skip navigation
Jane Eyre

Jane Eyre(1944)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Jane Eyre A governess at a remote estate... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Outstanding Jane Eyre!

    • Jill
    • 12/20/13

    I think this is my all time favorite romantic film ever. The great Joan Fontaine (who has just passed away) and Orson Welles have such chemistry together.... and the music score by Bernard Hermann is so emotional & haunting! Everything about it a true MASTERPIECE that captures the novel by Charlotte Bronte to perfection!

  • Jane Eyre Year 1943

    • Susan
    • 10/19/13

    Not sure really if it is 1943 or 1944 but the movie from the 40's is my all time fav.I watch this movie once a week at minimum........sometimes a few times a day.I just love this whole cast.....just love Orson Welles in this......he's so handsome!

  • READ BETWEEN THE LINES

    • Llargo
    • 11/30/12

    THIS MOVIE IS KIND OF FACINATING TO WATCH. SIMILAR TO A CAR CRASH. THE SCREEN VERSION IS NOT BAD. THE ACTING...WELL, IN THE SCENE IN THE GARDEN WHEN ROCHESTER AND JANE ARE CONFESSING THEIR LOVE FOR ONE ANOTHER, IT LOOKS AS IF THEY ARE READING THEIR LINES. AND, FONTAINE AND WELLS CAN READ THEIR LINES PRETTY WELL. THE REAL ACTING IS IN BETWEEN THE LINES WHEN THEY REVEAL THEIR PASSION THROUGH GAZES AND BODY LANGUAGE. HOWEVER, THE SCREEN VERSION DOES MISS THE MARK A BIT IN THE SUSPENSE THAT IS RDDLED THROUGHOUT BRONTE'S WRITING.ALL OF THAT SAID, I COULD AND HAVE WATCHED THIS MOVIE MANY TIMES OVER WITH MUCH ENJOYMENT.

  • Novels should not be adapted into films

    • Sara
    • 5/6/12

    Joan Fontaine is a talented actress but here, no offense, she completely ruined the character of Jane Eyre. In fact this whole film ruined the novel. A film can never do a novel justice, especially a classic like this by Bronte.

  • Butchered Score

    • Mark
    • 1/31/12

    Thank you, TCM, for showing Jane Eyre, but shame on you for airing a print with such an obviously butchered soundtrack. Apparently some absurd attempt to enhance the movie, but rather ruins a wonderful film and great Bernard Hermann score. I do believe an apology to your viewers is in order.

  • Almost ANYBODY but Welles...

    • Steimo2
    • 8/13/09

    playing the tormented & crazed male lead in this Bronte adaptation would have suited me fine e.g. Greg Peck, Ty Power, Errol Flynn.After "Citizen Kane" Mr. Welles became "The Emperor With No Clothes"...however, when Orson has to stand (compete) along side the like's of Edward G. Robinson as he did in "The Stranger" in 1946 then Welles can see for himself, that he's as naked as Gypsy Rose Lee!

  • "The Sound of Eyre"

    • ms.miniver
    • 3/19/09

    The first time I saw this it reminded me alot of the Sound of Music. Because their plots are both almost the same! A rebelious young woman who has perhaps had a wicked childhood, leaves her restrictive school/abey to become a governess at the estate of a lonely man. At the estate there is a kindly housekeeper (Mrs.Fairfax/Fraur Schmit), and children to take care of (Adele/the VonTrapp children). Meanwhile the young woman and the lonely man grow closer, but he has to leave. The lonely man brings back a blonde woman (Blanche Ingram/the Baroness) whom he may or may not mary. Because she loves the lonely man, the young woman leaves, then comes back because she misses him. The two get married but something horribly wrong happens (duranged wife/the Third Reich). But the couple overcome the problem and live happily ever after. One difference is that Jane Eyre is very dark and shadowy and the Sound of Music is a happy musical. But both films are well cast and include very good performances, especially by Elizabeth Taylor, Joan Fontaine, Julie Andrews, Christopher Plummer, and Orson Welles. Liz Taylor seemed to have a ghostly appearance in Jane Eyre. Joan Fontaine also was rather ghostly, with those expressive eyes.

  • A Gothic masterpiece!

    • Tony
    • 12/25/07

    I think this film is underrated and not as appreciated as it should be. I believe it is one of the best films in regard to it's use of the incredibly "brooding" musical score. It sets the mood for every scene; Jane as a child standing on the chair in the school house, or when she visits her dying aunt, or the scenes with the crazy wife locked in the tower, and on and on. Even when there is the final ending of happiness, you are left with the overpowering sense of the film's melancholy and pain from the past.

  • Very Powerful Movie

    • Micah
    • 10/16/06

    This is one of my favorite films that Orson Wells or Joan Fontaine ever starred in. They're both from different worlds and when they realize they've fallen in love, a terrible secret may ruin their hopes for happiness. Elizabeth Taylor is also in this movie as a childhood friend of Jane's. You can't help but fall in love with all of the characters in this movie.

  • I am love!

    • lover of B&WS
    • 9/19/06

    This movie in a day an age where visual is overused and writing is watered down,gets better with time. All actors do an excellent job of placing you front row seat in tht age of time, the chemistry between Jane and Mr Rochester is so alluring that you are almost dying trying to see if they will ever kiss! What makes this a classic is that every time you watch it you wil experience the same emotions a if you never saw the movie before. I find Mr Rochester very amusing in his sacarasisms and love Jane's wit. I can go on and on, so on that note I will just add WATCH THE MOVIE!

  • The best

    • Vicky
    • 7/9/06

    This version of Jayne Eyre is with out doubt the best ever.

  • Truly a Golden Era Film!

    • Della Williams
    • 5/19/06

    Without a doubt, this version of Jane Eyrestands head and shoulder above the rest. The mood of the book was captured from start to finish, not only with the sights, sounds and the dark quite setting, but in the casting of Orsen Wells and Joan Fontaine as the mystical, lost and some what moral upright title charater. I purchased the VHS format some ten years ago, this should be on DVD. This would be a great lost to the art if it were allowed to be lost in the shuffle.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.