skip navigation
Horror of Dracula

Horror of Dracula(1958)

  • Tuesday, October 28 @ 03:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Horror of Dracula The legendary count tries to... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $27.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Puts the bite into the Dracula story...

    • Graham Thomas
    • 10/11/13

    Can you imagine what it feels like to be walking home from the movies through the dusk of a Saturday afternoon in October, leaves swirling around your feet, knowing you are about to die?!?! Better start to run.. You must get home before dark! The heart pounding through your chest, utter fear grips you...Vivid, graphic, streamlined telling of the tale, don't turn the lights out......

  • Horror of Dracula

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/17/12

    The best film from "Hammer Horror." Both Cushing & Lee give amazing performances as an expert vampire hunter & the iconic count respectively. The story is altered to accommodate "Hammer's" criteria for blood & sex. A unique telling of Stoker's story, but always entertaining. I give it a 4/5.

  • Fabulous!

    • Princess Ananka
    • 10/17/12

    This is a great example of a very rare remake that can hold its own with the original.Both this 1958 version of Dracula and its l930 original can both be watched and be thrilled.In the Hammer version, we're given stunning color, sets, lighting, script, musical score and best of all a phenomenal cast.Even if we can't see this on a big movie screen, it can hold its on a TV screen. Each of the marvelous performers were veteran stage standouts, some performing Shakespeare, and they knew how to deliver their lines and perform.My favorites are Carol Marsh as the doomed Lucy ("Let's go for a little walk!") and John Van Eyssen, as the tall, elegant Jonathan Harker character. Just watch his eyes bulge in horror when he beholds a blood-dripping, crimson eyed Dracula (played with marvelous over-the-top intensity by Christopher Lee.And that musical score by James Bernard sends chills up your spine--one of the very best scorings in movie history.This is a classic that only grows better with each passing year--and makes one nostalgic for those glorious days when Hammer Studios was giving us one fabulous shocker after another.P.S. If you like this one, you should definitely check out THE BRIDES OF DRACULA--a thriller that can match this one easily.

  • Lee and Cushing

    • Linda
    • 10/15/12

    The atmospheric flavor of Hammer Horror..The color,lighting,costumes,and sets can only be made better with Peter Cushing and Christopher Lee as the focal points. Hammer Horror, in my eyes, has always been the best in the genre.And Hammer Horror staring Cushing and Lee is the cream of the crop.

  • Don't Turn the Lights Out!

    • Graham Thomas
    • 10/14/12

    Best and most vivid depiction of the elements in the Dracula story, sorry, Bela. It could be argued the oldies were more atmospheric, largely due to the black and white palette, but I'll take vivid in this case. Truly a classic.

  • Excellent 'Dracula' movie

    • Dan Grissom
    • 8/12/12

    Peter Cushing as Professor Van Helsing and Christopher Lee as Count Dracula; what more could you ask for? These two actors, especially Cushing, really turn in great performances in an interesting retake on Bram Stoker's novel. Being in color helps this film but I think it could have been better if Hammer had some more money to spend in making it. Still it's a very entertaining film. Four stars.

  • Classic Retelling of Dracula(1958)

    • nshepard
    • 12/27/11

    Best viewed on the largest screen possible,"Horror of Dracula" is the model in which Hammer used to develop its horror/monster series. Not unlike Universal, Hammer studios tapped into a new audience with a fresh approach at its; story-telling, and the audiences loved it ! With Dracula(Christopher Lee) larger than life, pitted against the wits of Van Helsing(Peter Cushing) it all adds up to a rousing climatic battle inside the castle of Dracula. Awesome...Two top notch Actors at the top of their game,(close friends in real life), the chemistry shines through, and the viewer gets the full benefit. The story goes Dracula has munchies for some of the local women, and the townsfolk aren't happy about their girls being used in such a disgusting manner. Enter Peter Cushing, one of the Greatest Actors of all time, and you have a lively mix . Technicolor, great script, top notch music score, a wonderful time.Great Direction by Terence Fisher. of Bond fame, too.Highly recommended. 5 stars out of 5. I would give it more but then ...

  • Awesome Hammer Horror

    • R. Craft
    • 10/18/11

    The best I have ever seen this title. I subscribe to TCM HD and the print on Horror of Dracula was absolutely stunning. I have never seen the colors so vibrant. Can't wait to see the other upcoming Hammer Horrors the same way. WoW!!

  • Planetary Alignment

    • Paul Schifino
    • 9/28/11

    Cushing, Lee, Fisher... what else can I say? I love this movie. It is so atmospheric, has such great saturated color, and such suspense. October is always my favorite month, and I squeal whenever I see that Horror of Dracula is listed on TCM. I Love it!

  • Great Drac Flick

    • Bart
    • 10/31/10

    Loved both Lee and Cushing,both incredible actors.Prefer them to other Dracula films.

  • Stake-

    • Nell
    • 10/31/10

    Grat movie,grat casting of both Lee and Cushing,both great actors.

  • British chills

    • Reynard
    • 10/1/10

    This was the first time I was really scared of Dracula. Saw it the first time in Seattle during the world's fair in 1962. Those red contact lenses really did the thing for Chris Lee. Stylish and scarry.

  • Horror of Dracula

    • Connie
    • 9/16/10

    I love this movie! Peter Cushing is fantastic as Van Helsing & Christopher Lee also gives a great performance as well. I can watch this anytime and never get tired of it!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.