skip navigation
I'll Be Seeing You

I'll Be Seeing You(1944)

  • Friday, January 9 @ 09:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

I'll Be Seeing... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Worthwhile Film

    • David C.
    • 12/21/14

    This film won me over. Fine acting and a deepening relationship between the characters kept me involved. Most surprising was the serious attention to the problems of combat soldiers. Another worthwhile film that TCM has introduced me to. Thanks.

  • Not sure I agree

    • Debra
    • 12/21/14

    I do love this film and agree with what most reviewers have written except for those who have said it was unrealistic that Ginger was convicted. While today she may not have received a sentence for what transpired in her boss's apartment, back in 1944, I think most juries would have been male dominated. I don't find it difficult to believe they would convict her. Even if 1 or 2 women were on the jury, they may have found it hard to believe she didn't know what she was walking into. Therefore, even they may have readily decided Ginger was a woman of, shall we say, ill repute, and convicted her with that belief along with the evidence.

  • Ginger would not have been sent to jail.

    • denscul
    • 12/20/14

    Even in 1944, if the facts presented in the film were correct, the jury most likely, or a pretrial agreement would not have resulted in jail time. Making Rogers out as a more tarnished, but repented women who helps Cotton with his condition of "battle fatigue" or PTSD as its called now, would have made this film better Christmas story as the two help each other. Fine cast and acting. Shirley Temple's post child star career is often overlooked by critics. Perhaps the critics are put off by the nod towards family togetherness and religion. This was during the middle of WWII, when Hollywood went to war to help. Even Playboy Magazine ran a series about his era of helping win a war against tyrants.

  • i'll be seeing you

    • d.earl
    • 8/30/14

    somone said it should be shown at christmas time.there right.dont know how i miss this gem.still dont make much sense how the character got 6yrs for her crime.very much enjoyed shirley temple to.

  • One of the most realisitic warm Christmas Films

    • denscul@shentel.net
    • 8/29/14

    I don't know how a jury could convict Ginger, if what is explained in the film is what actually happened. That is the most hard to buy element in the story. That being said, the part played by Cotton is a great example of the wounds of war that don't show, and how the events of Christmas, an attractive Ginger Rogers, and an almost perfect family help cure Cotton of his wounds. The film is better than all the fluffy so called Christmas films I ever watched.

  • "I be Seeing You"...Again

    • J Damian Abel
    • 7/13/14

    I do not know how I ever missed this movie, another GEM from the Turner Vault that makes paying premium cable worth the money. First, I love how Joseph Cotten played his role that one would never expect, as he is usually more always in a more aggressive -alpha male style, rather than this unexpected understated low key style. Miss Rogers, I had always thought to be more known as a the incredible dance partner to Mr Astaire, with screwball thrown in, which were obviously incredible in their own respect. I would very much like to have seen her in more chances in movie like this one. She is much more deserving of praise of her performance in this film than the critics sometimes describe. Even Shirley Temple and her Mom and Dad were perfect in their roles (Uncle Henry, ..."fine, fine'.) Finally, a setting at Christmas and New Yeras as well as the backdrop of World War Two, make this a perfect drama for the Holidays. Actually, I have seen "It's a Wonderful Life So Many times", though it is one of my favorite movies, I think this would be a perfect pairing with the a aforementioned, seeing we are in war time with so many Soldiers returning home with PTSD. You may think this is simplistic film, and formula driven to tug a few tears, but I really enjoyed this film. Keep up the fantastic work and programming TCM!

  • What a beauty

    • mannyigrejas
    • 3/11/14

    For some reason, I never saw this film, pretty much avoided it despite the fact that it starred three of my favorites, Ginger Rogers, Joseph Cotten and Spring Byington. I guess I expected a shlocky wartime romance. From the first frame I was drawn into its quiet purpose, offbeat take, the integrity of the stars' performances. Each of them does intense interior work, using their magnificent faces as turbulent landscapes. Those eyes! I felt every second of this romance and so glad I finally gave into it.

  • I'll Be Seeing You

    • Love A Good Movie
    • 1/5/13

    Have never seen this movie before. Very good classic movie. Good storyline, good actors. Would really like to see it added to the annual holiday lineup, but not run exclusively at the holidays. I didn't set the DVR, and surely wish I would have now.

  • Show it at holiday time more often

    • Cee good films
    • 1/1/13

    This film should be high on the list each and every Christmas and New Years. Ginger Rogers is totally believable as a beautiful woman on furlough from her stretch in prison. Joseph Cotton represents all the dynamics of today's returning soldiers. This film is beautiful--not depressing but relevant with much humanity and warmth. It is touching and meaningful too.I loved it. A nice change from the usual roundup of repetitious and predictable holiday films.

  • I'll Be Seeing You (1944)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 12/5/11

    Despite being slow-moving, sappy, and slightly depressing, this movie does have enough bright spots to make it watchable. "Since You Went Away," which also came out in 1944, has several of the same cast members - Joseph Cotten, Shirley Temple, and Eddie Hall. ** out of *****

  • ill be seeing you

    • andy
    • 7/1/11

    This was another great movie starring Ginger Rogers, Joseph Cotton and Shirley Temple. It is a touching movie about a troubled girl and a troubled soldier that help each other find themselves again. I have requested the showing of this movie more than once and hope to see it on TCM soon.

  • I LOVE GINGER!

    • JONATHAN
    • 7/31/07

    GINGER ROGERS AND JOSEPH COTTEN STAR IN THIS OUTSTANDING ROMANTIC MOVIE! AS A CONVICT WHO IS RELEASED FROM PRISON FOR CHRISTMAS, GINGER MEETS A SOLDIER WHO IS HAVING A HARD TIME ADJUSTING TO THE WORLD AT WAR. DESPITE THEIR TROUBLES, GINGER AND THE SOLDIER (JOSEPH COTTEN) FALL IN LOVE IN THE LIMITED TIME THEY HAVE TOGETHER. THE BEAUTIFUL GINGER ROGERS AND THE ALWAYS GREAT JOSEPH COTTEN WORK VERY WELL TOGETHER IN THIS FILM. SHIRLEY TEMPLE ALSO DOES A GREAT JOB, AS DOES THE WHOLE CAST. GINGER MADE A LOT OF GREAT MOVIES IN THE 1940'S, AND THIS ONE IS ONE OF HER BEST!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.