skip navigation
Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way

Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way(2010)

Contribute

FOR Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way (2010) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Dave Brubeck: In... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Dave Brubeck In His Own Sweet Way.

    • Mark Borowsky
    • 1/9/14

    Arguably, the finest jazz documentary ever produced. It compares favorably with previous works devoted to Thelonious Monk, Monk and his muse the Jazz Baroness, Benny Goodman, Willie " the Lion " Smith, and Charlie Parker.Deserves a DVD release

  • Dave Brubeck: In his own sweet way

    • Leta
    • 12/3/13

    Amazing collection of interviews and in depth look at Brubeck's incredible life story! What an inspirational man he was ... living through many hardships, yet very happy with life and making the best of his sufferings! His contribution to jazz was phenomenal. He was so humble.Please, please offer this film to the public!

  • Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way (2010)

    • craig johnson
    • 11/25/13

    Please release Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way (2010) to DVD or at least some type of digital download. I was fortunate enough to have parents whom attended Jazz clubs and saw him live. His music was an amazing gift to all generations.

  • a request

    • BEVERLY MCCANN
    • 12/7/12

    PLEASE, I HAVE BEEN SEARCHING AND SEARCHING: WHERE CAN I BUY A COPY OF THE DVD DOCUMENTARY "IN HIS OWN SWEET WAY.' ---- OR EXPLAIN WHY IT IS NOT AVAILABLE.THANK YOU

  • Dave Brubeck:In His Own Sweet Way

    • Hans Hoefgen
    • 9/4/11

    One of my first jazz albums is Jazz at Oberlin in 1954, and I've been a big fan of his ever since. Is it possible to buy a copy of this?

  • Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet

    • Beverly Edquist
    • 6/26/11

    This was just plain wonderful. I've been a Brubeck fan for many many years. Loved this documentary and would love to have a copy of it to share with me kids.

  • dave brubeck

    • ernest mathewson
    • 6/26/11

    This was extremely well done and would love to see it again...and also own the DVD. Any idea when or if it will be released?

  • Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way

    • Haig Kurdian
    • 6/14/11

    As a veteran Jazz lover, particularly of the 40s, 50s and 60s, this was a moving and emotional experience for me. I was privileged to hear many of these masters in person. The performances were great (no surprise), the history so evocative, and the memories so happy, at the same time inspiring melancholy at the passing of that wonderful period, that I will never forget the production. Deeply grateful to Mr. Eastwood for this work of art, and thanks to TCM. I'd like to express this to him personally. Very disappointed to find it is not available on DVD, and you have not indicated when you might present it again.

  • Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way

    • Haig Kurdian
    • 6/14/11

    As a veteran Jazz lover, particularly of the 40s, 50s and 60s, this was a moving and emotional experience for me. I was privileged to hear many of these masters in person. The performances were great (no surprise), the history so evocative, and the memories so happy, at the same time inspiring melancholy at the passing of that wonderful period, that I will never forget the production. Deeply grateful to Mr. Eastwood for this work of art, and thanks to TCM. I'd like to express this to him personally.

  • A rare and wonderful encouter

    • Powers McElhone
    • 6/11/11

    In His Own Sweet Way is so aptly named...Mr. Brubeck is a sweet man and consumate musician. What a delight to share his delight in making music with his friends.The sequence of Dave and Yo-Yo Ma is priceless. I'm hoping the DVD will be released soon. I'd like to own it, and give a few away to special friends who would relish its special qualities.

  • Fantastic!

    • KMOwens
    • 6/10/11

    I caught the 2nd half and would love to see it all. Please repeat it soon! Awesome!

  • great beyond belife

    • Ron amatore
    • 6/9/11

    this was the greatest trebute to a jazz artist i ever saw. i always loved dave brubeck but this was great. clint east eastwood is the coolest of all the movie stares. i could feel everything he played and seen all the things they do. it's not just sit and play. Paul desmond was the best sax player i have ever herd to bad he died so young. Jazz is a hard thing to play to bad this generation dont enjoy it they are missing the best music there is. you have to feel it if you dont don't bother to play it. thank you tcm vary much for a super super tribute to a great artest.

  • dave brubeck

    • Ron amatore
    • 6/9/11

    this was a greatest thing i mhave ever seen on jazz.i have always said you cant learn this you have to be born with it.i love jazzs i played a little but this is the true meaning of jazz. thank you for this great treet.I felt everything they were playing and i eat my heart out i cant have the talent they had. thank you again. and clent eastwood is grewat too.

  • dave brubeck

    • dave lang
    • 6/9/11

    I've been a fan since the 60's and really enjoyed this show. My only regret is I didn't record it, I hope it plays again in the future. Clint's approach in the interviews was great and it was nice to hear Dave speak restrospectively. Truely an American gem. Great clips from the past. Thanks to TCM.

  • really special man

    • Rosemarie
    • 6/9/11

    I totally enjoyed this presentation produced by a great man to honor another great man. I've followed Mr. Brubeck since the 60s and had the good fortune to sing in a chorus that performed some of his religious music a few years ago at Georgetown University - that had to be the highlight of my life (aside from the births of my children)!! He is not only a great musician but also a great humanitarian whose joy in performing is so very real. Please show this documentary again and again.

  • Thank you Mr. Eastwood

    • Debbie
    • 6/9/11

    I never really appreciated Brubeck... my Dad loved him but, as a kid, I just didn't 'get it'. It was such a pleasure to hear Brubeck speak of the music, in his own words. I was reminded of watching Leonard Bernstein (Young People's Concerts), I felt like he was teaching us about the music (especially in the interview with Walter Cronkite). Thank you Mr. Eastwood, thank you.

  • yumyum

    • MARY ANN TRAMMELL
    • 6/9/11

    THANK YOU! I LOVE JAZZ!

  • Dave Brubeck in his own sweet way

    • David Tendler
    • 6/8/11

    Excellent 5 stars. How can I buy the DVD?

  • Brubeck

    • addie
    • 6/8/11

    I believe TCM commissioned Clint Eastwood to produce this documentary on Dave Brubeck.

  • This is a Classic Movie?

    • Steve
    • 6/8/11

    These programs, while interesting enough, should be on the Biography Channel or PBS. This is not a classic movie or anything close to it. Why is TCM showing it and the other Clint Eatswood Jazz biographies?

  • Brubeck A Treasured Musician

    • Joared
    • 6/8/11

    Viewed only the last portion of this pgm. This jazz and Brubeck fan would like to see the entire production. Where or when can I purchase the DVD?

  • Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way

    • Bob Anderson
    • 1/9/11

    We did record this on DVR and watched it later that evening, and showed it to family members over the holidays. As is usual for Clint Eastwood projects, it was excellent. But many people told me they had intended to record it and didn't, and were assuming it would be broadcast again. I started attending Brubeck concerts in the early '60's, and have seen him almost annually around New England over the past decade. We were at the Worcester concert last Nov., his first performance back after three months out for the pacemaker. His joy at being back performing was fantastic to watch. Please rebroadcast, or issue a DVD, or both!

  • Good work, needs to be on DVD!

    • Luke
    • 1/4/11

    I'm a Brubeck fan and really enjoyed what I saw of this, but I was working when this aired and missed most of it. I wasn't too worried because I figured it would be available on DVD, but haven't been able to find any info about a release...Please make this available on DVD, and I'll be first in line to pick it up.Thanks TCM, and I'd love to see more jazz bios like this!

  • Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way---A Classic!

    • Linda
    • 12/29/10

    My husband and I loved this presentation, but missed the first half hour. We're greatly disappointed that it appears to have been a one-time airing and THERE'S NO OPPORTUNITY TO PURCHASE A DVD OF IT! Hope TCM is going to do something about both issues-------Dave Brubeck:In His Own Sweet Way is a classic in our book!

  • Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Time

    • Jaroca2
    • 12/23/10

    Outstanding!!!Why would you not have this available for home purchase?The man is a living legend and I thank Clint Eastwood & TCM for making this available for viewing. Now, please follow through and allow us to have this for our own.

  • Repeat please!

    • Michael
    • 12/17/10

    This is a great documentary of a living legend of the music world. Dave Brubeck is one of our national treasures, honored in the Kennedy Center Honors no less. Please repeat this program AND release on DVD, TCM. We all want to see the program again! And please put it on at a better time!

  • Dave Brubeck In His Own Sweet Way

    • Btingv
    • 12/17/10

    It was superb....but TCM's handling of it stinks! Are you thick in the head on this....first, you are not scheduling any rebroadcast (unlike many other of your presentations) and second you are not providing it for sale as a DVD! What is the problem (you do not explain). You are missing a commercial opportunity given the season, and you are for some inexplicable reason denying viewers an opportunity to see a truly fine presentation. At least offer an explanation.

  • Dave Brubeck

    • Patricia Dorfield
    • 12/16/10

    My husband and I spent much of this afternoon trying to find a DVD about Dave Brubeck's life and came to learn (too late) that not only had one been made, but it was also co-directed by another great - Clint Eastwood. THEN we learned that it had already been broadcast on TCM 10 days ago! We'd planned to purchase this DVD as a Christmas gift. I'll borrow another reviewer's comment - Damn! TCM producers, you missed the boat! Please let me know when you intend to rebroadcast this presentation and how I can purchase the DVD. Thank you.

  • dave brubeck

    • jim
    • 12/13/10

    Release it before christmas, dam-it

  • brubeck 1961 to2009

    • richard ludwick
    • 12/12/10

    saw his group in 1961 at San diego state college ...again 48 years later at the Walt Disney Concert Hall in los angeles .... always a brubeck fan ... would like to see the DVD ...missed the Monday show ..let me know if to show again ... e-mail address included richard Ludwick

  • In his own sweet way

    • Paul Manion
    • 12/9/10

    I had intended to record this bio-documentary of one of my favorite jazz musicians and was sick when I returned home the evening it was shown on TCM to learn that I had missed it. and had forgotten to record it. Please show it again SOON and let me know when it will be shown. Also please arrange to have it released on DVD for the sake of posterity, Thank you in advance,Paul Manion

  • Dave Brubeck!!!

    • Gary A.
    • 12/9/10

    This is without a doubt one of the finest bio docs ever made. It is thoughtful, well paced, detailed, and incredibly entertaining and charming. If you have never heard of Dave Brubeck (or if you are his best friend), you owe it to yourself to watch this film. No Kidding. Its that good.

  • Dave Brubeck: In his own Sweet Way

    • Jack Bortle
    • 12/9/10

    Wonderful presentation. Brubeck is unique. And Clint's love of the man and his music comes through in a fabulous way. You can love Dave and his music, but to hear him explain the origins of the beat and rhythm that stimulated some of his music give us added dimensions and appreciations for his talent. Please repeat the show and if possible let me know the date in advance. Thanks JB

  • Brubeck Film

    • Mark
    • 12/9/10

    Play it again, Ted! Fabulous.

  • Dave Brubeck

    • Hutch
    • 12/8/10

    I heard about it(a good writeup in Arizona Republic) but could not catch it at 3pm. Please give it a rerun in better hours. I'll be looking forward to it .... Thanks

  • Excellent!!!

    • Ed Kelly
    • 12/8/10

    Excellent documentary! Hope to see it again soon. In the Bay Area it was broadcast at 2:00 - 4:00 PM, so we recorded it. The rebroadcast merits a prime time spot. Hope to see it released on DVD soon. It would be worth having for entertainment and for historical purposes. A Brubeck fan since the fifties - EJK

  • Dave Bruebeck in his own sweet way

    • Jim Kasch
    • 12/8/10

    This was one of the best shows of the year. I also request it be rebroadcast soon.

  • Goood Stuff!

    • Arnie Nidecker
    • 12/8/10

    One of my all-time favorite performers of Jazz. Had the privilege of seeing him and the original quartet in the sixties. I was imopressed with his personal interviews (could have used more), especially his erudite analysis of the music form he so enjoyed. Could have done without Jamie Collum, and would have liked more of Dr. Billy Taylor as part of the interview process. Definitely worth repeating on air, and also as a DVD for purchase. Thanks to Clint Eastwood for his work.

  • Please Rebroadcast This Show!

    • Phil Bowler
    • 12/7/10

    I'm in total agreement with others who've called for the repeat broadcast of this show. I'll add, please notify me when, and if it will have an encore broadcast.Thank-You!

  • dave brubeck

    • dick j
    • 12/7/10

    Since I missed a 5:00 pm show,please repeat this acclaimed program.

  • Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way

    • Richard
    • 12/7/10

    I must say I was quite lucky to be home and to have tuned to TCM this afternoon. After first being treated to film noir "All Night Long" that featured Dave Brubeck, Mingus and other REAL jazz greats in a movie set in London, I was then treated to Clint's "In His Own Sweet Way" that is a wonderful documentary of jazz great Dave Brubeck. Unfortunately I wasn't able to watch it in its entirety, but figured to record it since it was listed to be aired at 5pm locally. I set the DVR, but just found that the program I can't watch it with my son because it did not air at 5pm though it was listed to be. TCM you MUST air this wonderful program again, selfishly FOR ME, but also for all the others out there that must see this inspiring man and hear his wonderful music and how his collaborations re-formed American Jazz and music as a whole forever. What a wonderful film piece. Clint's love comes through. And I'm reminded of what struck me when my dad played Dave's music for me when I was but a little boy in the early 60's. This was THE COOL thing before the British invaded american pop radio. TCM Please Play It Again!

  • Five Stars!

    • Tante Jo, or Joanne
    • 12/6/10

    You must repeat this show so that I can tape it for posterity ...I have in my library many LP's of the first recordings, and I find myself, just following my eightieth birthday, still in love with this music which when I first experienced it, thought that it was in the tradition of JSBach, all point and counterpoint. He still wiggles my toes!When is a repeat performance???

  • Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way

    • JAYARE
    • 12/6/10

    A wonderful biographical piece on one of the most influential of the 20th (and now 21st, WTG Dave!) century musicians. I especially enjoyed the demonstrations and explanations given relative to the creative process involved in such classics as Take Five, Blue Rondo ala Turk, and the song patterned after the Meadowlark. Please give serious consideration to both rerunning this show on TCM and/or releasing it on DVD.

  • 'Take' It In

    • Ana Chrenysm
    • 12/6/10

    Combined formal and informal discussions of Brubeck's contributions to music render this a superior music documentary. While avoiding the temptation to focus exclusively on personal story arc and celebrity, this documentary doesn't shrink from, or exclusively rely on, technical discussions about Brubeck's oeuvre. In so doing, this documentary subtly demonstrates Brubeck's genius to simultaneously convey emotion and create intellectually satisfying, theory-based work.With equal attention paid to pieces performed more and less frequently, we learn a good deal about the depth of Brubeck's repertoire. For example, the producers chose to include an excerpt of an ambitious theatrical piece he composed for Louis Armstrong. This piece features a call-and-response style piece that melds gospel/blues with Gregorian chant. This editorial decision exposes us to this lesser known work without didactic commentary or interpretation. The documentary allows us to learn, enjoy and judge it on our own.We again see strong editing choices limiting the use of "match cut" techniques interspersing recent and past performances. Its spare use renders these moments more powerful and poignant.In all, this a very strong documentary that allows the viewer to pull together pieces of Brubeck's work and life to expose powerful whole. It's refreshing as a viewer to be allowed this latitude. Excellent job.

  • A Living Legend

    • Jim Akins
    • 12/6/10

    Thank you, TCM. What a great show of a living jazz legend. The one and only Dave Brubeck!

  • Great job

    • Sully
    • 12/6/10

    I just saw the Dave Brubeck Quartet in Worcester, Ma. two weeks ago and he mentioned this show was airing on TCM. A fitting tribute to a great man and musician on his 90th birthday. Thanks, and I can't wait to see it again, please repeat!

  • Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way

    • Carolyn Ross
    • 12/6/10

    I am unable to stop smiling. This was an amazing program from so many different angles. The spirit of the man and his music is inspiring and uplifting throughout. The obvious respect and admiration in the voices of every single one of the talented artists interviewed is amazing. What an incredibly fun hour and a half I have had - totally by accident. Now I would like to buy this and watch it again, and it isn't available!!! Or at least tell others when they can watch it, and I don't see it scheduled again, either!!!Hopefully it will be soon. There are many I would love to share this with.

  • HAPPINESS IS BRUBECK AND EASTWOOD

    • Alex Adams
    • 12/6/10

    To see the life of Dave as he mingled with so many other outstanding musicians, contributing to and learning from all of them. To note the growth and change in his reach and grasp over the years. To learn that he and I shared a love of choirs and the human voice and classical music and the cello.What a wonderful man. What a wonderful life. How well and clearly conveyed by Clint and the many others involved.I have relived one of the betetr parts of mylife in this film.Please make it available on video and in CanadaThank you-Alex Adams-------------------------------------Submitted by: Alex Adams postume@ca.inter.net

  • Fabulous Show!

    • Ross Anderson
    • 12/6/10

    Mr. Eastwood does it again! Great jazz documentary about a living legend.

  • Dave Brubeck

    • Patricia Nelson
    • 12/6/10

    Please tell me this will be on again! Fabulous! Tribute to an Americanhero. This was an emotional experience as music can be. Memories.We attended a wake of a friend of 50 years this weekend, and we thought how many relationships are bound by music.Thank you.

  • Dave Brubeck Special

    • john
    • 12/6/10

    I just finished watching this special on TCM. It was absolutely fantastic so please make it available on DVD so we can all enjoy it whenever we want.

  • Dave Brubeck Special

    • M.Johnson
    • 12/6/10

    Wonderful. Please repeat.

  • Dave Brubeck: In His Own Sweet Way

    • Judy Riley
    • 12/6/10

    This was wonderful! Dave Brubeck is a true icon in the jazz music world, in the whole music world. Truly a classic. Loved every minute. Really want to buy a DVD of this show.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.