skip navigation
Jubilee Trail

Jubilee Trail(1954)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Jubilee Trail - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Terrible adapttation of a wonderful book

    • J.Johnson
    • 7/22/14

    Any good review of this movie has to be by someone who did not read the book. This book ranks right up there with Gone With the Wind and the movie should have had a lot better treatment. It is strictly a B movie with B stars, B writers, etc. A big disappointment to people who read and loved the book. I wish someone would redo it the right way.

  • Great Movie - Would like to get DVD

    • Howard V
    • 3/10/13

    I really liked this movie and would really like to see it on DVD so I could get purchase it.

  • TERRIBLE CHOICE IN CASTING

    • Kathryn Pavik
    • 2/5/11

    I read the book many years ago, and enjoyed it very much. I can't say how disappointing the movie is. Forrest Tucker as John Ives? John Russell as Oliver Hale? Forrest Tucker fits the description of Oliver Hale in the book, while John Russell fits the description of John Ives, black hair and all. What were they thinking? I could not watch this movie. Forrest Tucker was not in any way a handsome leading man type, while John Russell definitely was. He was very much underrated by Hollywood.

  • please get movie on dvd

    • suley
    • 5/8/10

    love this movie. like the history and the plot. please get on dvd.

  • Jubilee Trail

    • Claudis
    • 3/31/10

    I think this is a great movie.

  • I liked it a lot

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 10/27/09

    I agree that the film is a combination of western, melodrama and musical. The action sequences are good, and there is humor, too. The opening credits reminded me of Bonanza, which came five years later and may've borrowed ideas from this film. I have not read the book, but using the summary on wikipedia, I can see that key things were left out (instead of 100 minutes, this easily could've been as long as Gone with the Wind, since it is that epic in scale). Certain liberties have been taken while transferred to the big screen: the New York prologue is eliminated; we do not see the death of the California woman who kills herself and her baby; the Russian character is introduced at the Hale rancho, not in San Francisco...and in fact, the film spends its final half hour in Los Angeles and the characters are on their way to San Francisco when it ends. Also, we do not get a scene in which Garnet learns she's pregnant, which seems to come out of the blue. And at one point, she has her arm in a sling, and we have no idea why she's been injured at the ranch (apparently, there was an earthquake, but I have a feeling those scenes were edited out or not filmed, perhaps due to budget). Overall, this is a very interesting film, and I have to say I enjoyed it more than I expected. I really liked how it was told from the point of view of the women and how at its heart, the story celebrates the friendship of the women.

  • Jubilee Trail

    • geneva
    • 9/23/09

    I dont agree that its a bad movie, but everyone is entitled to their opinion. I wish it was on dvd to buy, I would certainly buy it. I constantly search the movie channels to see when it is playing. Please hurry up and put it on dvd to buy.

  • jubilee trail movie disappointing

    • lee mathis
    • 9/18/09

    they took a wonderful book with memorable people and turned it into a run of the mill B western. the cast was all wrong,the screenwriter must not have read the book,the director didn't know what he was doing. there was a scene in the book which if done correctly would have ranked right up there with the beach scene in "From Here To Eternity". Bit they made it just plain silly scene.This could have been a wonderful movie.Instead it fell flat.

  • Jubilee Trail

    • Dolores
    • 4/19/09

    The movie, JUBILEE TRAIL, was based on the book of the same name by author Gwen Bristow. The movie starts halfway through the book and you never really get to know John Russell's character. It is unfortunate the viewer who has not read the book is somewhat cheated out of most of the story. Also, all story lines of the subordinate characters are rushed to conclusion within the last 30 minutes of the movie. Perhaps if this movie had been produced under a different studio it may have received a better handling and more in the style of Edna Ferber's books that were made into movies (i.e. GIANT, ICE PALACE).

  • Jubilee Trail Arrives

    • TeddyKaye
    • 3/8/09

    Jubilee Trail is an entertaining western, with a satisfying mix of action, melodrama and musical numbers. The movie is by no means a great one but it moves along and even has some unexpected plot twists. The movie is filled with interesting and likable characters. I can easily imagine a weekly TV western series filled with these characters. A 'Bonanza' view of the old west.

  • The greatest western, I've seen in a long time.

    • Brenda Chance
    • 12/2/08

    Jubilee Trail, consists of romance, intrigue, mystery. It's one movie I know that you'll enjoy. Also, The Night of the Gizzley, with Clint Walker, Jack Elam, etc. If you have it, I would like to see it again too. :-)Tx,brenda

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.