skip navigation
The Iron Petticoat

The Iron Petticoat(1956)

Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Iron Petticoat Captain Vinka Kovelenko defects from Russia, but not for... MORE > $24.99 Regularly $29.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Watch Silk Stockings instead

    • noodles
    • 11/26/13

    Instead of leaving a negative review for this Bob Hope vehicle, let me recommend another movie. The musical-comedy retelling of Ninotchka, staring Fred Astaire and the stunningly beautiful and wonderfully talented Cyd Charisse. It's called Silk Stockings, and for my money Silk Stockings is far superior to Ninotchka and The Iron Petticoat.

  • This Movie Stinks!

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 5/29/13

    I've seen it before and I groaned this morning when I saw today's schedule. The main problem I had with this movie was I just couldn't believe Bob Hope was in love with Katharine Hepburn, which was basically the whole premise of the film. So I watched it thinking he really didn't like her and was just being funny. But no! He dumps his fiance for her. What!? Katharine was so awkward in this role (including her dumb accent) and it was downright embarrassing watching her buy black lace. From the reviews, I see that Hope and Hepburn both realized this movie was a bust, and wanted it to disappear. Well, I agree with them TCM, don't destroy the movie because it should be preserved. Instead, mark it as toxic and never show it again unless you have a petition with a million signatures.

  • No, no, Ninotchka

    • ted
    • 3/27/13

    This film is the place to go for all of you who want to be cured of the fantasy that you could be enchanted by Katherine Hepburn reading the telephone directory. This film is deadly dull, a total miss in every way. I've never cared much for Bob Hope, but I will admit that many times he has made me laugh against my will. That won't happen here. These two big, big personalities are whittled down by inept, tired, trite writing that never rises to the level of Uncle Jocko. Did we EVER think this sort of thing was funny? Remember champagne? This film has all the sparkle and fizz of a flagstone. Answering telephone surveys, picking lint off the carpet, alphabetizing your shoes are all better uses of your time than this film.

  • Iron Petticoat Full of Rust

    • Judith
    • 3/27/13

    Watching it now, terrible movie. Can't believe that Katherine Hepburn agreed to do this film. Miscast and she can't hold the accent. 30 minutes is all I can endure.

  • Iron Petticoat

    • Joe Rossi
    • 12/14/12

    I watched this film with interest as I was working in the control tower in the opening scenes where the "mig" is brought into the usaf base. The mig was a F84 with russian ID and the two aircraft bringing her in were F86Ds. When they filmed this scene I was working in the tower and they filmed the tower scene also but I guess it ended up on the cutting floor. This was a typical Hope movie and if one likes Hope's comedy, it fits the bill. After 56 years, I finally got to see it.

  • Maybe the worst film I've ever watched

    • Ezradams
    • 12/3/12

    If this ever shows it's ugly face again on broadcast television, run the other way. Clearly one of the worst films ever. Hard to believe Katharine Hepburn agreed to star. NO STARS!

  • The Iron Petticoat

    • Ezradams
    • 12/3/12

    If this ever shows it's ugly face again on broadcast television, run the other way. Clearly one of the worst films ever. Hard to believe Katharine Hepburn agreed to star. NO STARS!

  • Awful

    • Dinah
    • 12/2/12

    AWFUL! Not funny, witty, or interesting. Painful to watch, in fact. Not at all surprising that Hepburn and Hope both tried to forget this ever happened.

  • Hope Hepburn = Big Laughs

    • Bruce Reber
    • 11/30/12

    I read the synopsis for "The Iron Petticoat" at TCM movie database, and decided to give it a look when it aired Thursday 11/29/12 at 8:00 PM. I missed the first 15 minutes or so because I just got home from work. Bob Hope is Capt. Chuck Lockwood of the U.S. Air Force who's ordered to show defecting Soviet Air Force pilot Capt. Vinka Kovalenko (played by Katharine Hepburn) the joys of capitalism, and as his commanding office puts it, "sell her America". The dialogue is fast paced and very witty, with Chuck taking comic jabs at Russia and communism, and Vinka conversely criticizing America and capitalism. Despite all their cultural and political differences, ultimately they realize that they're really in love with each other. Hope and Hepburn have good chemistry with each other in "The Iron Petticoat", the only film in which they appeared together. When it was over Robert Osborne commented that Katharine Hepburn never mentioned either this film nor Bob Hope in her memoirs, which might suggest she didn't want to do it. She played an Asian (Chinese) in the 1944 film "Dragonseed", and I'm guessing she was probably reluctant to play another ethnic character. I can accept her playing a Russian pilot way more than her playing a Chinese peasant. If you haven't seen TIP, give it a watch sometime. You'll get some big laughs from two of Hollywood's greatest stars. I'm watching it again when it airs on Sunday 12/16/12!

  • Gawdawful!

    • Patricia Shapiro
    • 11/29/12

    I watched 30 minutes of this and gave up! It stinks! No wonder Bob Hope wanted it out of circulation. What was Katherine Hepburn thinking about?

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.