skip navigation
Hot Spell

Hot Spell(1958)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Hot Spell - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Hot Spell

    • Debbi
    • 12/7/12

    I just had the good fortune, after checking for the 100th time, to see this movie on YouTube. When I first signed up for TCM years ago, I was and still am disappointed that this movie is never played. It is one of my absolute and all time favorite classics. Shirley Booth, Anthony Quinn, Eileen Heckart, the entire cast is absolutely marvelous. The themes in this movie are timeless...from "stand by your man" to "turning a blind eye" to "mid-life crisis". Please TCM, show this fantastic movie for all the world to see and see again and again!

  • Americana

    • Ariana A. Losco
    • 8/15/12

    When I first saw hot spell it was in the early 70's, I was 6, I would stay up late watching old black and white movies on the late late show. In my room under the covers when the house was a sleep. if I had gotten caught i would have been in trouble.But I didnt care it was worth it. the movies were real life too me and a escape. so much better then the boring world i lived in.shirley booth reminded me of my own mother being run down by her acholholic husband. Hot Spell is real Americana a cross section of its time and place. the pains of a famly. made real with all isshadows and turns. rings true thats why its a classic. Thanks Ariana

  • Hot Spell the rarely seen deep south potboiler

    • Riley Motormack
    • 1/11/11

    Rarely seen deep south potboiler directed by Daniel Mann. Once shown by TCM now now longer. Why is unknown. Slackness of programmers is assumed by this reviewer. Film should be procured and aired by TCM. Hostilities to this suggestion is incomprehensible.

  • Hot Spell

    • Stacey
    • 9/6/10

    Hot Spell is one of the best movies I have ever seen. Magnificent performance by Shrley Booth and Anthony Quinn. So why is it not being shown?

  • Hot Spell

    • Mirna
    • 7/16/10

    Please show Hot Spell on TV, love the movie, it is one of my favorites, should be on DVD, I would buy it. Love it. It is a great performance with Shirley Booth and Anthony Quinn, two of my favorite actors. Can't wait to watch.

  • Time to feature Hot Spell

    • Jackie
    • 11/1/09

    Why haven't TMC featured Hot Spell with Shirley Booth and Anthony Quinn. Please feature soon. Excellent movie.

  • PLEASE SHOW THIS WONDERFUL FILM SOON

    • Jackie
    • 8/23/09

    GREAT MOVIE, REALLY WANT TO SEE IT AGAIN

  • Play The Hot Spell Play The Hot Spell

    • Deborah Chappell
    • 7/13/09

    I am begging you to play The Hot Spell! It's been a very long time since I've seen it. I will always rate it as one of my favorite movies.

  • One of the most memorable pictures ever

    • bill kavanaugh
    • 11/28/08

    The last time I saw this movie was over twenty years ago. A uniquely told story that reflects a rarely told theme that mirrors the reality of many lives..... those in the movie and those in the audience. The movie has replayed (in my mind) thousands of times and I long to see it again. Won't you please let this movie be seen....it's a significant work and it's relevance is never ending.

  • Please play HOT SPELL

    • CJJ
    • 3/31/08

    I would like to second the recommendaton to play HOT SPELL -- great story, and arguably one of Shirley Booth's best! Since it is not released on DVD or VHS, we depend upon TMC to show!

  • rated highly, would love to see in line up again

    • Dianne
    • 1/17/08

    This film, along with Come Back Little Sheba and two of the best, yet they are rarely seen on TCM...WHY??

  • Love Hot Spell

    • Susan
    • 12/16/07

    Please play/release Hot Spell again. It is rarely on TCM. It is my favorite movie and I never get a chance to see it.Thank you, Susan

  • Love that drama noire

    • Jackie
    • 8/17/07

    Excellent movie is you love the dramas with great acting and want to see several stars before they became ultra famous. It's a keeper! Shirley Booth and Anthony Quinn are an excellent contrasting pair in this one.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.