skip navigation
The Ladykillers

The Ladykillers(1955)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Ladykillers An eccentric bandit gang moves into a little old lady's... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Ladykillers

    • Meredith
    • 8/3/13

    One of my favorite movies - it's absolutely perfect! Katie Johnson is so perfect in her role it's hard to believe she's acting. The mix of personalities between the crooks helps to add to the comedic effect especially when they're going to kill the old lady. Also, you couldn't ask for a better ending that leaves you with such a good feeling. I'm always excited when I get to watch this film - it never gets old!

  • Five stars!

    • RedRain
    • 8/3/13

    My husband and I caught this film while fighting insomnia one night. It was three in the morning and we were mesmerized from the outset of this film. We've seen it again several times and find it just as riveting. It is hilarious! This film is perfectly cast with Alec Guinness leading the gang and Katie Johnson as the little old lady who wreaks havoc unintentionally. Why the Coen brothers decided to remake this classic is simply beyond me, as you cannot remake a perfect film. The original screenplay was nominated for an Academy Award and deservedly so. I seldom give five stars to any film but this is one of those little gems that deserves it. There is absolutely nothing to dislike about this film!

  • First Class Movie

    • James Smith
    • 2/28/13

    I wish I had the wit and skill to produce a movie this good. First class.

  • One Of The Best Movie Comedies

    • david gedalecia
    • 7/5/12

    Like a fine wine, "The Ladykillers" has aged well since I saw it in 1955 at the Sutton Theater in New York City. In 1994, Herbert Lom, who stars as Louis, the black-attired gangster in the film, mentioned disparagingly that Hollywood was thinking of remaking the film. Indeed, Hollywood did, and Lom was correct: it could in no way be compared to the original in terms of comedic subtlety and characterization. In the original, Alec Guinness, as Professor Marcus, and Katie Johnson, as the prim Mrs. Wilberforce, steal the show, and the supporting cast, which includes a young Peter Sellers and the brooding Lom, is outstanding. This is English humor at its best.

  • One of the Most Nearly Perfect Comedies Ever

    • Lis Steiner
    • 3/27/12

    If you love dark, subtle, British humor you MUST see this movie! It's one of the most perfectly written, cast, directed and crafted films ever made. In fact, I really can't think of a single flaw in it, and there are many, many moments that are simply gems.Mrs. Wilberforce (Katie Johnson) is a little old lady who -- while merrily going about her daily business -- unknowingly and obliviously causes chaos to those around her wherever she goes. After renting a room to "Professor Marcus" (Alec Guinness), who is actually a master criminal with a tenuous grasp on sanity, the fun begins. Prof. Marcus and his gangster pals use Mrs. W's house as their headquarters to plan and execute a big armored car robbery. The professor arranges it so that Mrs. W is unknowingly involved in their heist, but when everything goes pear shaped and she finds out about the robbery, the quintet reluctantly decides that the little old lady must be killed so she won't be able to ID them. True to form, Mrs. W unconsciously leaves pandemonium in her wake as she disrupts the gangster's murder plot, with each man dying off one by one. In the end, frail Mrs. W is the only one left alive and is dumbfounded to find that each criminal has inexplicably "disappeared" -- and equally dumbfounded (but delighted) to discover that, by a twist of fate, she gets to keep all of the loot.Some of the best scenes are Guinness' intro in which he looks like a complete lunatic; when he first meets Mrs. W's cockatoo; when the men are helping Mrs. W give one of her parrots its medicine; the scene in the police station, especially when the cart driver is giving a description of his runaway horse and he says, "...and he goes by the name of Dennis"; the *entire* scene from the time the men try to make their getaway until they return to Mrs. W's home; the tea party and the little old ladies who attend, and on and on and on.In short, see this classic movie!

  • The Ladykillers

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/24/10

    "5 Bank Robbers try to kill an old woman - unsuccessfully5 Bank Robbers try to kill themselves - successfully"

  • The Lady Killers - An English Commedy

    • Joy
    • 1/26/10

    We really enjoyed watching this unique comedy. It may have been classified as an English film, but it surely did "tickle our American ribs." We feel it is a real classic, and will encourage our friends and family to see the movie when it shows again on March 6th! Thanks TCM for the good, clean, funny movie!!!

  • The Lady killers

    • craig brewster
    • 11/22/06

    having been stationed in England as an American, Humor is no different than ares. Just the slang of different areas of England, Scotland etc. Learning of customs and all. This movie as do all english films makes one want to go back to the UK.

  • English Comedy

    • Joe
    • 4/29/06

    if you enjoy english comedy, this one has it all. especially the facsial expressions.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.