skip navigation
It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World

It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World(1963)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

It's a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad... A group of greedy clowns tears... MORE > $9.98 Regularly $9.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • It's a mad mad mad mad world

    • Edwin
    • 4/15/14

    One of the best ever comedies. One of my favorite movies. I wish you would show it since Mickey Rooney died.

  • Good escape

    • Thomas Taylor
    • 3/13/14

    I was ten years old when I saw this movie with my parents in January 1964. I still remember hearing everyone in the theatre laughing loudly. I realize now that this movie may have been good for the soul at that time since America suffered through the tragedy of President Kennedy's assassination in the previous November. We needed something to laugh at and escape to. I realize it's not for everyone, but I loved it. I.A.M.M.M.M.W. played for a long time even into the summer where I lived. I guess a lot people went back to see it. It will always be one of my favorite movie comedies. Teba

  • A funny movie

    • KentGeek
    • 2/12/14

    I write this review a few minutes after hearing that Sid Caesar has passed away. I came here to see if the movie was scheduled to be shown soon, and unfortunately, it's not. I couldn't leave this site knowing the latest review of this movie was negative.I can understand people not thinking it's funny, since its humor is of a type rarely seen today. And perhaps I'm too ready to laugh at the collection of comedy giants in this film. But, I sincerely believe that this movie will continue to find an audience for decades.

  • This is supposed to be a comedy? Now THAT'S funny.

    • Vor99
    • 1/3/14

    Would someone who skews this wretched film in favor of being "good" please list a sampling of which lines are supposed to be funny for the rest of us who find it dull and obnoxious? Seriously, I'm kinda curious. Milton Berle, Phil Silvers, Jonathan Winters ... it's like a who's who of all the most unfunny and pretentious "comedians" ever. I'm surprised Jimmy Durante isn't in this, too. Oh, wait, he is. Just like "Around the World in 80 Days," a boatload of cameos does not automatically a good movie make. I know what humor is and there are many, many classic comedies I enjoy. This "spectacle" isn't even in the same species as comedy. Surely one of the guiltiest grotesque follies ever put to film. To those who like it or have some fond affection for it, that's your preroagative. This is just a warning to those who are thinking about watching it for the first time: it's not a surefire winner, it's not for everybody. Please keep that in mind.

  • FUNNNNNNY!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Layne
    • 11/26/13

    Love this show. One of my all time favourites.

  • Hilarious

    • Treplag
    • 6/11/13

    I consider this one of the funniest movies ever made, even though I am not, as a rule, terribly fond of slapstick. The acting, plot, dialogue, characters, sight gags, cinematography, and editing are all perfect. It is unfortunate that quite a few people with obviously no sense of humor are able to pan this great film and skew the overall ratings.

  • mad mad world

    • will ramage
    • 3/31/13

    a few years ago, a movie called rat race came out .i laughed till it hurt, and it reminded me of a critics( not an exact quote) review of mad mad world i read when it came out. if mad mad world had been pared down to a hand full of great comics instead of wasting such incredable talents on momentary flashes, this would have been a masterpiece.sid ceaser brilliantly funny ethel merman, incredably annoying, a great singer not a great comic, at least not in this one.dick shawn a riot.jack benny, a brief glimpse, a flash of one of the funniest comics that ever lived, then gone. a wasted opportunity so it went, jerry lewis lost in a flash.jonathan winters doing the best he could but out of his element with one gag, anger, no opportunity to break out and ad lib. dont get me wrong i love this movie. so many great talents we, sadly wont see again.i thnk if you want to see what a pared down version might have looked like watch rat race i still love this movie to.

  • It's A Mad Mad Mad Mad World

    • Jamie
    • 1/13/13

    This is my all time favorite comedy. I could watch this over and over again. I remember seeing it at the show with my mom, aunt and cousin, I remember the intermission. If I could only watch one more movie before I died it would be this one. I laugh everytime I see it, its perfection!"He went sailing right out there"!!!!! Gets me every time!

  • Dull!

    • Jack The Hat
    • 1/11/13

    I wen't to see this film when it first came out, I may have expected to much because of the cast. I do remember that no one in the theater laughing at any time---I kept thinking what a waste of good film and my time. It stinks!

  • One of my all time favorite comedies

    • CG Unger
    • 1/11/13

    This movie is totally hilarious. There is some violence, Ethel Merman is dangerous with her purse.

  • It was MAD,MAD,MAD to add the extra footage.

    • lcs
    • 1/11/13

    The original 154 min. cut for TV viewing was the definitive version because what was cut out was extraneous and not funny. The added footage is only excessive maudlin verbiage at best and at worst ruins the comedic timing of the bits. Kramer knew what he was doing when he made the 'final' edit for TV.

  • fun for the whole family

    • Mad World Classic
    • 1/10/13

    This is an all-star comedy cast and it lives up to its' lineup of stars. Everybody who was anybody was in this gem, and no one is funnier than Jonathon Winters. A laugh a minute and a classic for every generation that should not be missed. Even the Three Stooges made a cameo.

  • like a good wine, it gets better with age

    • gerry
    • 11/8/12

    As a youngster, I only saw the trailer of the movie on our black and white tv, but even then it captivated me. When it first was shown on tv, I laughed so hard that my aunt upstairs came down tosee if I had gone mad. A never to be forgotten cast, some of the funniest situations, and a great bunch of stunts, this movie has it all. It is a bit of comedic history, that shows its age, but like ancient brandy, leaves with a warm feeling inside. I loved it 40 years ago, and I love it now.

  • The best Movie ever

    • tom
    • 9/30/12

    This is my favorite movie. The one liners, sight gags and character development is excellent. Modern audiances want potty humor or violence. This should be viewed as one of those from its period, such as The Russians are Coming, and etc. Terry Thomas's speech about America's obsession is worth watching if nothing else.

  • It's a Bad, Bad, Bad, Bad Movie

    • ClassicFilmFan55
    • 9/30/12

    Terrible. Simply terrible. I know there are connoseurs of this brand of low-brow (and I mean scraping-the-ground low) "humor" ... but ... wow this film makes the three stooges look subtle in comparison!! I have a funny bone but jeez it likes to be tickled not smashed at with a sledge hammer! For the insane only. :p

  • Devoid of all humor.

    • Watcha1
    • 9/30/12

    I'm not going to waste a lot of words explaining why. It should be self-evident to anyone who watches this film (without looking through their rosy spectacles of nostalgia) that this flick is alternately boring and obnoxiously unfunny. To think that the poor director had to endure shortening his work of art from a running time of five hours to three! Oh, the humanity!! Well no sympathy here. There isn't enough worth in this thing to fill its three-minute trailer.

  • Mad, Slow, Mad, Slow World

    • Bruce
    • 9/29/12

    I do like this movie, especially at the very end. As a kid, after seeing it at the theater, I was intrigued by all the various ways the men fell off of the hook and ladder, and how they landed. I tried to remember and draw pictures of that. Now when I watch on TV, the first act is slow for me. It just takes the main group - the ones with Smiler - to get going.The airplane episode and the hardware store episode are exhausting, just waiting for them to end.There is only so much of Paul Ford that one can take. I know cameos are cameos, but I wonder how lengthier takes/interactions with some cameo actorswould have added to the film.

  • Vastly overrated

    • M.F.S.
    • 9/9/12

    No real laughs in this violent, misanthropic mess, and no one to root for - every single character is despicable. Couldn't the screenwriters have made one of them just a bit more altruistic (or less greedy and stupid) than the others? I don't understand the popularity of this film at all, except among those who think "Jackass" is funny.

  • It's a Mad, mad, mad, mad World

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 7/29/12

    The comedy that's equvilant to epics like "Ben-Hur" & "Lawrence of Arabia." Tracy headlines a cast that consist of some of the funniest comedians from all forms of entertainment, the fun lies in spotting these icons throughoutthe film. The Oscar-winning sound effects add to the chaotic, albiet far-fetched scenarios that are presented to us for the audiences amusement. It's not as iconic as other conmedies, but this is a classic that shouldn't be denied viewing. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • mad mad mad mad mad world...

    • robert
    • 3/28/12

    this is one of the greatest movies of all time bar none!...people who dont like it or criticize it just dont have good taste...not a shot at those people but come on...yes its a lot of cameos but its part of what makes the move...so much history behind the actors and comedians all in one place...its fun just looking for them while watching it...and guess what? not a single cuss word in it...so many comedies today have so many of those words it makes you numb to them and the real comedy slips through the cracks...they couldnt make a movie like this today because of the talent to make such a film is gone forever...its a film anyone can watch! the cars, the people, the locations are all gone save a few...i cant say enough about this movie...i saw it when i was young and i loved it then, my mother is and old movie watcher and i learned to appreciate all the older actors and knew them all wthout the credits...i feel sorry for the people who do not like this film because they are missing something...its not just a movie...its movie history!

  • Best Comedy of All Time

    • Douggee
    • 3/20/12

    From start to finish MMMMW will have you in stitches and holding your sides from laughter. The all star cast has the best comedians of the day with Spencer Tracy as the straight man. True, the roles played by Jerry Lewis and the Three Stooges are cameos, but no matter, their appearances just add to the laughter. If you done't believe a movie based on a car chase can be funny, you've never seen MMMMW.Unlike so many movies today, this one can be enjoyed by the entire family with no bleeps, voice-overs, or out-takes. It's proof that good comedy doesn't need to be rated R. If you don't laugh or enjoy this movie (assuming you like comedies) you'd better make an appointment with your psychiatrist because you have no sense of humor. Perhaps it is not "sophisticated" comedy. To that I say, "what the heck, it isn't supposed to be." The whole idea is great, impossible, fun with sight gags, quips, and stunts. If you haven't seen MMMMW, make an effort to check TCM's schedule or buy the disc, you will not be disappointed.

  • Best all time comedy

    • Thomas
    • 1/11/12

    The greatest comedy of the 1960's. The only comedian missing of this era was Don Wrinkles. Anyone who can't find the comedy in this movie is severely ill

  • It's a Mad, etc. World (1963)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 9/21/11

    I don't know why Spencer Tracy (or Mickey Rooney) signed on for this one. I didn't find anything about this film to be funny. But then I usually don't find slapstick and physical pratfalls - such as the kind you find in Three Stooges or Marx Bros. movies - to be at all humorous. However, if you like 3.25-hour long movies filled with endless car chases and pointless cameos, then this is the movie for you. If you like intelligent, character-driven comedy, then look elsewhere. I will say, though, that in the "long search for money with a big cast" film genre, the 1979 movie "Scavenger Hunt" is much better than "MMMMW" as it has some sophisticated humor mixed in with the stunts, a more talented cast of actors, and (best of all) it is under two hours.

  • Funniest Ever

    • Kurt B.
    • 5/26/11

    The funniest movie I've ever seen, I have never laughed so hard in my life, kinda long but actors like Sid Ceaser and Spencer Tracy, it is worth your time.

  • A true authentic EPIC comedy

    • Robert C Miles
    • 12/29/10

    It was in 1963,days after Americans are dealing with the tragic death of President Kennedy;when a comedy came along to ease the pain of saddened nation.IT'S A MAD,MAD,MAD,MAD WORLD was the remedy.The story of a group of people on a wild,no-holds-barred chase for $350,000 improves with age like vintage wine.The cast that's a who's-who of funny people with 2-time Oscar winner Spencer Tracy leading the pack as a straight laced cop and Ethel Merman as the 'Loudmouth' Mother-in-law from hell(her character makes the Peanut's Lucy VanPelt look like a debutante).There were many Knock-off remakes(Examples:Million Dollar Mystery(1987) and Rat Race(2001)).But this is the KNOCKOUT punch.BAR NONE!!!!

  • A classic comedy in restored HD at last!

    • FilmEdge
    • 12/20/10

    I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw IT'S A MAD, MAD, MAD, MAD WORLD on TCM's schedule today and saw it was the newly restored version of this classic looking even better than ever on TCM HD!Everything I said in my previous review about Kramer's madcap, one-of-a-kind treasure holds true, and now the film can be enjoyed in this beautiful, excellently restored version which truly shows off the genius behind its Ultra-Panavision design.Gone are the faded sidebars and format-squeezing distortion at the edges of the frame. The letterboxed 2.35:1 original ratio keeps the images flat and distortion free (except for any curvature appearing in original shots), and very thin vertical borders at either side ensure we're viewing the entire print image now.Better still, this HD-quality restoration maintains constant and rich color saturation which marks a vast improvement over the previous version aired even on TCM. Detail quality is superb given the age of the source negative, allowing the best look ever at Kramer's rollicking road farce.My ears also detect a restored sound mix which fills the surround audio field much more dynamically than before without making a gimmick of the channel separation.In short, IT'S A MAD, MAD, MAD, MAD WORLD has never looked or sounded this good. TCM plans to rerun the film on December 30th, so do not miss it!Only one question remains: when will this new restoration get its long-awaited Blu-ray release, now that it's up for the challenge? Thank you TCM for today's surprise classic film gift just in time for the holidays!

  • Classic Comedy of a Bygone Era

    • FIlmEdge
    • 9/4/10

    So much about IT'S A MAD, MAD, MAD, MAD WORLD can never be duplicated, and all attempts to imitate it have fallen harder than a firetruck ladder. Stanley Kramer's 1963 epic stands alone in assembling a stunning cast of comedic legends who literally crowd the Ultra-Panavision widescreen cinematography.The story is ridiculously simple and the plot is hilariously convoluted, but it's the multiple lead performances -- thankfully preserved forever -- that keep fans of this masterpiece coming back for multiple viewings. Spencer Tracy, Sid Caesar, Milton Berle, Edie Adams, Mickey Rooney, Buddy Hackett, Ethel Merman, Jonathan Winters, Terry-Thomas . . . the cast list goes on and on boasting stars across the board. Their on-the-spot embodiments of these broadly typed characters mine the endless wordplay to make this one of the most quotable comedies of all time.Naturally Kramer offers liberal set pieces of outstanding and outrageous physical comedy and death-defying stunts, including one of the longest car chase sequences ever which manages to be both suspenseful and laughable at the same time. The cast backs it up with plenty of their own heightened physical action and expressions scaled-up to fill the big, big, big, big screen.Kudos well-earned for Ernest Laszlo's brilliant, kinetic photography, superb comedic/action editing by Frederic Knudston, Robert C. Jones and Gene Fowler Jr., and a memorable score by Ernest Gold and Mack David.I continue to praise TCM for showing this cinematic treasure unedited and in full widescreen ratio, I dearly wish and hope for a long-overdue restoration of the film for the high-definition era. TCM's print shows significant color fading of image in many scenes. It desperately needs a new transfer for the HD era worthy of its historical value and legacy.Still, IT'S A MAD, MAD, MAD, MAD WORLD remains a most enjoyable race to comedic nirvana whether you're watching for the first time or the fiftieth.

  • The Most Outrageous Physical Comedy of them All.

    • Frank Harris Horn
    • 7/4/10

    Director Stanley Kramer assembles an all-star cast of slapstick comedy performers led by Spencer Tracy and turns them loose on a mad treasure hunt to find a satchel of stolen bank money. The cast reads like a list of Who's Who? including Milton Berle, Edie Adams, Carl Reiner, Ethel Merman, Jimmy Durante, Dorothy Provine, Jack Benny, ZaSu Pitts, Mickey Rooney, Buddy Hackett and the Three Stooges. The movie won an Academy Award for Best Sound Effects. This one is a real side-splitter. Also starring Buster Keaton, Madlyn Rhue, Phil Silvers, Jerry Lewis, Jonathan Winters, Jim Backus, Arnold Stang, Peter Falk, William Demarest, Eddie "Rochester" Anderson, Sid Caesar, Don Knotts, Norman Fell, Jesse White, Dick Shawn, Andy Devine & Terry-Thomas.

  • Too many cooks spoil the pot

    • Dean S
    • 7/3/10

    This movie is really a grab bag of cameos, thrown together in haphazard fashion and called a movie. It is absolutely dreadful. Why? The performers all compete with one another to steal each scene. As a result, this film serves up more ham than a NYC deli. It is more so a caricature of a comedy than an actual comedic effort, and the only laughs come straight from a can. There is nothing fresh or original here.

  • Stan Kramer does an ode to greed and slapstick!

    • Kevin4Butler
    • 6/26/10

    This movie pays homage to slapstick comedies of the pastand gives a lession in the evils of greed.As a group of foolishpeople,try to find the hidden loot of a dying crook. The film doesn't have much of a plot..but is does featureappearances from the movies most beloved comedy and character performers and alot of chases and pratfalls,a greatscore and a memorable theme song.

  • WOW...Thanks indeed TCM!!!

    • Joseph
    • 2/2/09

    Love,love,love,love this movie but the current DVD's on the market are terrible. Thank you so much TCM for showing the 192 minute version-heres hoping it hits DVD soon!

  • Original Version

    • Juggdj
    • 2/2/09

    Thank you TCM for showing the original edit. The DVD version is about 10 minutes shorter!! Word on the street is that MGM is finally going to do a special 2 disc edition for the fall of 2009. Love TCM!!!

  • It's A Mad Mad Mad World

    • Rick Gladd
    • 8/19/07

    My wife & I watched the movie last night, we both loved watching it because we haven't seen it in years.It's a great movie & love watching good old movies like this one.We love watching great old movies like this one. Thanks Rick

  • One Of The Best Comedies Ever

    • Bruce R.
    • 8/1/07

    It's a who's who of comedy from Hollywood's classic era.I watch "Mad World" every time it's on TCM, and no matter how down I'm feeling it makes me laugh and forget my troubles.Considering the time at which it was made, the tremendously talented cast and the wild stunts involving cars and planes, I seriously doubt that it could be made today.This film was a great departure for dirctor Stanley kramer, considering his previous dramas such as "Inherit The Wind" and "Judgement At Nuremberg".I have seen almost all of his films, and he proved he could do comedy also, and I think he is a much underrated director.I would recommend "Mad World" to anyone who needs a break from reality and is looking to for a lot of laughs.

  • Mad World will always make you laugh.

    • Rick Carbone
    • 3/25/07

    Just like everyone else I have seen this film a dozen times or more and find something new to laugh about each time. You will never see an assemblance of the top comedians of the time again. Each comic is a legend in his or her own right. I would have loved to be on the set(s) when this was being filmed. How Stanley Kramer did it is something to be analyzed for future generations. This was another time that we will not see the likes of again.

  • One of the funniest films ever.

    • Mike Hepworth
    • 1/21/07

    I have seen this film many times and never fail to get a bundle of laughs every time.Every comedian is trying to outdo the other one, but if I had to pick the best of them in this film it would have to be Jonathan Winters by a narrow margin over Phil Silvers.Stanley ramer is a genius.

  • It's A Mad Mad Mad Mad World

    • Craig Brewster
    • 1/5/07

    America should look back on its arts in America and rember its Deans. Hollywood is a dried up prune of its old self. Few of the real showman are still triing. clint eastwood, and other "Old School" actors.

  • Lots of Laughs!

    • Bob Galvin-Oliphant
    • 2/23/06

    An epic Stanley Kramer comedic romp. What an amazing all-star cast, led by Spencer Tracy! Also there are many cameo appearances by such people as Jack Benny, ZaSu Pitts, Jerry Lewis, Buster Keaton, and The Three Stooges. Lots of laughs, and great, fun closing scenes.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.