skip navigation
Knight Without Armor

Knight Without Armor(1937)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • knight without armor

    • kevin sellers
    • 4/25/17

    I'm surprised that none of the previous reviewers have mentioned the performance of John Clements who plays the war weary, guilt haunted Communist soldier who basically saves Donat's and Dietrich's ass and in the process damn near steals the movie out from under them. In looks and demeanor he kinda reminds me of a young Alec Guiness. First time I've seen his work and I'll soon be correcting that oversight. As far as the movie goes I liked it better than "Dr. Z." To begin with, in half the length of that epic bore this film does just as good a job of conveying the chaos and misery of the Russian Rev. And I'll take Donat over Sherriff anytime. Plus you're not stuck with that yucky, elevator music-ish Lara's theme running through your sinuses. And certain scenes, like the empty train station with the insane attendant (good metaphor for the madness of 1917, huh?), and the magical forest glade where the two leads fall in love, stay with you after the film ends. As for Bob and Marlene they're mostly excellent with an occasional scenery chewing spasm from her. If I have one criticism it would be that there could have been more sexual attraction between these two. A bit too much British restraint here on director Jacques Feyder and screenwriter Frances Marion's part. I mean, you can see how people would believe it when Donat says they're sister and brother. Give it a B plus. P.S. Annoying title. I kept thinking of the ballad from "Have Gun Will Travel" which is not what you want to be doing while watching a Russian Rev pic.

  • Knight Without Armor

    • Alicia Woods
    • 8/23/15

    This is like a forerunner to Dr. Zhivago - in a way.

  • Thoroughly Enjoyable

    • Dennis Soter
    • 3/18/15

    I'm a fan of Dietrich and Donat, so I'm not totally unbiased. The first half of the movie is especially interesting for its historical significance, but it does suffer later as the plot becomes less credible. All in all, however, a fine entertainment.

  • Knight without armor

    • Lynn Lepore
    • 9/10/12

    I came into the movie after it started. OH MY GOD. What an excellent movie. I couldn't stop watching. One of the best movies I've ever seen.

  • closed captions

    • Schroeder
    • 9/5/12

    you review the films, but never indicate whether the film is being shown with closed captions, your channel is the only one that shows movies (great movies), but without C.C.. There are so many of us that are hearing impaired and enjoy the films with C.C.. So get with all of the other movie channels and USE CLOSED CAPTIONS.....

  • Classic Adaptation of a James Hilton Novel

    • Michael
    • 6/24/11

    This film is absolutely gripping. Less than 5 seconds after I began watching, I was completely hooked. Marlene Dietrich gives one of her best performances and Robert Donat and the supporting cast are magnificent. The film has an epic quality and portrays the events of the Russian Revolution with a grittier, black-and-white realism than the more glamorous (but still one of my favorites) Dr. Zhivago. I'm going right out to find and purchase a copy.

  • Who is this woman?

    • Tom
    • 5/2/09

    I cannot think of Marlene Dietrich seeming so vulnerable, throughout a movie. And Mr. Donat, who I have only recently seen and enjoyed in movies, shows a deep hidden strength while being victimized throughout the film. He is incredible.

  • Knight Without Armor

    • Wendy Winkler
    • 4/7/09

    What moves me about this movie is the tenderness of the romance between the characters played by Donat and Dietrich.Learning how Marlena Dietrich stood up for Robert Donat during the filming of the movie when he was almost replaced and how she helped nurse the ailing Mr. Donat also add a depth to their love scenes.

  • Great Movie

    • Catwoman915
    • 4/5/09

    I think this is one of Dietrich's better movies. A more vulnerable role than her movies that followed. Of course I have to admit I am probably one of Donat's biggest fans. Love the scene where they are saved at the check point at the train station. Just a good movie all around.

  • Donat has a captivating, subtle depth.

    • Linda
    • 3/27/09

    I'm grateful to Dietrich for keeping Donat in this film. It would have been a great loss had he been replaced.

  • ROBERT DONAT AND MARLENE DIETRICH ARE SO ROMANTIC

    • patty
    • 9/9/08

    I LOVE THIS PICTURE. THIS IS THE FIRST PICTURE I SAW ROBERT DONAT IN AND NOW I AM SUCH A BIG FAN OF HIS WORK. MARLENE DIETRICH IS SO LOVELY. IF YOU WANT SOMETHING TO CARRY YOU AWAY THIS IS THE MOVIE FOR YOU.

  • A pre-Dr.Zhivago epic

    • John
    • 6/14/07

    I saw this movie on TV when I was a teenager and still enjoy watching it. I bought a VHS copy a few years ago and am waiting for a DVD release. The movie was based on James Hilton's "Without Armour" and the "Knight" was added so not-so-bright audiences would better understand the title. Hilton also wrote "Lost Horizen" and other popular novels later made into movies. I still own a yellowed paperback edition. It's worth comparing the novel to the movie for the plot changes. KWA was a big budget Alexander Korda production filmed in England and directed by a well-known European director, Jacques Feyder. There's action, romance, and suspense played out against a convincing Russian Revolution background. They don't make actors like Donat and Dietrich anymore and the rest of the cast supports them well. At times the Cockney accents of the minor actors spoil the illusion for me but this shouldn't stop you from getting involved in the sweep of the story. Although the film wasn't a big hit when released (probably due to Dietrich's then reputation as 'box office poison') KWA is now regarded as a classic. Try to find Graham Greene's original incisive review in his collected film criticism from 1935-1939.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.