skip navigation
It Started with Eve

It Started with Eve(1941)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

It Started with Eve To please his dying father, a... MORE > $26.98 Regularly $26.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • It Started With Eve

    • robertson77
    • 1/1/14

    this was the first time I saw and heard Deana Durbin sing and I was blown away....I have been missing one of the greatest voices of all time. The movie was funny...fast moving and Charles Laughton was too funny. I bought the movie for I want to hear more of her voice. I always liked Judy Garland's voice and loved her in the Wizard of OZ, but felt she threw away her talent using drugs, alcohol and living the fast life and died at a young age. I have heard she made fun of Deana Durbin and feel that was out of jealousy because Deana was smart enough to get out of the jungle and have a long normal life instead of choosing to be on the world stage. As I listened to her singing, I compared her singing to what we hear today and thought this now generation would not appreciate her voice for they have NEVER heard good music.......just a lot of noise.

  • Deana Durban, musical genius

    • rnfergus
    • 1/1/14

    Every now and then there comes along a musical genius. Deanna Durban was one of these. Her operatic warbling in the music room of the grand house where Mr. Reynolds lies malingering is enough to recall anybody from the dead, as it does here in "It started with Eve." It is not only her talent, but her engaging, enraptured, captivating style that could call the birds down from the trees. She sings all the intricate modelings with an insider's grin, as if she knows a secret---and she does. She is just superior to any other singer I have ever seen, but, to her credit, she knew how to get out of the Hollywood jungle, and to just live her life. It's notable that she lived to be 91, and Judy Garland, who often ridiculed her, died so much younger.

  • Deana Durbin, musical genius

    • rnfergus
    • 1/1/14

    Every now and then there comes along a musical genius. Deanna Durban was one of these. Her operatic warbling in the music room of the grand house where Mr. Reynolds lies malingering is enough to recall anybody from the dead, as it does here in "It started with Eve." It is not only her talent, but her engaging, enraptured, captivating style that could call the birds down from the trees. She sings all the intricate modelings with an insider's grin, as if she knows a secret---and she does. She is just superior to any other singer I have ever seen, but, to her credit, she knew how to get out of the Hollywood jungle, and to just live her life. It's notable that she lived to be 91, and Judy Garland, who often ridiculed her, died so much younger.

  • What A Delight!

    • 4dogmama
    • 12/31/13

    I found this movie to be an utter delight! Charles Laughton did a good job, but I think Charles Coburn would have been a better fit as the father.

  • It Started with Eve (1941)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 7/17/13

    This is the first movie I've seen with Deanna Durbin and I have to say I was pleased with her performance. Charles Laughton was fantastic, as always, and Robert Cummings was great, too!

  • Double the Pleasure

    • Condie
    • 8/25/11

    Deanna Durbin is one of my favorite screen personalities, and 'It Started With Eve' is easily my favorite of her films. This is a girl who clearly enjoys her work, and working with Charles Laughton probably doubled the pleasure.She always plays basically herself. Laughton plays well any character type he is given, but is obviously most comfortable in light comedy roles such as this one. Thankfully, several of Durbin's movies are now available in collector's packs. Now if we could just get all of them, what a fine collection that would be.

  • Uns dos Melhores

    • Sonia
    • 11/10/10

    um dos Melhores filmes com a bela e talentosa Deanna Durbin muito emocionate , belo e puro. Filmes que hoje em dia j no se fazem mais. Eu gostaria de muito de ver este filme no TCM.

  • It Started With Eve

    • MissMantin
    • 11/14/09

    I watched this movie with my sister, and we both loved it! It was her first Deanna Durbin movie and my second, and we were both exploding into laughter for most of the film!

  • It Started with Eve (1941)

    • Jay
    • 7/2/09

    Probably my favorite Deanna Durbin film, and it benefits greatly from Charles Laughton's brilliant performance. Deanna is at her best. The story is cute. It may not be an original concept, but rarely has it been done this well. Great fun.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.