skip navigation
I Love You, Alice B. Toklas!

I Love You, Alice B. Toklas!(1968)

Contribute

FOR I Love You, Alice B. Toklas! (1968) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

I Love You,... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • An Essential for Whom?

    • MKDO
    • 6/22/14

    The standard has degenerated so much this season. How does a mishmash like this qualify for "The Essentials"? Sellers keeps losing his LA Jewish boy accent and the script is more like a series of set pieces strung together from an ancient Sid Caesar show. The brownie-chewing scene is so over the top it's a wonder they didn't resort to having brownie spittle running down chins. No reason this movie should ever have been made, and I feel for Robert Osborne for having to okay it to keep peace with his co-host. But please, we rely on you, Bob, so much so that we think our admiration merits your highest level of integrity on our behalf. Just pleading for a return to real quality, and thanking you in advance.

  • I Love you, Alice B. Toklas

    • Goetan
    • 6/22/14

    The film that capitalized on the free-love hippie philosophy. Sellers is stellar as a henpecked lawyer who becomes drawn into the hippie culture, populated by an assortment of mindless stereotypes. The film gets weak at times but scenes with Sellers' car trapped and the family eating pot brownies are hilarious. Not great as a whole, but good for it's individual scenes. I give it a 3/5.

  • BASTA!!!

    • Dan Hand
    • 6/21/14

    No one who selects this film as an "Essential" is qualified to co-host TCM's series on the same with Robert Osborne! Please, make this season Drew Barrymore's last stand on TCM!!

  • I Agree With Drew -- this is an essential

    • Jeanne
    • 6/21/14

    I first saw this movie in the early 1980's and I just love it! Being a child of the 60's, it's great to go back to this time period. I am not a big fan of the Pink Panther movies, but this movie and "Being There" are my favorite Peter Sellers movies.

  • sellers the real king of comedy

    • steven
    • 6/2/12

    the man could not make a bad movie in my opinion & this is one of his best , hope you all get a chance to see this great flick

  • alice b. rocks my world

    • molly t. tokemore
    • 4/3/11

    Love peter sellers esp this movie which has a vry special place in my heart. Worth seeing at least once. To me and mine this movie is special! I give it 5 stars..always a classic.

  • Not the Pink Panther

    • Dean
    • 4/3/11

    Peter Sellers made many movies in his career, all bombs, with the notable exception of the Pink Panther series. British film critics considered him a talentless hack, without any gift for comedy. In fact, it was only by a miracle that he landed the part that made him a legitimate star as the Inspector in those films. That was largely due to the genius of Blake Edwards. Bad British actors seem to shine in American films. But since this is not a Pink Panther film, avoid it (and all other Sellers movies) like the plague.

  • Lots of Love for Peter Sellers and Alice B. Toklas

    • Tom Bodensick
    • 4/1/11

    I'm not sure which movie Jay was watching that led to his mediocre review, but he is soooo wrong. Sellers has never been better or funnier, and Leigh Taylor Young is "to die for." From the moment Sellers gets stuck with driving the psychedelic station wagon to accidently introducing his very straight parents to those special "brownies," this movie is a work of art and funny as hell. This movie is dated, yes, but from a period which gave us some of the coolest and wildest 60's pictures. "I Love You..." along with movies like Wild in the Streets (a 24 year old rock star becomes president of the U.S. after psyching out everyone over 30 on LSD), Riot on Sunset Strip (a movie I wish Turner would show...PLEASE!) that had music by the Chocolate Watch Band and Standells, PsychOUT with a very cool Jack Nicholson and music by Sky Saxon and the SEEDS, The Trip with Peter Fonda, and along with Riot on Sunset Strip another rare film, 3 In The Attic starring Christopher Jones...all dated, yes, but incredible, and cool films. Sorry Jay, if you missed the 60's...but it was soooo cool.

  • I Love You, Alice B. Toklas (1968)

    • Jay
    • 12/17/08

    Very dated, but that also makes it rather interesting. Not one of Peter Sellers' best comedies, but it is amusing. Leigh Taylor-Young is very good and well cast. A bit kooky.

  • Alice B. Toklas

    • Bill HUNER
    • 4/13/08

    A very, very, funny movie. If you are a Peter SELLERS fan, you're gonna love this one!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.