skip navigation
The Ipcress File

The Ipcress File(1965)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Worst movie of week!

    • 40's fan
    • 12/4/16

    Can't believe this is on TCM. It was bad even when released, and hasn't improved with age. Horrible generic 60's "music" (believe me,no one could stand thus stuff back then), SLOW plot, if you can call it that. Caine tries, but there's not much he can do. This is not a good example of British espionage, more like how not to do it. Mostly just people talking about administrative work! Popular only because people like to watch torture.

  • The Ipcress Question

    • Clichae
    • 11/24/16

    I liked how this movie featured the element of mind control as employed by the other side - which shows how the seat, strategy, & target of any warfare is ultimately the mind. In this epoch of deception, how can any of us know if we have been brainwashed or not?!

  • This Michael Caine classic on Criterion DVD

    • Jeffrey Kenison
    • 1/31/16

    I would love to this movie on Criterion Collection DVD. I like Michael Caine.

  • ipcress file

    • kevin sellers
    • 8/7/15

    Good, solid British espionage pic, which is a genre the Brits have perfected. It's better than James Bond, but not as good as LeCarre (i.e. "Spy Who Came In From The Cold," "Tinker Tailor, Soldier Spy") First third is a tongue in cheek look at the stiff, humorless British security establishment mindset, as embodied by Col. Ross and Major Dalby (well played by Guy Dolman and Nigel Green.) The second two thirds is more intense and action filled. We've seen both done as well or better in the LeCarre or Bond films, respectively, so what makes this movie stand out, and indeed is the only sensible reason for watching it, is Michael Caine's bravura performance as Harry Palmer, his first starring role. By turns cheeky and menacing, a regular guy and an arrogant jerk, it kind of merges the "Alfie" persona with the one in "Get Carter." All in all, quite a debut starring role. Let's give this film a B 'cause of Caine. P.S. Sue Lloyd sure was hot. Decent actress, too. Wonder why she didn't have a bigger movie career? (Anti brunette bias perhaps?)

  • the ipcress file

    • richard
    • 3/30/15

    I first saw this in 1965 when it first came out and it has been one uf my favorites ever since. coming from a faithful Bogart fan that has to mean something. I have tried to see it every time I could because like most good movies you always pick out something else that you didn't catch before. Unfortuntly no one seems to want to show it so it is very hard to see

  • The Ipcress File

    • Eric A
    • 3/16/14

    ***1/2 Best of the Harry Palmer movies.

  • Great Movie Suspense

    • Ed Brantley
    • 4/10/09

    This movie was my introduction to Michael Caine and like so many others, I became a rabid fan.The movie was great fun and suspense, but it would not have been the same without Michael Caine. The man's versatility is truly amazing.

  • It IS Available On DVD !!

    • Ron Bay
    • 1/13/09

    I have a copy of an original IPCRESS File DVD, that was part of a two-CD collection (the other was SLEUTH), I bought about three years ago.

  • a great spy thriller

    • richard
    • 12/29/08

    I saw this film in the movies in 1965 and it was great. every time i watch a movie i pick up more little details and thus more of the plot. that is why i like to see old movies over again and that is why i think you should show it again.

  • Perfect!

    • Mark Butler
    • 11/25/07

    The Ipcress File is the perfect spy film, very low-key. The film enjoys a authentic cold war cilmate. Caines acting is pure entertainment.

  • My Favorite Spy Movie...ever!

    • Joe
    • 7/7/06

    Mille grazie a AMC per la cinema! I love this flick. I saw it as a 9-year-old in the theater and it deeply affected me. I'd been a Bond fan from the first movies, and especially "Thumderball." But "The Ipcress File" showed a wonderfully sardonic character, a distrust of authority, and a noir-ish vision of spying. So much better than the slickness that Bond became, especially post-Thunderball.Enjoy!Plus, John Barry's score is, in a word, impeccable.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.