skip navigation
I'll Never Forget You

I'll Never Forget You(1951)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

I'll Never Forget You MORE > $49.98 Regularly $49.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Transcendent Love Story

    • Dee2
    • 2/21/14

    Romantics believe that true love transcends time and place. This is that kind of emotionally rewarding time -travel story. The movie begins in an unpleasant nuclear laboratory, especially poignant considering the nuclearphobic 1950s in which it was actually filmed. The main character, nuclear researcher Dr. Peter Standish, has been exposed to high levels of radiation during an experiment. At the door of his London home he is struck by lightening, then is mysteriously transported back to eighteenth London. There he meets his soul -mate. A man out of time and place, Standish meets famous eighteenth century artists and personalities who he startles and frightens with his future-knowing conversation. Eventually he is considered quite dangerous--a mad man, in fact. Only the lovely Miss Pettigrew remains unafraid of him. Tyrone Power is a great star and here he gives a sensitive intelligent portrayal as the enigmatic Standish. The sweet-faced Ann Blyth is charming and earnest as his true love. You root for these two beautiful characters to be united forever. The great story is based on Berkley Square. The rich period costumes, cinematography and other elements of production are outstanding. I'll Never Forget You is an unforgetably beautiful version of this love story and deserves to be seen more often.

  • I'll Never Forget (This Film) You

    • Van Nostrand
    • 9/3/12

    I remember seeing this film late a night on television probably 50 years ago. I will never forget the experience. A beautiful love story with time travel back to the 18th century. I later learned that the 1951 film was basec on the stage play "Berkeley Square", star vehicle for Leslie Howard for the New York stage in 1929. I believe it was written by James Balderston and ran on the London stage the previous year. What a beautiful story, so romantic and haunting - especially since I saw the film only once over half century ago. The depiction of the 18th century is especially well done. i wish the DVD could be purchased singly and not part of five part expensive set. I was determined to visit Berkeley Square when I was in London. Lord Shelburne's dining room is at the New York Metropolitan Museum and another room is the Philadelphia Museum of Art. The rooms were purchased when part of the 18th century townhouse was altered for a new road cutting into the square.

  • "I'll never forget It"

    • Myko
    • 7/28/11

    Its a Classic!, I frist seen this movie some 30 years ago, and I have never seen it since, but if you like romance, suspence, drama, and fantacy; its near the top of this genra as I see it. Ty Power, Ann Bythe, and Micheal Rene are magnificent, and this movie won' t disappoint you if you like being with that special someone and cuddling up to a beautiful love story. If anything it will get you a few browie points with ya Girl. Oh by the way when are you going to show this movie on TCM???????

  • I'l Never Forget You

    • Robert Truet
    • 1/21/11

    I watched this wonderful movie for the first time on a small black and whit TV about 1964. It keep me in suspense despite the small13 in screen and interference of "snow: as we used to call it. I was only 11 yrs old ,but I'l tell you this...I d rather watch Tyrone Power on a 5 in screen than any new release movie on a 60 in screen !!!

  • Worth Waiting For but why 4 others?

    • Murray
    • 4/30/10

    After 50 years I have finally been able to watch this on a DVD included in a set of 5 Ty Power movies released last year. Only thing is it cost almost $50 to get a set of films of which this is the only good one.Color a bit splotchy, acting good. Depictions of 18th century London tastefully done. A little static in tone but still worth a watch. Vauxhall Garden scene nice.

  • CAN I EVER SEE THIS FILM AGAIN?????

    • PHILLIP WYVILL-BELL
    • 10/15/09

    I SAW THIS FILM LN THE EARLY 5Os AND IT HAS NEVER BEEN FORGOTTEN. MY FATHER WAS A CINEMA MANAGER AND OF COURSE I SAW A FILM MOST WEEKS. I JUST CANOT FORGET THE HOUSE IN BERKLEY SQUARE AS I REMEMBER THE TITLE? I AM NOW 69 AND WOULD LOVE TO SEE IT AGAIN. AND WATCH IT WITH MY WIFE WHO HAS NEVER HEARD OF IT? WHY IT HAS STUCK IN MY MIND FOR OVER 50 YEARS I REALY DONT KNOW? BUT IF ANY ONE COULD LET ME KNOW HOW TO CATCH IT AGAIN I WOULD BE SO VERY GRATEFULL. I THINK IT WAS POSSIBLY THE FIRST SCIENCE FICTION FILM NOT TO BE LAUGHED AT AS SILLY BUNKUM. AND ALLSO A GREAT LOVE STORY. HELP HELP..............

  • Under-rated film.

    • Jack
    • 9/4/08

    It was originally in color for the back in time scenes and in black and white for the present day scenes. Hopefully that is not lost.

  • A LOVE STORY THAT MEN WILL APPPRECIATE

    • PAUL
    • 3/18/08

    A 1951 FILM WHICH PREDATES ALL TV SCI-FI WORKS LIKE THE "TWILIGHT ZONE."IT IS ALSO A LOVE STORY IN WHICH YOU CAN FEEL THE LOVE PORTRAYED BY THE ACTORS.

  • A Lost Gem

    • Susan
    • 12/28/07

    I last saw this movie (which bears a significant resemblance to "Somewhere in Time" with Christopher Reeve and Jane Seymour) at least 40 years ago, yet I remember it still. About a year ago I searched under its original name, "Berkeley Square," and found it listed here as "I'll Never Forget You." Yet I have not been able to find it on dvd, nor has it been shown on TCM as far as I know. I would LOVE to see it again, and I'm sure many other TCM fans would love to see it also. Please show it, TCM!!

  • searching for years

    • karen micciulli
    • 12/9/07

    I saw this money on the late show in the 60's. I have been looking at the television listings since then to see it again. I know it is not out on dvd. I would love to see it on tcm. Km

  • This movie has something special in it

    • Marian
    • 11/27/07

    I'm so glad I saw this listed on this site. I have wanted to see this movie again since I was a little girl. It's probably been late 50's early 60's since I saw it and was so emotionally effected by it that the thought of it is still eerie. I don't remember much of the movie itself and want to see it on TCM ASAP. Thanks...and thanks for TCM.

  • Enchanting Film

    • Jim
    • 8/19/07

    I saw most of this film many years ago and found it very haunting. The theme of time travel also might be seen to overlap with a sort of reincarnation. Therefore, I feel that there is an advanced spiritual wisdom to many elements of this film, and that it can be understood on more than one level.I am surprised that it is not more widely known.

  • I'll Never Forget This Movie

    • Karen
    • 7/9/07

    This was one of the first movies I saw that suggested time travel. Tyrone Power goes back to 18th Century France and falls in love with Ann Blyth. It was romantic, dramatic, comical; a little of everything. I have never forgotten the ending when he goes back to the 20th Century and finds her grave. She died at age 22. Then Ann Blyth walks up to him and they discuss how sad and what she might have died of. The only other romantic ending that outdid this one was The Ghost & Mrs. Muir.

  • Also known as The House in the Square

    • Ally
    • 5/26/07

    I just watched "The Love Letter" (1998)and was reminded of a similar plot involving an antique desk. I had to do a keyword search for time travel on another site in order to find this title. It was also filmed in 1933 as "Berkeley Square." I haven't seen this movie since the 60's. I hope to get a chance to see it again because it has haunted me the same as "The Uninvited" which I also saw when I was very young.

  • I'LL NEVER FORGET YOU:

    • STEVE
    • 5/6/07

    I REMEMBER THE FIRST TIME I SAW THIS FILM ON ABC 4:30 MOVIE WHEN I LIVED IN NYC EITHER 1969 OR 1970. MY SISTER AND I WAS WATCHING AND IT JUST GOT MORE AND INTERESTING BUT TOWARDS THE END IT WAS GREAT! SORT OF AN EARLY BACK TO THE FUTURE KIND OF FILM I DID CATCH IT AGAIN SEVERAL WEEKS LATER AND WATCHED IT AGAIN.I SPENT ALOT OF TIME SEACHING FOR THE FILM ON VIDEO AND THEN ONE DAY I WAS ABLE TO BUY IT ONLINE FROM A DISTRIBUTOR THAT HAD COPIES OF OLD MOVIES FOR $40.00 THE QUALITY IS SO SO BUT STILL WATCHABLE BUT I AM WAITING TO HAVE A REALLY GOOD COPY ONE DAY IF THE MOVIE WOULD EVER GET RELEASE TO THE PUBLIC.FANTASTIK MOVIE: Tyrone Power and Ann BlythTwo great late actorsSteve:

  • Time travel romance

    • Sally Taylor
    • 6/25/06

    Tyrone Power and Ann Blythe star in a time-travel romance film reminiscent of Christopher Reeve film "Somewhere in Time."

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.