skip navigation
Johnny Holiday

Johnny Holiday(1950)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Shea's Tavern

    • Barbara Smith
    • 7/6/13

    My grandfathers tavern is the very first thing on the screen. It was callled Shea's Tavern. The camera also goes into the upstairs area later in the movie as well. The tavern was located on the near west side of Indianapolis. At the end of the movie it says "Filmed entirely in Plainfield Indiana". That isn't entirely true.

  • Please release this film

    • Angel
    • 7/8/12

    Saw many times,in my youth in Great Britain,brought back memories of the hollywood greatsbut unfort. not available to purchase often wondered why/as there are many films in that era available,so come on whats the reason,please,please release the rights on this film before it gets to old and dusty to view,all u=tube will offer to view on the internet is the opening titleNOT GOOD ENOUGH

  • I was there in 1962

    • David r. warren
    • 7/6/12

    I saw the move once it was great. I would love to have a copy. Can you tell me where to get one.

  • Indiana Boys School

    • james mills
    • 3/16/10

    I spent a year in IBS in the 70's. I would love to watch this movie as I would remember the buildings I am sure. Anyone know where you can get a copy?

  • Johnny Holiday

    • John Morrison
    • 2/26/10

    I worked at the Indiana Boy's School from 1980 to 1997. I had the opportunity to view this movie twice while working there both times using the orginal copy given to the Boy's School upon it's release. It always was fun to remember the movie scenes when I would be in one of the buildings especially the horse barn and cottages and Administration Building. One of my supervisors mother had a very brief part in the movie. I would love to see the movie again. Almost every scene in the move was really how the Boy's school operated in the era.

  • johnny holiday

    • jim weber
    • 2/14/10

    As a kid we watched the big shinny cars roll into our neighborhood for the filming. Several shots were made of my old neighborhood and people I knew, including an older brother as I remember.

  • good movie

    • tami
    • 9/1/08

    i thought the movie for the 50's waas very well in the acting dept. would recommend it highly

  • A Lost Classic

    • Joseph Les Phillips
    • 6/13/07

    Johnny Holiday with William Bendix and Stanley Clements is one of those films that was designed to keep youth in the 1950's from becoming deliquents. Set in an Indiana correctional school for boys, it tells the tale of Johnny Holiday, a boy who gets in trouble and is sent there hopefully for rehabilitation.William Bendix plays the compassionate, fairminded correction officer who hopes to put Johnny on the straight and narrow after his release. However, the fly in the ointment is Stanley Clements character, who sees in Johnny a protege he can mold and use for his own criminal devices. One of which is turning him against Bendix's good angel sitting on his shoulder to Clements bad one.Things finally come to a head when Clements gets hold of a gun and in an escape attempt shoots Bendix, forcing the emotionally torn Johnny to finally choose between good or bad as his path in life.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.