skip navigation
Kings Row

Kings Row(1942)

  • Monday, February 23 @ 10:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Kings Row Small town scandals inspire an... MORE > $13.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Outstanding Movie - One of My Favorites!

    • Myra
    • 12/6/13

    Robert Cummings, Ann Sheridan, and Ronald Reagan gave magnificent performances in this movie. It was definitely one of their best. Because Robert Cummings has always been known for his comedic roles, I think he was underrated as a dramatic actor. I loved his portrayal of Parris Mitchell. Ronald Reagan's portrayal of Drake McHugh was probably his best, and Ann Sheridan's portrayal of Randy Monaghan was one of the few dramatic roles that I've seen her perform. The actors were great and I always enjoy Claude Raines. Having read both "Kings Row" and "Parris Mitchell of Kings Row," I can understand the problems the studio had in adapting the story of Kings Row to the screen, especially with the opposition they faced from the censors of the 1940's. There are so many more characters and so much more to the story (Renee, Jamie, Benny, Parris' work at the State Hospital, and Drake McHugh's death) that it would take a mini-series to include it all. Korngold's musical score was fabulous! I have the soundtrack and play it over and over again. For a black and white movie, the photography, art direction, etc. were excellent. I have the DVD and have watched it a dozen times. I understand that a colorized version was made of the movie, but I think color would detract from the dramatic effect of the movie.I would recommend this movie to everyone.

  • Wonderful !

    • Alice
    • 7/30/13

    I am a regular viewer and cheerleader for TCM because of the multitude of terrific movie classic they bless each of us with. However, there are also, the truly exceptional films that rise up above and beyond the already wonderful, "regular" classics. "King's Row" is one of those films that fall into that "exceptional" films category. What else can I say? The story, direction, cinematography, and acting are wonderful. This film is one I know I will watch every time I can, when you show it. One final thought. Ronald Reagan is one of those people I admire more and more, as the years go by, even though He has passed. Thank you, TCM. You get better and better, for the most part.

  • A Truly Great Film

    • couldnothavebeenbetter
    • 7/29/13

    No other cast could've been an improvement.These actors are the best.Truly inspiring story.

  • Excellent Movie!

    • Cecilia
    • 6/2/13

    5 Stars!

  • Kings ROw

    • FrankThomasMartinJr
    • 2/3/13

    From the overwhelming majority of positive reviews on this page I was expecting a real treat. Escpecially since some of my favorite actors were in this film (Sheridan, Rains, Coburn). Now I'm left wondering ..... DId I see the same movie as everyone else here?!? The unbelievable premise, the amateurish acting, the overwrought dialog, not to mention annoyingly abrupt scene-cuts make this WAYYYY too long film a total waste of time. Watch at your own risk!!

  • a seriously flawed film

    • Russ77
    • 2/3/13

    Had to see this film for myself to believe it .. wow, is it silly. A docotr in a small town who doesnt give his patients anestetic? Seriously?? And those that survive don't tell anyone this & let him continue to practise? That idiocy aside Ann Sheridan is one of the few actors in this that do their best witha hopeless story. And I agree that ole ronnie is one helluva poor actor. Why is it all the truly bad actors get elected to political positions,anyway? And they're equally bad at that too. I'd only reccommend this flick to those who enjoy simultaneously laughing and throwing up.

  • Five Stars

    • Josie
    • 2/2/13

    I woke up to a surprise this morning. Showing on TCM was the 'Kings Row.' Our ex-president and some pretty boy were best friends and doing the things friends do. The pretty boy, Parris, was studious, while Drake was an honorable young man and friend. My eyes were glued to the television although I was on a schedule to go grocery shopping and run Saturday morning errands. The movie continued on, leading down different unexpected paths, much like life. I give 'Kings Row' FIVE STARS, I can not wait until it is played on TCM once more. Until then, I will scour the monthly schedules and devote 130 minites of my life to the film. <a href=http://soundfrost.softonic.com.br/ >baixar videos do youtube</a>

  • Complete and utter shite

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 1/31/13

    Based on the type of pulp trash novel that tries to make a buck with sensationalist, idiotic, soap-opera hackwork, this fairly invicerated adaptation is equally horrendous. No, it's worse because in a film you have to actually see someone spout this horrible, trashy dialogue, and that's never a easy thing to take. And here I'd thought Coburn played a bad guy in Princess O'Rourke ... in this he's an out-and-out one-dimensional psycho! The acting is substandard all around, but Ronald Reagan ... How ...???? It leaves me speechless just how bad an actor he is. Acting ability must be genetic or something and he's just plain missing those genes. But his lack of talent fits this worthless piece of celluloid sleeze PERFECTLY. However, I feel very sorry for Robert Cummings and Charles Coburn for having garbage like this on their filmographies. This is one of the worst films I've ever had the misfortune to witness. 0/5

  • Kings Row - ONE OF MY FAVORITE FILMS!

    • Melissa
    • 11/24/12

    I could watch this every day and not tire.

  • Better that I thought it would be

    • Pat Turman
    • 2/21/11

    Saw this over the weekend & it was better than I thought it would be. I haven't read the novel but I'm betting this was a hard book to adapt to the screen: the sprawling story covers multiple decades and mulitiple characters. And the ending is a little too neatly resolved (especially with today's modern sensibility). But the characters felt three-dimensional and real. As did the situations they found themselves in. It sneaks up on you & you find yourself caring about what happens next.

  • Excellent

    • Martha Lillard
    • 2/19/11

    King's Row is without doubt one of the most amazing films to come out of Hollywood. Robert Cummings and Ronald Reagan do a splendid job of acting in this movie, as do the supporting actors.I can't say enough about the use of contrast in this black and white film. Many scenes are just breath-taking in their beauty.The landscapes and trees, homes and streets are all carefully constructed to convey a particular mood, and are artfully done.Ann Sheridan, Claude Rains and Betty Field all give spectacular performances.This is truly a story about life and the coming of an age. I think it ranks with "Rebecca" in it's mystery, acting and staging.Definitely recommend this picture!

  • Cheesy, but fun

    • Duke
    • 11/16/10

    Kings Row follows two friends and the women who love them, and makes a pretense of showing the scandal lurking just beneath the surface of a prim small town. The novel, I am informed, was sanitized to make the film, and it plays a precursor to Peyton Place, without the prurience or edginess (or even the gorgeous Technicolor) which made the latter film so much fun. Ann Sheridan plays Randy Monaghan with a great combination of coquetry and poor-girl grit; Ronald Reagan gives the character of Drake McHugh (what a name!) the right amount of breezy insouciance (he's a bit less convincing in the las act). Robert Cummings is really too bland to be effective as Parris Mitchell (what a name, part 2!). This is exactly the sort of acting that Marlon Brando was going to shred within a few years. The picture's cinematography is good, if the film is a bit studiobound. One of the better scores among 1940's films. A frothy potboiler of a movie, but it moves along amiably.

  • kingsrow

    • Herbert Bott
    • 5/2/10

    What can I say? KINGS ROW is my all-time favorite movie.I first saw it when I was eleven or twelve years old and it msdean indelible impression. Since then, I have watched it count-less times, initially on video and, more recently, on DVD.I even have a recording of the complete Korngold score.Has anybody else ever wondered what the film would have been like had Warner Brothers succeeded in borrowing TyronePower for the part of Parris Mitchell?

  • Sinister story makes compelling movie

    • Mikey Lacy
    • 6/4/09

    I've always loved this movie, so much that I searched antiquarian book sites to purchase a first edition. For once, the trailer delivers it's promise...the movie captures the theme of the book...and just might be greater than the book. The acting is superior...Reagan's finest performance. The music...Korngold precedes Star Wars by 35 years. The art direction...Memzes creates creepy town that undulates with evil underbelly. To miss this important film is to miss a rare cinematic treat. You'll never get bored with this picture. Excellent! A well deserved best picture nominee.

  • UNEXPECTED TWISTS AND TURNS

    • Jordan
    • 4/6/09

    Kings Row provides many unexpected plot twists and turns. Ronald Reagan's character is a magnificently fun, happy guy to watch. His horse and buggy scenes were great. Sadly, this is the first movie of Charles Coburn's where he portrayed an unpleasant, cruel man. Usually he is quite likable. I am curious why they would name such a pretty lady Randy (Ann Sheridan) and then a man - Parris (Robert Cummings)? Both were quite engaging in their roles. This movie will leave you happy and sad with all points in between.

  • great actor

    • kelly clifton
    • 2/26/08

    Ronald Reagan was one of the handsomest actors of that era and so much better looking than any in this generation of Hollywood so called actors . Contrary to his political detractors, he was also a fine actor.

  • Outstanding!!!

    • Pat
    • 2/1/08

    This is the only movie Ronald Reagan made that I will watch. His acting isn't that bad either. His classic line of "Where's the rest of me?" is almost laughable. It's a great character study and Robert Cummings is outstanding.

  • One of My All-Time Top Ten Movies

    • Donna
    • 10/30/06

    I just watched this movie for the first time this past weekend and it has become one of my top ten movie favorites. Ronald Reagan, Robert Cummings and Ann Sheridan were magnificent. I never knew Robert Cummings was such a terrific dramatic actor. I've always seen him in comedies. Ronald Reagan was amazing! This movie should be shown during the holidays so families can watch together and discuss how important friendship is and the importance of people being allowed to make their own choices in life. This is an absolute classic! I just ordered the Ronald Reagan collection. I can't wait for it to arrive.

  • Unique in every aspect!

    • FrankieCee
    • 9/28/06

    A classic tear-jerker, yet a unique story. I think this movie depicts many of the elements which were dominant in a world that was technologically speaking, in its infancy. We were on the verge of many "breakthroughs" both industrially as well as medically. The movie has the ability to take you through every emotion, like a rollercoaster, and happily, leaves us off on a high note. Wonderful in every aspect of production and performance. Great Film!

  • my fave movie of all-time

    • michael york
    • 9/28/06

    i love this movie most of all! story, acting, directing all superior and with wonderful howe photography and the fantastic score by korngold

  • i loved this movie.

    • danielle
    • 6/25/06

    i like to think of this movie as an old fashioned love story. almost like a, at that time, a modern day romeo and juliet. i agree with others when asking DVD please!!!

  • GREAT MOVIE!

    • Jonnie
    • 5/9/06

    I love old black and white movies. This one was well acted and directed. Wish it came on DVD. I have a VCR copy. I have not read the book, but I will when I get a chance.

  • Kings Row, awesome movie!

    • Debbie Crawford
    • 3/15/06

    The acting in ths movie was superb.I loved the story line, the backdrop, the time perio.DVD please!

  • Reading the Book

    • Kim
    • 3/14/06

    They did a good job of adapting this book. I haven't seen the movie in years but I can clearly picture the actors while reading. I really enjoyed Ronald Reagan and Ann Sheridan. The book has been a surprise. Alot of the story lines were cleaned up for the movie. I can't wait for April, this story has as many twists as any in the theaters now.

  • Must see...

    • Keena
    • 2/24/06

    I found this to be a very moving film, which applies to today as well as the time in which it was made.

  • DVD

    • hlm
    • 2/15/06

    Would like to see on DVD.

  • Kings Row, Cinema at it's Finest!

    • Roxxee
    • 2/9/06

    Kings Row is a wonderful movie, that is just as powerful and relevent today as it was in 1942. I am amazed at Ronald Reagan's work. His work in this film is truly the best work he has ever done. I would actually love to see a modern adaptation of the novel. I think if it was remade, it would have to be kept in it's original time period. I mean, a lot of the movie is about the introduction of psychiatry as a modern medicine. I would love to have this movie on DVD! Please consider it. And to all who have not watched this gem of a film, please watch it, you will not be disappointed.

  • A WONDERFULL movie

    • Rita Shellie
    • 2/5/06

    PLEASE consider putting this movie out on DVD. This is a movie everyone should see at least once in their lifetime.

  • super movie

    • Mike Potter
    • 2/5/06

    I would really like to be able to buy this on DVD SOON!

  • Kings Row

    • Linda Handy
    • 2/5/06

    You must release this great movie on DVD. They don't make movies like this anymore. Thanks

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.