skip navigation
The Hurricane

The Hurricane(1937)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Hurricane - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • True special effects!

    • RedRain
    • 5/30/13

    Having been born and raised on Galveston Island more than 60 years ago, and having been through my share of hurricanes, this film is simply astounding in its depiction of the true effects of a terrible hurricane. I've seen this film dozens of times and I am still amazed that these effects were done in 1937, as they are so true to life that you cannot fathom any film today, even with CGI, doing any better than this. I am particularly fond of Raymond Massey's performance here, as he is an autocratic no-mercy politician and he plays this role to perfection. You despise him for what he believes in and that is the mark of an exceptional actor. I love this film and I always have.

  • Greatness in 1937

    • herb patchell
    • 5/18/13

    I have seen the Hurricane at least 20 times beginning when I was a youngster in the early 1940s. Over the years I have shown my copy of this film to several people all of whom are movie lovers but had never heard of this film. Every person who has seen it was blown away.I rank it as one of the greatest films of its time and the special effects created for the long section covering the great hurricane in my opinion still have not been surpassed. Excellent acting, a magnificent sound track, a courageous script and forward-looking issues make this a film that should be seen by every film aficionado. Thomas Mitchell and C. Aubrey Smith are exceptional and Dorothy Lamour is at her most gorgeous. The film is well-edited and amazingly timeless. It ranks even compared with any movie of any era A .

  • Amazing Special Effects

    • I_Fortuna
    • 1/11/13

    Although there are a couple of weak moments in this film they are few. The special effects are truly a masterpiece in every way for any day and age. This is only the second time I have seen this movie and it still kept me on the edge of my seat biting my nails. This is very worthwhile viewing.

  • THE HURRICANE (1937)

    • Michael Steven
    • 2/23/12

    In her book"A LIFE ON FILM",Mary Astor described her experience making this film as DIFFICULT.And John Ford,as being just as difficult.I came across this film a few years ago.WITHOUT A DOUBT,the storm sequence in this film is AWESOME!!!! I'm not going to give anything away,but seeing is believing.For 1930's technology,it's INCREDIBLE.The cast is just as great as the movie is.Dorothy Lamour is GORGEOUS.Jon Hall,C.Aubrey Smith,Thomas Mitchell,Raymond Massey,John Carradine.Not that it matters,but Mary Astor was a redheaded woman,for those of you who didn't know.And YES,she happens to be my FAVORITE.She had a VERY interesting career,a VERY interesting life.When you have time,read a few of her books.You might enjoy them.When you have time,WATCH THIS FILM.YOU WILL ENJOY IT.

  • Sensational South-Seas Cinema

    • Ballyelm
    • 7/21/11

    Incredible special effects that are still superior to the vast majority of CG graphics of 2011.Escapism? Sure, but a strong message is made, one which has been repeated so many timesit is a cliche, now, but this was 1937. The writers, (of the novel) had strong political convictions, and their viewof justice is evident as it is in Mutiny on the Bounty, their other classic.Nordhoff and Hall both lived in Polynesia; Hall was an uncle of the movie's star, Jon Hall.Raymond Massey, Thomas Mitchell, and the incredibly beautiful, Dorothy Lamour, were outstandingin their roles.

  • The Hurricane (1937)

    • Mark Sutch
    • 4/14/11

    ***1/2

  • Filme nota 10

    • Sonia
    • 10/29/10

    Se eu pudesse daria 10 estrelas para este filme. Classico de John Ford impressiona pela qualidade tanto do elenco quanto do realismo do filme. Parece que vc est vivendo aquela situao do Furaco e isso torna o filme fascinante. S John Ford mesmo para fazer um filme assim em 1937. Nota 10.

  • The Hurricane

    • Thomas Lansen
    • 8/9/10

    Once again, John Ford has taken us from our humdrum lives to a dreamland (like Innishfree in The Quiet Man), and given us a quiet hero and an exquisite heroine to fill the fantasy. Jon Hall is lovable and athletic as an island ingenu, and Dorothy Lamour is absolutely delicious as his Polynesian bride. The music is exquisite (Alfred Newman) -- the Moon of Manakura is haunting. The usual archetypal villains (John Carradine, Raymond Massey) do their best to ruin the romance, but fate and nature intervene. Though, as in many Ford vehicles (e.g.-- Stagecoach), the deus-ex-machina deliverance is a rather large pill to swallow, all of we fans who drink Ford's Kool-Aid, don't mind a bit. It's a pip of a movie. Don't miss it when it is shown on TCM, and agitate for its addition to Home Video.

  • The Hurricane (1937)

    • Debra
    • 7/21/10

    I am amazed that, in 1937, they were able to produce a film with such realistic depictions of the hurricane. Trees being uprooted and roofs being torn apart by the wind, Buildings being destroyed by the storm surge, specifically the church. It was an amazing movie to watch.

  • The Hurricane

    • Steve
    • 7/21/10

    This has been the least noticed film of director John Ford's carrier. It is relatively unknown. Hopefully it will not stay that way. This is a must see for anyone. I would particularly recommend this to film buffs and as proof that live action photography, shot well, truly is more pleasing and realistic than CGI, at least till this time.This film starts with an excellent screenplay, adds a superb cast who performs their parts convincingly, combined with a final storm sequence that would still put almost any movie storm sequence to shame, from any time. That this storm sequence looks so real (except for a few close ups of falling timbers on victims) is truly amazing, since it was all shot on a studio back lot with huge wind machines and thousands of gallons of water. CGI at this time cannot match the realism of this cinema-photography. Truly impressive. Even more impressive for 1937.

  • The hurricane

    • seader
    • 7/17/10

    Probably the most underated and forgotten movies of all time.Great actors,story,action scenes,music ,etc .The type of picture that leaves you in tears for the hardship and injustice suffered by this islands people.I hope TCM makes this film avaiable for purchase soon,I would like one of the first copies

  • adventure

    • cris
    • 4/15/09

    good story. beautiful leads

  • Romance and adventure

    • Priscilla
    • 6/24/08

    I always look forward to watching "The Hurricane" whenever it is presented on TCM. My father was an extra on this film and many others shown on TCM. I always eagerly await to catch a glimpse or if I am lucky a few minutes of my father in the background. What a thrill it must have been for him to work with such unforgetable actors and directors of that era.Thank you for keeping these memories alive!

  • Awesome

    • Cor Tenhage
    • 6/2/08

    When this movie was first shown my wife was only 4 weeks old in 1937. When we saw it for the first time a few years ago. we both felt rather embarrased as we had backed up against the very back of the chesterfield while watching the last 20 minutes of the movie. I was so happy to see that it would be shown again.

  • Great Old Movie

    • Gary
    • 5/17/07

    I too only saw the last hour or so of this movie and was quite impressed . So many of the old time stars in one movie , although the real star of this movie was Mother Nature , how incredible the scenes were in the last 20 minutes . How unfortunate that this movie is unavailable , either on video or DVD . I guess I'll have to be patient until the end of August when it's on again .

  • The Hurricane

    • Mary
    • 2/5/07

    I only saw the last 40 mins of this 1937 movie, The Hurricane, and was mesmerized by it! Please show it again and have it available to be release on Home Video.

  • The Hurricane Great Timing

    • Jim
    • 5/8/06

    I caught only the ending of The Hurricane. For a movie produced in 1937, the effects were incredible. And what a great time to play it as we head for another hurricane season.Please play it again and let me know. JP

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.