skip navigation
Ice Palace

Ice Palace(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Ice Palace - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Memorable movie!

    • Joseph Brush
    • 12/8/13

    I remember Ice Palace fondly as it was shown on TV in the 1960's. Some time ago I purchased a commercial video of the movie and I have been enjoying it again ever since. What a story and cast! Can't wait for the DVD!

  • thought it was just me

    • ralph newton
    • 6/21/13

    Been looking for info about this movie for a long time.Every once in awhile I'd get the nostalgic twing that remembering seeing this movie in the theater always brings,and go looking.finally came across this blog,and gotta' agree.If TCM has rights to it,its a shame their sitting on it.

  • Ice palace

    • Peter O'loughlin
    • 5/20/13

    I saw that movie about 10 to 15 years ago and I enjoyed it so much. Im hearing impaired and really need this movie with english subtitles. If anyone got this movie I would buy it but bear in mind it has to be with english subtitles.

  • Ice Palace

    • Deb
    • 2/19/13

    I really enjoyed reading all of the other requests for TCM to run Ice Palace. I remember watching in the 60s on television and talking and sharing with my friends. We all loved the drama and the little bit of naughty excited us! I'm a young senior now and would love to see this wonderful movie again. Please TCM, listen to all of your followers. Thanks much!

  • Ice Palace

    • Saundra
    • 1/30/13

    I watched this movie so many years ago on TV, when I was in my teens & it has stayed with me. At the time I thought this was a good epic starring some of my favorite actors. I was very impressed with Richard Burton & Robert Ryan. I've been trying for years to find a copy of it. I don't even think it's been on TV since. Would very much love to see TCM show it some time soon.

  • ICE PALACE

    • DEBRA
    • 1/27/13

    I SAW THIS MOVIE WHEN I WAS VERY YOUNG ON TV IT WAS GREAT 10 OR 12 I WAS. I'VE TALKED ABOUT THIS MOVIE TO SO MANY PEOPLE BUT THE ONLY ACTOR I REMEMBERED WAS ROBERT RYAN I THOUGHT THE OTHER ACTOR WAS BRIAN KEITH WHICH LEAD ME TO THE WRONG MOVIE AND GREAT ONE ALASKAN SEAS NOW LOOKING FOR MOVIES SET IN ALASKA I FINALLY FOUND IT..I REMEMBERED THE TWO CHILDREN THEIR DEATHS AND DAUGHTER THEY HAD I WOULD LOVE TO SEE THIS TOUCHING MOVIE AGAIN. TCM PLEASE PLAY THIS MOVIE FOR US TO SEE I WOULD BUY IT IN A MINUTE IF I COULD...

  • ICE PALACE

    • R.P.
    • 12/16/12

    It's a great movie. Wish TCM would show it. Looks like I'm not the only one. I can't understand why it never was released on dvd. Here's hoping someday some smart soul who is control of such things will watch it and get the dvd out there. Better still, on blu ray. Very scenic. Great story, acting etc.

  • ICE PALACE

    • Fred
    • 11/14/12

    What a great movie. Richard Burton and Robert Ryan put on incredible, expansive, and very human performances, set in one of the world's greatest locations, Alaska. TCM should add this movie to its list of must see movies. I hope to see it in their line up very soon. Yesterday was not soon enough.

  • I would llike to see "Ice Palace" (1960) on TCM

    • Jerry A.
    • 10/15/12

    How frustrating it was trying to get to see this movie again after over 50 years. I first saw it on TV in the early 60's when I was a teenager. I'm now a senior citizen and planning an Alaska Cruise next summer. I would love to see this movie on TCM before then...please see what you can do. I feel it was an extremely UNDERATED movie and should be seen by more classic movie fans.

  • "Ice Palace" (1960) D.V.D.

    • Paul Chapman
    • 12/17/11

    I saw this film on t.v. in the early 80's but it has not been shown since then. I think that besides "Becket" (1964) it was one of Richard Burton's finest roles. It is available to buy on the American "Amazon" website but not on the British website. I wonder why? I have looked on a number of websites, but all of them say the same "This item is currently unavailable, and we don't know when it will be available" Could it be something to do with copyright? the story and cast of this film are excellent and I believe it to be an all time "classic" Also the stunning photography is marvellous. When oh, when will it be available in Britain on dvd?

  • ice palace

    • mary thurman
    • 9/23/11

    i've watch this movie as a teenager with my grandmother and its become one of my all time favorite.and i've been watching tmc hopeing that they will play it again someday.

  • Ice Palace

    • Davistaters
    • 2/17/11

    I don't remember the details or even the actors from this film; I only remember that as a teenager seeing it for the first time, I was completely absorbed by this virile epic about families, feuding and pre-statehood Alaska. Based on a novel by Edna Ferber, who also wrote "Giant," "Show Boat," "Dinner at Eight," "Saratoga Trunk," and "Cimarron, it was a magic carpet ride to another time and place. It had for me the same kind of compelling interest as I now find in my favorite BBC productions. I agree with the other reviewers: Let's see it on TCM -- why wait?

  • Ice Palace

    • Kay
    • 2/10/11

    If anyone asks me "What is your favorite movie?" I always say without hesitation "ICE PALACE". Ever since I saw it on TV as a teenager, I have loved this movie. I had a copy on VHS, but it was stolen from my home about 12 years ago and I have not been able to find a copy since then. I know that it may not be available yet on DVD, but what is the problem with TCM showing it on their regular schedule on TV? This is a wonderful movie and should be seen by everyone that chooses.

  • Richard Burton, Diane McBain, Shirley Knight

    • David Atkins
    • 11/19/10

    Richard Burtion with his great charisma dominates the film and is joined by two young WB contract stars, a beautiful Diane McBain who would go on to fame in several WB films, and Shirley Knight who would become one of the screens esteemed actresses. Another WB contractee Ray Danton gives fine support. Vincent Sherman who made so many great films directs this lush film celebrating Alaska.

  • Ice Palace

    • Tom
    • 11/1/10

    What more does Turner Classic Movies want. Richard Burton and Robert Ryan together in a film. One of my favorite films, when I was a child.

  • Ice Palace

    • Debbie
    • 10/10/10

    One of my favorite movies as a young girl. I would love to see it once again. Good story telling. Please TCM, this is a classic and deserves to be show again and again.

  • Ice Palace

    • Marlene
    • 6/15/10

    I loved the generation follow-up and the great scenery of Alaska and it had great Cast of actors.... I cannot understand someone calling this a boring movie.

  • ICE PALACE

    • KAY
    • 8/31/09

    I HAVE BEEN LOOKING FOR THIS MOVIE FOR YEARS, BUT NO LUCK. I HAD A COPY ON VHS BUT IT WAS STOLEN. THIS HAS BEEN MY FAVORITE MOVIE SINCE I FIRST SAW ON TV IN THE 60's. I HAVE OTHER MOVIES THAT I REALLY LIKE, BUT WHEN ASKED WHAT MY FAVORITE MOVIE IS I ALWAYS SAY "ICE PALACE". I HOPE THIS MOVIE COMES OUT ON DVD SOON. I VISITED ALASKA IN 2008 AND I EVEN ASKED THERE FOR THE MOVIE, BUT NO LUCK. TURNER MOVIE CLASSICS WOULS DO WELL TO ADD THIS MOVIE TO THEIR REGULAR LINE-UP OF BROADCASTING. I CAN'T BELIEVE IT HAS NEVER BEEN ON. IT IS DEFINITELY A CLASSIC MOVIE. COME ON TCM, GET WITH THE PROGRAM!

  • Ice Palace

    • Jeannie
    • 7/21/09

    a noteworthy Alaskan epic starring Richard Burton, Robert Ryan and Carolyn Jones that we never see or hear mentioned! Why that is so, I don't know but it is a great movie, good acting, fantastic scenery. I'd love for it to be available for viewing again on TCM and DVD.

  • Alaska's 50 yaers of statehood in 2009

    • Eddy Haynes
    • 10/7/08

    Hello,I may be a little biased, but I think this epic should be released as a DVD soon. Alaska's 50th year of statehood will be celebrated here next year on Jan. 3rd. It had scenes filmed in Juneau, our capital, and the fishing town of Petersburg. I enjoyed the movie in the 1960's and have since lost my vhs copy. I've never seen it broadcasted. My next door neighbor was Dorcas Brower-Thompson. She played Robert Ryan's Eskimo wife briefly. It marks one of George Takai's early jobs. I've been watching the DVD stores for years anxiously awaiting it's release.Sincerely,Eddy HaynesSitka, Alaska

  • More 50's and 60's movies

    • Theresa
    • 12/27/07

    I, like Ms Hubbard, would like to see "Ice Palace". I recently purchased this title on VHS, and the color was very faded, and not as clear as I remembered it being. This would be a wonderful opportunity for Mr. Turner to put his experts to work restoring this wonderful old movie, and bring it back to life. Also I haven't seen "Parrish" or "Susan Slade" lately either. I appreciate the 30's and 40's, but we baby-boomers would like to see some of the movies we went to the theater to see when we were young.

  • One of the Greats

    • Jean B. Mood
    • 12/6/07

    I remember this film as one that left a big impact on my life. This movie showed Alaska in all it's dangerous beauty. One part of this film brought "ooh's" and "ah's" from the teenagers in the theater..when the camera first showed the handsome face of Thor's halfbreed son. I shall mever forget that moment. Until this day, Alaska still captivates my imagination. Please bring this movie back on DVD. Thank you, Jean Mood

  • Let the wait be over!

    • Edith Hubbard
    • 11/30/07

    I count on TCM to show my favorite classic movies and usually you do, but you seem to have forgotten a very important one, "Ice Palace". Please let the wait be over and show this fabulous movie. I would appreciate it if you would let me know by e-mail when it will be on.Sincerely,Edith

  • Why no "Ice Palace" on TCM?

    • Barbara Bell
    • 3/25/07

    I first saw this movie as a youngster, at a theater located on a US Military base located in Germany. I was no older than nine years old and even at that young age was not only captivated by the story, which spans generations and is beautifully told, but also by the majestic, sometimes haunting musical score.I am an avid TCM fan and have been hoping to catch "Ice Palace" on TCM. Please treat us to this wonderful film. It would be great to see an interview with any original cast member!Thank you for your time and consideration. Please let me know by e:mail if and when you will be showing "Ice Palace".Barbara BellMovie Score Enthusiast

  • Ice Palace

    • Jacquie Marshall
    • 2/14/07

    Please show this movie on TCM and let me know by e-mail when it will be on. I loved this movie and have been looking for it for quite awhile. It was one of the great ones. Thank You for your consideration. JM

  • Please Show this movie on TCM

    • Merry Antrim
    • 8/19/06

    This movie is a real soap opera. I remember watching it on our local Seattle TV channel when I was a young girl and loved every scene. Where else can you see Robert Ryan, Carolyn Jones and Richard Burton in one film? I have not seen this movie in over 30 years and would greatly appreciate a TCM showing in 2006 or early 2007. How about a Richard Burton day?

  • Would like TCM to show this movie.

    • Vince Salfi
    • 2/3/06

    I haven't seen this movie in quite a long time.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.