skip navigation
The Lady from Shanghai

The Lady from Shanghai(1948)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Lady from... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Lady From Shanghai

    • John
    • 8/2/13

    Overall-3/5Lead Performers-3/5Supporting Cast-3/5Director-5/5Score-3/5Titles-2/5Screenplay-2/5Cinematography-3/5Importance-3/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • Stimulating Film

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 5/6/13

    This is definitely a strange film that I found very interesting to watch. The use of the camera is so different from other movies. I wasn't too fond of Welles' version of an Irish accent. I wish he would've toned it down some. Hayworth: wow! I wasn't too fond of her short blonde hair either. In some scenes it looked great, in others not so much. But, she did give me one of my favorite screen shots ever. When she's lying on her back singing, she's absolutely mesmerizing! When she sings the word "away" the first time it reminded me of a song, and thankfully it didn't take me too long to think of what it is. She sings "away" just like Johnny Cash does in the song "Hurt." It's a film worth watching because along with the odd directing, you're trying to figure out what exactly is going on. It's an eye, ear, and brain stimulator.

  • Deserves Several Viewings

    • The Great Welles and Rita
    • 5/25/12

    Watched other times,saw most of it 5/24/12.Still need to see more to get the whole story.

  • The Lady from Shanghai

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 4/8/12

    An unusual film noir from Orson Welles. Welles may have written & directed it but Hayworth is the undisputed star in the film, exchanging her red hair for a blonde crop. Awkward method of filming, but the story itself is riveting & gripping. A decent film noir, but could be improved. I give it a 3/5.

  • The Lady from Shanghai (1947)

    • James Higgins
    • 3/28/10

    87/100. The Lady from Shanghai is one of the most visually impressive movies to come out of the 1940's. Orson Welles direction is outstanding, he has created so many memorable scenes in this film. He gives a fine performance as well. Rita Hayworth has seldom been better, she is such an breathtaking beauty. In a supporting role, Everett Sloane steals every scene he is in. Superb cinematography and the score is exciting and very effective. It is suspenseful and stylish throughout. The art direction is exceptional. Welles paid a lot of attention to detail. The scene with the mirrors is one the most intense and memorable scenes ever filmed. An unforgettable movie.

  • Noir Welles Style

    • Bruce Reber
    • 12/1/09

    I don't really get the title "The Lady From Shanghai" (the only connection Rita Hayworth has to anything Chinese is when she goes into the theater), but I consider it one of the great film noirs of the 40's and also one of Orson Welles' finest films. The final scene in the Mirror Maze in the Crazy House at the closed down amusement park is a classic. Four stars.

  • the genius of Rita Hayward

    • carol j dixon
    • 5/30/09

    Rita Hayward was one of the great talents of the Hollywood era. Let it be noted that she was hispanic and was able to play many roles in her long career. She was terrific. In the "The Lady From Shanghai". This truly showed her versatility. The movie should have been highlighted in you tribute to hispanic actors.

  • The Lady from Shanghai

    • PearyHusky
    • 5/30/09

    I like Rita Hayworth in this role more than I like Orson Welles in his. But, that doesn't mean that this 'film noir' is any less of a very important classic of both lead actors. I wish that the uncut version Welles made was available. I've heard it's so much better than this severely scoured version. At this ppoint every bit of film footage of Rita Hayworth that can be had should be made available to the public and broadcast. This is a terrific film with a very engaging plot. I give my highest recommendations to it.

  • Noir classic

    • ojc
    • 4/10/07

    Although not in the very top ranks of film noir with Double Indemnity this is a very interesting take of the genre.Welles is both magnificent and irritatingly inconsistant as always. Parts of this movie are brilliant, inventive. Other parts troubling and confusing. But like nearly every film in his canon it is worth a look and a thought and then a second look.

  • A Different Orson Welles Picture

    • Steve Simons
    • 4/10/07

    Hearing Welles' in an Irish accent and seeing Rita with her hair all blonde, well that is something to watch. Lacks some of the colorful story lines of other Orson Welles films, the movie does evolve into interesting story as Welles' character becomes the fall guy for a bizaare scheme.

  • The Lady from Shanghai

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 8/22/06

    This isn't a perfect movie. But it does have great scenes, especially the famous funhouse mirrors scene. Rita Hayworth gives a very good performance, perhaps one of her best.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.