skip navigation
Lady for a Day

Lady for a Day(1933)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Lady for a Day A gangster helps an old... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Spielberg like Capra?

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 1/6/14

    Oh, and on a reviewer's comparison of Capra to Spielberg ...

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 1/6/14

    ... I couldn't disagree more. Capra's films were classy, mature, heartwarming, and got to the truth of matters. Conversely, Spielberg's movies are cheesy, predictable, paint-by-numbers schlock. Even if Spielberg thinks he is doing a serious film, it still ends up tacky and tasteless, brimming with cliche and nastiness. All that's missing are the childish scatalogical jokes (and even then that's not a guarantee). Spielberg may WISH he was on the level of Capra, but it's all delusions of grandeur on his part. Spielberg has the support of the media to convince people he's a master at what he does, and people flock to his films so they make money. But popularity doesn't equal quality. Whether it's Jaws, Raiders of the Lost Ark, or Schindler's List, all his movies are as devoid of taste and compassion as they are of subtle cinematography. Capra is a humanitarian with talent; Spielberg has his own agenda and typically swipes (poorly) from other films. No, I would say it is more accurate to define Spielberg is the Anti-Capra.

  • Capra teetering on the edge of greatness

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 1/6/14

    Far better than the previous "Bitter Tea of General Yen" but nowhere as good as the following year's "It Happened One Night," here is Capra transitioning to a great director. Classic story, oft remade, can't really go wrong. Heck, even Jackie Chan made it work in 1989's "Miracles" (aka "Black Dragon"). The film has heart, but as a criticism I have to say it drags and flounders in places. Still, as a "slice of life" film, I suppose it's better it feel slow and tedious than rushed and choppy. Far from perfect, it's still a worthy film, especially for Capra fans.

  • Lovely Film

    • Lady Daze
    • 9/1/12

    Apple Annie is a queen of good luck for Dave.Love Ned Sparks as "Happy".May Robson sines in lead role,cast couldn't be better.

  • Every Day Should Be Lady Day For This Lady

    • Tears for Lady
    • 9/1/12

    Capra's best in my 'umble opinion.It's fun,touching,heartbreaking,but mostly,unforgettable.

  • Wonderful Lady

    • May Bis
    • 9/1/12

    Definitely my favorite Capra!Tears fell when the Gov and Mayor came to salute her,definitely had me believing in fellow men.

  • Lady for a Day

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/12/11

    ****

  • Classic Capra

    • Jeff Boston
    • 2/16/11

    I watched "Lady for a Day" today. Frank Capra was for a generation in the 30s and 40s what Steven Spielberg was for a generation in the mid-70s to mid-90s: The Best. Two men who had the human touch like no other directors, and were second to none at their craft. "Lady for a Day" is the rare film that is genuinely enjoyable. A big city fairy tale, it gives us what we want, but with just enough realism, like all the great Capra "corn." I loved the many great one-liners, like when the butler ends a conversation with "I promise not to be depressed." The whole scene, and the butler's delivery, are perfect. How the "judge" sets up a game of billiards with the Count is done very well, too. I can also appreciate why Warren was labeled the king of pre-code (movies). I enjoyed him in "Skyscraper Souls" and he made many other movies in Hollywood's Golden Era. Odd that he has been forgotten.

  • Lady for a Day is a winner!

    • Lynn
    • 5/27/10

    This stunning Frank Capra film is a gem that should be shown on Mother's Day! May Robson as Apple Annie, a mother who goes all out for her daughter's happiness, is a sheer delight. The film is a tearjerker mixed with much humor. Can we please see a Capra 'feel good' film like this about a mother's heartache along with great joy instead of Mildred Pierce just for a change?

  • Lady for a Day

    • MissHarlow
    • 2/12/10

    I love this movie! My heart goes out to the character Apple Annie. Just when she thought she had nothing...she realized she had people who really cared which meant more than anything in the world. People overlooked class ranking to help Apple Annie which was was an important factor in society during the time period. May Robson's portrayal of Apple Annie is magnificent and so real. Her performace outshines Bette Davis' role as the same character in "A Pocket Full of Miracles." This movie is a must see. Make some popcorn and cozy on your couch for a night of nastalgia.

  • Three Cheers for Apples!!!

    • FrankieCee
    • 12/3/06

    God Bless all of the "Apple" ladies, everywhere! That goes for this and the one which followed starring Bette Davis. A heart warming movie of the highest caliber! An atypical rags to riches story. The "riches" in this tale can be found, though not in monetary worth, deep down in the recesses of the human heart. Riches, which can't be acquired but must be earned, as is the case with honest and lasting friendship. Frank Capra, an American icon in the film industry, the paradigm of directorial excellence. This is one GREAT FILM, don't miss it!

  • Lady For A Day

    • Mike
    • 10/8/06

    Robson stars, thanks to Runyon, Capra-Riskin and the great Warren William.

  • Lady for a Day

    • polly hopkins
    • 3/29/06

    Great Movie!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.