skip navigation
La Strada

La Strada(1954)

  • Monday, October 13 @ 04:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

La Strada A traveling strongman buys a... MORE > $13.99 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • fellini's masterpiece

    • denise
    • 4/9/14

    Years ago there was a TV guide reviewer for the NY Times who was brilliant. Whenever La Strada was going to air on the Late Show and it was always at one or two am, he would write: Stay up for this one, and then try to sleep.

  • Stunning Film

    • Lois
    • 12/27/12

    La Strada is a wretchedly sad film about a girl who is sold to a cruel man.The two ongoing characters are very different and powerful.Gelsomina is young, a bit confused, and sad. She rarely talks and barely eats. Her emotions are mainly depressing throughout the film.Zampano is a cruel, mean man. Very controling and strict. But when their personalities are mixed together, it only brings pain and suffering to Gelsomina, who learns that working with Zampano will bring her emotional and psychical abuse.Federico Fellini created a masterpiece. The acting is incredible and story line is believable. The ending is powerful and sad. A film that everyone should see!

  • La Strada

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/25/12

    The first Best Foreign Language film winner for Fellini. Quinn & Masina give powerful & touching performances, Basehart's work is also impressive. Fellini allows the characters to be guided by their emotional desires, whose tragedies work with Nina Rota's score. A perfectly-made, complex drama. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • Great movie with caveat

    • Jan Pickett
    • 10/14/11

    I first saw this move around 1960. Thought it was fantastic. I've seen it since and didn't like it as much. Reason? Well the version I first saw was dubbed in English. The voices of Quinn and Basehart were used. They both have wonderful distinctive voices. I find watching the version with other voices dubbed for them to be extremely distracting and along with subtitles it loses my interest. Too bad because the first version I saw is one of the finest movies ever.

  • La Strada

    • Kathryn
    • 4/25/11

    Haunting, beautiful, perfect. The violin song stayed with me for days after seeing this one.

  • La Strada (1954)

    • James Higgins
    • 12/5/09

    La Strada is a brilliant film. Giulietta Masina's performance is mesmerizing and haunting. She is amazing. She's happy, sad, simple and yet very complicated, almost Chaplinesque. She makes the film work, I just could not imagine anyone else in that role. It's a basic tale, but done with such poignancy. It's unusual, revolutionary in it's time, unforgettable. Federico Fellini has done a magnificent job.

  • Asking the Unanswerables

    • Nancy
    • 10/13/07

    This movie, better than any I can recall, asks the unanswerables: Why do we love? Why do we stay? Why do we hate? Why do we exist? Why do we endure? Why do we need? What does it all mean? Why can't we express? It's all there, painted with simple brilliance on a very early Fellini canvas. And, like any great work of art, it is so easy to "get," on so many levels, and it will resonate for years to come, once you have seen it.

  • Wonderful

    • Kendra
    • 2/28/07

    Fellini's Oscar winning film about a peasant (Gelsomina) who gets sold to a traveling circus performer (Zampano) is heart rendering and brilliant at the same time. Giulietta Masina and Anthony Quinn give superior performances as the awkward couple. This is my second favorite Fellini film, after Nights of Cabiria.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.