skip navigation
Lady in the Lake

Lady in the Lake(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Lady in the Lake Philip Marlowe searches for a... MORE > $49.98 Regularly $49.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Liked it

    • Judy
    • 1/6/14

    I had seen it beFore. Liked it. Liked more now because I watched it with my hubby. He really got into the complexity of the storyline. How it was filmed did not distract him at all. Audrey totter was the best. Jayne meadows was a surprise as the murderer. Finally, I always liked Lloyd nolan. Film noir is always so gritty but I like that there is a desire by the characters to do right thing. Being a good guy is important.

  • disappointing, interesting attempt

    • Barb
    • 6/29/13

    I found the restricted point of view intriguing at first, but then almost intolerable. Kept thinking, get on with it! Interesting performance by Audrey Totter, surely one of her best, even if somewhat obvious. It seems to be overlooked by many. She isn't one of my favorites but in this she certainly contributed to whatever there is of the mystery & suspense.

  • LADY IN THE LAKE WAS AWESOME!

    • Larry
    • 12/10/12

    I just got done watching this move - and it was truly awesome. The camera movement was different becauseIt was as if I was Phillip Marlowe in the movie.Brilliant acting - a great script.I highly recommend this movie for all to see.

  • Montgomery A Real Hero

    • Jack The Hat
    • 12/9/12

    The film it's self was awful, Robert Montgomery just doesn't have that look a movie private detective should have. But, what most do not know, Robert montgomery was a real hero, not only for his naval record but his taken on organized crime in Hollywood and also the communist there too. There should be a movie on his life----the left in Hollywood though would never allow this, I'm sorry to say.

  • I wanted to love it, but ...

    • Johnny Perry
    • 5/24/12

    I love film noir - really love it. And I wanted to love this picture. However, I didn't.I like Robert Montgomery, but this is so obviously a vanity project for him to show moviegoers how inventive he could be. Unfortunately, the subjective camerawork gets tedious very fast and actually distracts from the narrative. (Bottom line: Try as I might, I've never been able to watch this straight through.)

  • Novel style

    • Commenter77
    • 3/4/12

    If someone had told me how this was done, I wouldn't have checked it out, but watched without knowing because of an interest in detective stories. At first, I found the approach kind of irritating, but came along. Most actors were fairly natural with it, a few seemed to be talking to a camera instead of the detec. Robert Montgomery gets points for novelty and the film for overall interest. Audrey Totter grew on me as it went along. I kept waiting for her to miss a beat in that stylized attitude in the office especially, but she didn't. It was interesting and probably not easy to do. Leon Ames is a strong character actor, who holds up his end throughout, maybe the most natural with the technique. Montgomery seemed to be talking at people instead of to them. Whatever they intended with that, it didn't seem to come off - the deadpan kind of thing. It needed some more practice, but they probably didn't try again with bad reviews nipping at their heels. This seems too unique to compare with other noirs, Marlowes, etc. It would probably help to watch several more times.

  • Wonderful!

    • Robert
    • 11/1/11

    I loved this movie. I found it entertaining on many levels. Sure old cliches, corny detective phrases, bring it on! And a warm romantic story underneath. Yes it was corny, but I love old stories like this. Bravo!

  • The Lady In The Lake

    • Rob Woods
    • 10/20/11

    TERRIBLE! Poor Mr. Chandler. Robert Montgomery (who also directs himself) works from a butchered script and it doesn't even seem as though he (or the script supervisors) has ever read the book.Do yourself a favour and read the book AFTER you've wasted 103 minutes in front of this yawner.

  • Lady in the lake

    • Tom
    • 10/8/11

    **** Love this one. Excellent camera work. Saw this one many times but still can't look away when it is on.

  • An adventure!

    • Abdiel Alvaro Lara
    • 5/21/10

    This film is so extraordinary in the most obvious way, the way the majority of the film was shot in first person. From the movies I have seen, I have never seen this way of story telling before, and it absolutely took nothing away the whole, i think it made the film that much more dramatic. I felt as if I was the detective at some points in the story. Also, the scenes where the actors were looking straight at the camera I felt as if they were talking right at me, the effect of the first person angle has so much power. I loved every second of this film. I highly recommend this film to anyone with a taste for adventure and suspense.-Abdiel

  • Lady in the Lake (1947)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/9/10

    85/100. Underrated classic, very innovative and exciting. It uses the very unique technique of using the camera as the eyes of detective Marlowe in this fine adaptation of the Raymond Chandler novel. Robert Montgomery directed it and did a wonderfully imaginative job. Excellent support from Audrey Totter and Audrey Meadows. Excellent cinematography.

  • Audrey Totter

    • Martin Nathan
    • 5/21/09

    I saw this movie a few years, and was very intrigued by Audrey Totter, a rather unique actress. I had never heard of her before. She seems to have been fairly popular in the mid to late 40s, then faded. She was even on the show Medical Center in the early 70s, which I wathed but don't remember her.

  • Saw only half of the movie

    • Scott Ruiz
    • 4/6/08

    Are you expecting to show "Lady in the lake " again anytime soon. I happened to see only the last part of the movie when it last aired several months ago and I have been hoping that it would air again. Any chance that it will be aired again?

  • The Painting......

    • Paul
    • 11/2/07

    As we were watching that scene my wife commented she thought that was a Renoir hanging on the wall. She had no idea you had posted this question. I hope you've been checking back-it's been over a year.

  • I am looking for information on this film

    • tracy vizcarra
    • 4/2/06

    I would like to know the artist name of the painting over the fire place in the womans apt. The painting is of a woman with a paracell. Lookes like a french woman?(IN a red dress). I would love to receive the info.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.