skip navigation
The Joker Is Wild

The Joker Is Wild(1957)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Joker Is... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • I haven't seen it, but...

    • Jack
    • 5/12/14

    I haven't seen this movie but I will watch it tonight. I'm apprehensive becauseI never thought Sinatra was a very good actor. His performance in "From Here toEternity" was OK but certainly not deserving of the award. He made several warmovies that were just plain lousy. "Some Came Running" comes to mind. At any rate, I'll watch tonight.

  • This film just blew me away

    • Mike Brown
    • 1/4/12

    As a cinema operator in the late Fifties/early Sixties in the British Royal Navy stationed in the Far East I showed this film to my ship's crew 14 times in 7 days. As a result I knew the dialogue word for word. I was already a huge Sinatra fan and, in spite of seeing pretty well all of his other highly rated films, I think this is the best he has ever done. Some years ago I was able to record "The Joker is Wild" off the TV onto VHS tape but it was not a great success. Along with many many others I would welcome the opportunity to have this film on dvd. It seems odd to me that many other of Sinatra's films have recently been on TV but not this one .I wonder why!!!!!

  • One Of Sinatra's Best

    • Bruce Reber
    • 8/2/10

    "The Joker Is Wild" (1957), the biopic of comedian-singer Joe E. Lewis is one of Frank Sinatra's best films. The songs are very good, and the supporting cast is terrific, including Eddie Albert, Mitzi Gaynor, Jeanne Crain and Sophie Tucker. I have a VHS recording I made when it aired on TCM a couple of years ago. I would like very much to see "The Joker Is Wild" on DVD.

  • Number One Movie

    • Joe
    • 5/19/08

    As a child I became very familiar with the man's voice, and music on the Radio. This was the very first Sinatra movie I had ever seen, and am quite surprised that it has never been released to the public for home viewing. If you have a Frank Sinatra Movie collection (as I do) this is a must have to add to those all time favorites.

  • my number 1 favorite movie of all time

    • Susan Foster
    • 5/18/08

    saw as a teen - loved the music - and how kind Austin Mack was always beyond and foremost Joe's friend and supporter - think the dialogue is true to life (you can be anything you want to be - find yourself another piano player - well I wouldn't call it exactly funny) but what captures it for me is the ending when Joe is passing the store fronts - etc "you make everyone laugh how about making me laugh _ I am endeared forever and ever to Joe E Lewis and Frank in this movie - I know it by heart - an dwhen he sees Lettie I always cry.....

  • A top 10

    • George
    • 7/31/07

    A top 10 movie on my list. Can't believe its never shown on TCM anymore. Hopefully, it will be released on DVD soon.

  • Sinatra at his best

    • David
    • 3/31/07

    This is truly Sinatra at his best. His acting and voice are superb. This movie turned me into a Sinatra fan.

  • Sinatra is God

    • Joann
    • 11/2/06

    This is truly his best.The film is absolutely heartbreaking.Definitely worth your time.

  • the joker is wild

    • gary
    • 9/15/06

    wonderful film, but cant get a copy anywhere, can anyone help?

  • All time favorite Frank Sinatra move of all time

    • Deb
    • 2/11/06

    All time favorite Frank Sinatra move of all time

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.