    Would love to have this in my DVD collection, great acting and story, colors were terrficAMC ran this movie some years ago, I have been waiting for TCM to show this.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.