skip navigation
Imitation of Life

Imitation of Life(1934)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Imitation of Life A widow and her housekeeper go... MORE > $24.99 Regularly $29.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Wow

    • Michael Powers
    • 2/7/13

    This is a great movie, I didn't realize 1959 version was a remake. . The Lana Turner version was always a little too "high-drama" for me.

  • a different version of the movie

    • Joy Kinyanjui
    • 7/26/12

    I watched this movie, "Imitation of Life," 3 years ago for the first time, thinking it was the 1950s version because that was the one I had seen years ago as a young girl. And in fact, I thought it was the only one. But to my surprise, there was an earlier 1934 version. This could quite possibly be the first one. I really liked this film and I think everyone should see it. I highly recommend it. If you've see the the 1950s one and not this one, you should see it. You owe it to yourself to see both. Bring the tissues! Would love to see the 1934 version come to DVD. Both films are uniquely special in their own way. I love this movie and it touches me every time I see it.

  • Imitation of Life (1934)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 8/12/11

    Engaging tale of a small family's rise from rags to riches, spanning many years. Although the film's racial themes remain fairly subdued, almost a sub-plot really, it still works. Claudette Colbert's character is somewhat less sympathetic once she becomes the wealthy "pancake queen" but she is still wonderful in the role. Ned Sparks is hilarious as the sarcastic, monotone-voiced business manager, though Warren William makes for a rather bland love interest.

  • Imitation of Life (1934)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/5/10

    Outstanding drama, superbly acted by Claudette Colbert and Louise Beavers. The supporting cast is fine. Excellent screenplay, and it's way ahead of it's time tackling racial issues. Fresh, moving and remarkable. The remake in 1959 is fine, but I still like this one best.

  • Excellent

    • paula
    • 12/7/08

    This version is more realistic than than the remake with Lana Turner. Which was too glossy for my taste!

  • What a powerful movie!

    • cgrip
    • 9/8/08

    TCM aired the 1959 rendition last night and I cried right on que!While I believe that older version is has a better story line I do feel that every woman needs to see both adaptations.

  • BETTER OF THE TWO VERSIONS

    • Marilyn
    • 7/26/08

    in my opinion, anyway. The relationship between the two women seems to be more like a friendship than the second. You would think that the relationship would have been less mistress/servant like in the later version, but the story struggles in that aspect in the second. Also, the fact that the character of the daughter passing for white was actually played by a half black actress in the first one, makes the character come off more realistically. She could truly portray that type of character, because of her 'blackness', she truly knew the prejudices. Thirdly, Claudette Colbert and fourthly, Louise Beavers. The end. The others pale in comparison... This is a must see for all.

  • Loved Fredi Washington!

    • Janice Radical
    • 12/16/07

    I've seen both versions. And, this one is definitely my favorite. Especially, Fredi Washington. She was wonderful in this movie and convincing as the daughter. If anyone could be chosen to portray the daughter, it was Fredi Washington. I had heard of Fredi Washington. But, never saw any of her films. Need more films that portray blacks in a positive light. Would love to see more of her films.

  • An Imitation of Life

    • Tamla Davis
    • 5/21/06

    I recently took a college course, Great Performances on Film. I found that the class gave me the opportunity to view a film version that I had not seen since childhood. Imitiation of LIfe with Claudette Colbert and Freddie Washington. One of the great things about this film is the love of a mother for her child no matter what her choice is. I thought this was a great movie to watch in celebration for Mother's Day and what it means to have that title. The fact that Turner Movie Classes is celebrating Blacks in Films makes this a must see if you have not had the opportunity to enjoy a true classic of the 30's!

  • A "box of tissues" and thee...

    • FrankieCee
    • 5/6/06

    This version of "Imitation" is my own personal favorite. Both (this and the later one) are equally as impressive though. Perhaps it is simply my affinity for ichthyologists. Either way, this particular version contains all of the components which, when combined, make for a magnificent storyline. I was always a proponent of "sharing the wealth", I believe it adds even more depth to the story. According to the allusions inferred, this was the fortuitous advent of the "world's greatest (mass produced) flapjacks". Just how much historical accuracy can be attributed to this inference though, begs further investigation. The acting is superb and the storyline and setting's are even better. Own this version if you can. "Two thumbs up", lol.

  • YEA OOO YEA!!!

    • Abbatha Oustoon
    • 3/17/06

    This is a great movie for the whole family to sit and watch!! If you like that kind of movie that is spicy, but sweet,then watch this!!! You can see that the 1934 version is sweeter! But the 1959 version is spicier!! So if i were you i would watch the 1934, and then compare to see what they have changed and have redone to its motion pitcure itself!! So tune in and sit back and in the end you will be amazed and end up with it like i did!!! Even some kids like it!! For example my little son,Mac sat with me and was cozy with me on the couch and enjoyed every second!!So to sum this up GOOD!

  • Wonderful Movie

    • Don
    • 2/23/06

    This movie has it all...success story of the women, and trouble with children.Delia's unconditional love for her confused daughter is commendable. The race issues are striking, and I believe we have come a long way since.

  • IMITATION OF LIFE

    • patty
    • 1/19/06

    I thought this was a good film. Was this the first thought for Aunt Jemima Pancakes....I thought it was entertaining altough I do like the Lana Turner version also....I could watch this movie again.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.