skip navigation
Island of Lost Souls

Island of Lost Souls(1932)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Island of Lost Souls On a remote island, a mad... MORE > $29.95 Regularly $29.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Island of Lost Souls (1932)

    • Travis Black
    • 11/19/12

    I love all classic HORROR movies from the 30s and 30s and this is one of the best Pre-code Horror films ever ! I bought this movie from criterion and after i saw it, i was astonished at how creepy and brutally violent the film is. Laughton is very CREEPY in the film and there is a very strange sexual undertone to the whole movie which is pretty disturbing. Definitly not for those "weak of heart" ! Very Creepy and Sadistic !

  • Island of Lost Souls

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 6/9/12

    The best pre- code horror film of the 30's, along with Universal's films. Laughton relishes the part of Moreau, perfectly combining charm & menace. Whoever did the makeup for this film is a magician, the art direction & makeup add a great deal of terror. A well- made film with slendid over- acting. I give it a 4/5.

  • Island of Lost Souls

    • John in NC
    • 6/6/12

    Saw this movie for the first time on TCM today, what a great movie and should be one of the classics that are a must see. All horror movie buffs should add this to their collection.

  • Island of Lost Souls (1932)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 12/7/10

    One of the greatest horror movies ever. Title perfectly describes the poor, horrific creatures on the island. Charles Laughton is one of the great actors.

  • island of lost souls laughton 1932?

    • george
    • 8/31/10

    this is crazy that this has never made it to dvd. i would even buy a box set to get this. with all the interest in things that are "universal horror flicks" and all things connected to them it seems like this would be a natural for re release since it has bela l in it . why not a box set including - island of lost souls , the original Freaks from tod browning, the man who laughs, , maybe the old dark house? ......something that is not drac, frank, mummy, wolfman etc. maybe call it MONSTERS ON PARADE.LOL something that shows the skills of the rest of scary old hollywood ps how about a box set called DRAMA QUEENS; with mommy dearest, valley of the dolls, whatever happened to baby jane, caged, etc you get the idea thanks so much for the oppurtunity to ask for what wed like to see george

  • This is the greatest film ever made.

    • Jeff Priest
    • 12/16/09

    This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever This is the greatest film ever RELEASE IT FROM ITS REEL BONDAGE!I WANT MY DVD! Please?????????

  • Charles Laughton's quip in aftermath of the movie

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 2/6/09

    It said that after making "Island of Lost Souls," Charles Laughton humorously claimed he'll never visit another zoo for the rest of his life. Sometimes I wonder if he really meant it or he was just pulling everyone's leg.

  • Island of Lost Souls - DVD

    • Mark
    • 12/22/08

    I would buy this on DVD if available!

  • Island of Lost Souls on DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 5/22/08

    I think Island of Lost Souls should be DVD. After all, I hear it's a good movie, and I do like Charles Laughton.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.