skip navigation
Lad: A Dog

Lad: A Dog(1962)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Lad: A Dog - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Wonderful Movie

    • Peggy
    • 2/10/13

    I grew up on the stories of Lad and the other Sunnybank collies. I've collected the set of books, have pictures of the dogs and Sunnybank and the biography of Mr. Terhune. These books started my life-long love affair with the Collie breed and this movie was magical for me. Lad: A Dog and Lassie Come Home are two of my all-time favorite movies. Please, Please bring this back on DVD! Another generation of children deserve to be introduced to movies and books with real values and wonderful animal companions!

  • DVD High Quality Transfer Wanted - Lad

    • Larry
    • 11/13/12

    Another great movie that a high quality transfer would do justice to. Can this happen ?

  • Time to do it again...

    • Stella W
    • 11/24/11

    It does take liberties with the original story, but it's still great to have a movie of it. I found a link to purchase the dvd here http://cinemamoon.com/LadADog.htmlWhat I'd REALLY like to see is a good quality remake, period costumes, wisteria-covered house and all, sticking closer to the books, the Terhunes, and Sunnybank.

  • Lad: A Dog (1962)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 11/18/10

    Lovely film.. Plays somewhat like a Disney movie without the comedy. The Terhune books can hardly be found except in some libraries. This film captures the spirit of those books.

  • Lad a Dog

    • Bob P
    • 11/16/10

    This is the very first movie I saw at the theatre. I can't wait to see it on DVD.

  • Love that Lad!

    • Jeanne
    • 4/13/10

    I grew up reading the books of Albert Payson Terhune about the Sunnybank collies, none more famous or impressive than Lad. I was thirlled when the movie Lad:a Dog came out and have a copy on VHS. I love that the movie is basically true to the book, This is a wonderful family movie and should most certainly be preserved on DVD.

  • Lad: A Dog (1962)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 4/7/10

    Very good family movie. The dogs are beautiful. I found it on video a long time ago.

  • Please release Lad, A Dog to DVD

    • John Korolow
    • 2/15/10

    Lad, A Dog is a wonderful movie that I have never been able to buy on DVD. The cast consisting of Carroll O 'Connor and Peggy McCay is superb. With all the interest in the early 1960s as of late, this is the right time to release this great 1962 movie to DVD.

  • Lad A dog

    • Steve
    • 2/9/10

    Just may be the greatest dog movie ever made. Story, acting and all other areas are superb.

  • Please put Lad: A Dog on Dvd

    • Dee
    • 10/14/08

    I saw The Movie once And I loved it. I Have been looking for it for years.

  • Bring Lad, A Dog back for home viewing!

    • Chris
    • 10/1/06

    This movie is my childhood favorite of all the dog movies with Lassie Come Home the second favorite. I was shocked to learn I can't purchase it on DVD or VHS. We need to bring this back, like we did the classic, Big Red! I am on the hunt for this classic so that I can watch it again and again. Angela Cartright and Carroll O'Connor were perfect in their roles in this movie. This is a wholesome, feel-good type of movie that should be available for today's youngsters to watch.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.