skip navigation
Kentucky

Kentucky(1938)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Kentucky - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Agree About Movie Kentucky

    • Tammy
    • 10/27/13

    I have an old copy on VHS and no way to play it any more. I would love for this to be made available on DVD.

  • Kentucky

    • sheila
    • 4/20/13

    I used to watch this movie as a kid with my dad any time that it was on t.v.If more people were familiar with it, they would want to own a copy!The "Postman worked in 48" scene is a classic and I defy anyone to sit still while it is on!You will want to get up and dance!Loretta Young is her gorgeous self and Walter Brennan is just the best.Please Turner, get this on video. I will buy more that one copy!!

  • Kentucky

    • Craig McWhorter
    • 1/23/11

    "Kentucky" is one of several old magnificent Walter Brennen horse racing films, along with "Home In Indiana" and "Maryland". My parents used to read the old TV Guides every year watching and waiting to see if these wonderful movies would be aired on television around the running of the Kentucky Derby every May. They have such a strong following, I can't understand why no one has brought them to DVD. We are waiting to purchase them all as soon as they are released!

  • Kentucky

    • Kim
    • 12/8/10

    Dying to see this movie. Have heard there is a famous American Saddlebred stallion standing in front of Spindletop Hall in 1 scene. Would love to see this film or purchase a copy of it.

  • Kentucky (1938)

    • John Filippelli
    • 4/10/10

    This movie is truly a classic. Released in 1938 by 20th Century Fox this film has never been released in any format for sale. I have been looking for it for many years. Walter Brennan earned the Academy Award for best supporting actor and Loretta Young is great. I would purchase this movie on DVD in a heartbeat if ever released. Truly a must see if you love horses and history of the Old South.

  • Kentucky

    • Gordon Brown
    • 2/10/10

    I love this movie and have been trying to find it on DVD for a long time. Loretta Young, one of my all time favorite actresses, is superb, as is Richard Greene in one of his very first American films. Venerable Walter Brennan gives a sterling performance. TCM disappoints me in not making this fine movie available on DVD.

  • Kentucky

    • Lynne veitch
    • 5/13/08

    A beautiful and accurate portrayal of life with horses during that time in history. Great shots of still famous race horses. Loretta Yonng's clothes are lovely and the whole cast is perfect. I hope it comes out on DVD. I'd certainly want it.

  • Kentucky

    • Gwen Stangland
    • 5/4/08

    This is one of the most beautifully filmed movies I've ever seen. The old South and their traditions were portrayed beautifully. I would like to own it on DVD.

  • kentucky

    • barry
    • 9/3/07

    when the stable boy comes in singing :postman worked in 48 goin to the races goin to the races and walter brennan joins in and skips along with him singing wheres he at wheres he at and gets him to reveal that he is over in the tool shed boy what a scene please play this movie. barry dent

  • THE LOOK OF EAGLES

    • JODI
    • 7/1/07

    GREAT STORY OF HORSE RACING SHOWS MAN'O WAR AND OTHER GREAT RACE HORSES AT THE START OF THE MOVIE. IF THIS WOULD COME OUT ON DVD OR VHS I WOULD PURCHASE.

  • A true classic

    • cw
    • 2/13/07

    One of Walter Brennens best roles, perfect for him. If you like classic movies this is one you don't want to miss.The setting is wonderful and the story is GREAT.

  • One of the best movies made for that time!

    • Michael
    • 10/19/06

    This is a wonderful movie..I wish it would come out on DVD or TMC would play it more often...If you did not love horses before you saw Kentucky, you would after seeing this movie...Cast is wonderful..Has some very funny lines from the Ole "servants" of that time..

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.