skip navigation
The Incredible Shrinking Man

The Incredible Shrinking Man(1957)

Contribute

FOR The Incredible Shrinking Man (1957) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Incredible Shrinking Man When he mysteriously starts... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Incredible Shrinking Man (1957)

    • John Alexander
    • 7/6/13

    Grant Williams in my personal favorite science fiction film of all time, portrays an ordinary man caught in extraordinary circumstances. This film visions what it might be like to experience "a deadly reversal of the growth process" as Williams begins to literally shrink in size, day by day to the point where he is living in a child's doll house and beyond that must find a way to survive in a giant world of his own basement. Brilliant script by the late Richard Matheson and superior special effects for it's day that still are great today. Watch for the encounter with the giant tarantula which is still spectacular. Something very thought provoking about the ending of the film as well.Also watch for a short appearance by Billy Curtis as a circus performer. This is one of the finest 50s science fiction films and I still enjoy watching it every time on TCM.

  • Excellent film

    • Joseph
    • 4/27/13

    The best sci fi movie of all times. I thoroughly enjoyed it. I would recommend this movie for everyone to see. definite academy award material

  • The Incredible Shrinking Man

    • Dashiell B.
    • 1/5/13

    Don't just ignore this film as a cheap sci-fi flick, because it's anything but. Williams is exposed to a radioactive mist that causes his body to shrink in size resulting in him to lash-out at his wife & curse science for his condition. Genre favourites, Director Arnold & Screenwriter Matheson explore isuues of emasculation & humanity by making everyday objects threatening. Apart from the now-dated special effects, this is a film worth seeing. I give it a 4/5.

  • Vertically Challenged(1957)

    • nshepard
    • 1/5/13

    So you think "lifts" for your shoes will help ? Hhmmm, not here , not this film...Jack Arnold profoundly Directs a deep and moving film that has a Science-Fiction text but transcends that medium and could be applied universally to many different situations. Take an ordinary man and place him in a fantastic situation and see what happens... Robert Scott Carey(Grant Williams) on a boating vacation encounters a "mysterious" cloud that has tragic implications when several weeks later he starts to shrink. The "Classic" conflicts arise when "we" change to our surroundings" or when our surroundings become life-threatening due to the change in our dynamics, in this case "size." When daily /normal situations are now filled with fear and the possibility of terminal harm , things get difficult. Water heaters become waterfalls, throw away food particles become necessary life sustenance, and bugs become "Monsters." wow, whew, things get really tough. So what are the lessons learned , you'll have to watch...5 stars out of 5 for a film way ahead /above its' time, might still be... One for the Ages...

  • Bravo

    • Adventure
    • 1/1/12

    The Incredible Shrinking Man is a powerful movie and Grant Williams is terrific. One wonders why Williams never became a major star. I recall Williams being a WB contract star in films such as The Couch with Shirley Knight, and Susan Slade with Connie Stevens and Troy Donahue and PT 109 with Ty Hardin and Cliff Robertson.

  • Not Too Far Off with Actual Life

    • Dan
    • 7/3/07

    I have not seen this fascinating film in 30+ years and I've forgotten how good it really is. This is a great Sci-Fi and it's interesting to watch a person get smaller and smaller until eventually he can fit through a screen from a window. Great special visual effects. This is also a story of a person stuggling with his marriage and wanting to escape this problem as it gets media attention, and struggle with his existance. It hold true to our every day life, except the shrinking down smaller than a spider part. It's funny seeing a trantula down in the basement in their home... .

  • Great Movie

    • Bernard
    • 6/25/06

    This is one of my favorite sci fi movies. Unfortunately, not only have I only seen it twice on television, it is not available on dvd. This is really too bad as this film lends itself to some serious reflexion on a few issues of philosophical nature.

  • The Incredible, Incredible Shrinking man movie!

    • Nicholas Krisfalusy
    • 5/5/06

    This not-played-enough- Sci Fi thriller from the 50's is not only not played enough thru Television, it has yet to be remastered and put on DVD! I hope those powers-to-be will release this gem soon to DVD and I think with enough advertising sales will do well! I find this film to be a well made, interesting and a thought provoking film that does not dwell on gory special effects but rather on the human aspect of being reduced in size whereas a common household spider becomes a major life threat! I Hope more people will get a chance to see this great little film and enjoy it as much as I do.Sincerely;Nicholas Krisfalusy

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.