skip navigation
It Happens Every Spring

It Happens Every Spring(1949)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

It Happens Every Spring A scientist invents a baseball... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Back to the Hayes Code?

    • DavidH
    • 3/15/14

    I find that people like 'Peggy' are dangerous to the advancement of film as art, or simple storytelling in general. In her thinking, so common in America, we need to constantly 'protect the children' from values not our own. I am capable of and free to make moral calls without considering how she and others 'explain' things to their offspring. Imagination and fantasy are not the moral equivalents of lying and cheating. I pity her kids for losing out on Grimm's fairy tales, at the very least. Sad, pathetic, woman.

  • It Happens Every Spring

    • EchoEcho
    • 2/10/14

    All I can say, Peggy, is watch a movie first before posting a "review"/complaint about it. And, jeez, talk about picky. Sure this is a family film. Just as the Wizard of Oz or the Absent-Minded Professor or Snow White is even though they all have "questionable" motives and actions in them. If you're going to be that paranoid about films then you mustn't let your family watch anything. In Wizard of Oz, Dorothy kills a person by squashing them with a house ... and then she steals slippers off the corpse! As mentioned, the Absent-Minded Professor uses science to do exactly the same thing as this movie--wins sporting events. And what about all the useless "princesses" in most Disney films who can't do anything for themselves and have forest animals and dwarves do all the work for them until they can instantly marry the first rich and handsome stranger who comes along. If you want angelic morals out of Hollywood, you're barking up the wrong tree. Oh, but then I shouldn't use angels as the hallmark of morality, should it--not with all those religious wars they fight in heaven as the "soldiers of god." Ignore this person--this is a good, fun film.

  • It Happens Every Spring

    • JD
    • 12/11/13

    I get what you're saying, Peggy, but the professor does lose his formula before the end of the movie and he succeeds in striking out the other team and winning the game through his own natural abilities. True, he used an unorthodox method to get to that point, but like most films, this one doesn't claim to be a moral compass, just a whacky comedy. It's like the basketball and football games in the Absent-Minded Professor and its sequel. As far as these one-track inventors are concerned, if there's nothing against it in the rule book it's fair game. And invention is their natural ability. The humor comes from the fact that their methods are whacky and impossible in real life, so its pure fantasy--like a child wishing he was Superman so he could "win the game" type of thing. It's harmless fantasy that the average person wouldn't really do in real life. Knowing the difference between fantasy and reality is key here. I've seen quite a few beloved family classics that come up short in the morals department as far as I'm concerned but if someone gets some enjoyment out of them, then that's their business.

  • A movie about cheating

    • Peggy
    • 6/30/13

    I have read the reviews and I must have missed something. A professor events a substance that he puts on a baseball that makes the ball avoid the bat. The professor/pitcher knows he is cheating, because he doesn't tell anyone. He becomes a star and the team wins. His cheating is never discovered and there are no repercussions. I don't see this as a family film. It is not the values I want to teach.

  • Low level sci fi and special effect comedy.

    • denscul
    • 6/30/13

    This film is corny, unrealistic, yet its funny, and I love it because I first saw this at the theater when I was about ten, and aspiring to become a major league pitcher. This picture was right in the grove for me, and I didn't think it was so funny as being a possibility to re-create the formulae with my Gilbert chemistry set. In those days, they had real chemicals, not just things you could find in your mom's kitchen. I feel sorry for today's generation, with all your ipods, etc, I don't think you have the fun we had in our dangerous, pre-seatbelt days. Today, this film is great for watching with my grandkids. Forget the moral and ethical problem of using a little help from chemistry. Oh, I forgot about steroids. Well, things never seem to change when it comes to getting one up on the other guy.

  • It Happens Every Spring (1949)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 5/20/12

    Great baseball fantasy film that is very reminiscent of the Medfield series of Disney movies in which Fred MacMurray, then later Kurt Russell, accidentally invent all kinds of whacky stuff, from flubber to invisibility sprays and super-strength formulas. Ray Milland is great as the pitcher professor and Paul Douglas is wonderful as his loyal friend and teammate. Jean Peters is also good, as are character actors Jessie Royce Landis and Ray Collins. Watch for a youthful Alan Hale Jr (aka "The Skipper") as one of Ray's students. If "Christmas in Connecticut" is shown every year at Christmastime, then why isn't "It Happens Every Spring" shown on TCM every spring for the start of baseball season?? This is a wonderfully entertaining movie that the whole family can enjoy. Hopefully, someone at Fox Entertainment Group will wise-up and put this great film out on DVD asap!

  • BETTER THAN MONKEY BUSINESS

    • ruben
    • 1/23/12

    Someone compared this film to MONKEY BUSINESS. In a sense it's true -both films are hilariously funny and tackle the premise of secret formulas

  • Hilarious!

    • evelio
    • 1/23/12

    I recently saw this funny little flick that reminds me of one made a year later with Cary Grant, Ginger Rogers and Marilyn Monroe, titled MONKEY BUSINESS. Both films are hilariously funny and tackle the premise of secret formulas

  • Ray Milland having fun in a Great Baseball Movie

    • Rich
    • 6/22/11

    I loved watching Ray Milland play King Kelly. He really seemed to enjoy his character and looked like he was having a ball....No pun intended. I loved the ' Has anyone else seen Kelly{song which fit the movie). I could sit through it a thousand times and never get tired of Paul Douglas rubbing his comb through his hair and watching the static electricity and his reaction. The part when the bottle breaks and King Kelly has to pitch without the "juice" is what makes the hero the hero. I loved this movie. Priceless. You need to show it every year during spring training.

  • it happens every spring

    • edith
    • 5/11/11

    a great baseball movie

  • It Happens Every Spring

    • John Echols
    • 2/12/11

    For whatever reason....this movie has not been played for a long time. It's a great baseball fan movie as well as a clean family movie. I'd like it to be shown Every Spring, and throughout the baseball season like it used to be, and hope that the studio would release it in DVD form.

  • It Happens Every Spring

    • Ray Marlitz
    • 7/23/10

    College Chemistry Professor has a Ball

  • It Happens Every Spring

    • anna boone
    • 6/7/10

    A great movie for the whole family. A very funny comedy for baseball lovers that wish they had the talent to become a ball player. A professor that loves baseball and finds a way to play professionally !! A Great movie for both males and females.

  • fun

    • Charles Novo
    • 1/9/09

    One of the most pleasant movies of its time. Attractive characters deck a generous and simple story -- never could happen and its o.k. to acknowledge the fact. Not, really a baseball movie, "It Happens Every Spring," is rather a compound of love story and fantasy. Possibly Jean Peters' most fetching role, Paul Douglas does a stellar supporting bit.

  • baseball is for everyone

    • paul
    • 7/12/08

    a very funny baseball movie, great when your team is in the dumps.

  • the ultimate sports fantasy

    • sam
    • 7/7/08

    great movie, they just don't make them like this anymore

  • One of the best baseball movies ever

    • Larry
    • 5/22/08

    This is a classic baseball movie -- humorous -- but yet not corny. The fantasy of an unlikely baseball hero actually becoming one is both heartwarming and enjoyable to watch. Good acting, good plot. Lots of fun.

  • The Best Baseball Story Ever Made Into A Film

    • Russ Bravender
    • 1/20/08

    The best Baseball movie made at Baseball's peak

  • Plain Good Fun

    • ryburn mccullough
    • 10/25/06

    This is how movies should be made. It seems that we are now seeing a resurgence of movies that make sense and have a meaningful plot. Hopefuly Hollywood has run the course of sex and violence and can see that people want good clean movies.Their are alot of movies like "It happens every Spring" but for some reason this movie has turned out to be one of my all time favorites. You can still buy the radio version also done by Ray Milland, which by the way I own and still listen

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.