skip navigation
Home from the Hill

Home from the Hill(1960)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Home from the Hill A southern landowner's... MORE > $4.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • 06-18-13

    • Ruth
    • 6/18/13

    Wow! I loved this movie from begining to end. Superb story and acting-- I will recommend this one to all friends and family.

  • From Beginning to End

    • Christine
    • 6/18/13

    I finally saw this movie last night from beginning to end and absolutely loved it. All the performances were top notch and the story very compelling. Eleanor Parker was lovely and her character proved to be a decent and moral person. The two George's were very good, and the young George Peppard looked a little bit like a young Brad Pitt, just gorgeous. I loved the whole southern feel to this film, very authentic. A wonderful movie, and am so happy I finally saw the whole thing. Thank you TCM for Eleanor Parker month too. She's wonderful.

  • Home From the Hill

    • I_Fortuna
    • 6/18/13

    Terrific movie! Well written and captivating, this film held my interest all the way through to the end. Never too gritty or taxing this movie is worth watching. George Hamilton really shows that he has wonderful talent. I am glad he was cast in this roll and it was a pleasure to see him. The entire cast was a great pick.

  • Home from the Hill

    • Julie Flowers
    • 6/5/12

    This quaint movie was filmed in Oxford, MS (Ole Miss) while my parents were students there. My mother was an extra in the drugstore scene, but they cut it out. She said all the girls were wild for George Peppard.

  • An unsung must-see

    • JK
    • 3/8/12

    As a teenager who saw this on TCM some years ago, I have to say that this film has never left my memory. Home From the Hill is a powerful story with superb acting - Robert Mitchum, Eleanor Parker and a (young!) George Peppard were absolutely stunning in their roles. There are few movies that really move you with steadfastly principled characters, and I absolutely recommend this to those looking for one.

  • Great movie

    • margaret
    • 8/7/11

    Please consider showing this movie, I remember seeing it in the movie theater and fell in love with it. Have always wanted to see it again. Young George Peppard and George Hamilton were the two I fell in love with. Great movie and would LOVE to see it again.

  • Great Movie

    • Gail
    • 5/26/11

    Lanza is great!!!

  • Wonderful Movie

    • Gail
    • 5/26/11

    Have not seen this movie since the theater presentation. A very emotional story line at its time. Please schedule viewing on TCM to honor Robert Mitchum or George Peppard. Please, Please. Great story line and wonderful performances.

  • "That's sulphur bottom..."

    • el debbo
    • 5/23/11

    I love this movie, as do many other reviewers. Love Mitchum

  • Esplendido

    • Sonia
    • 11/8/10

    Um dos melhores flmes dramticos que vi com Vincente Minelli dirigindo um elenco de peso. Um filme muito bom com Robert Mitchum.

  • Minnelli, Peppard and Mitchum Shine

    • David Atkins
    • 11/2/10

    Vincente Minnelli a grand artist of MGM musicals created here a brilliant film of the Texas Hill Country. Bravo Minnelli. Robert Mitchum and Eleanor Parker two professionals star and MGM cast contract stars George Hamilton, Luana Patten and most effectively George Peppard (who would go on to movie super stardom in How The West Was Won and Operation Crossbow at MGM and on loan out to Paramount for Breakfast At Tiffany's, and The Carpetbaggers and to Columbia for Carl Foreman's all star The Victors).I liked this film, and a special bow to Minnelli who was out of the sounstage and in West Texas. A real artist. This is a great movie.

  • One of Mitchum's finest films

    • D.R. Miner
    • 9/7/08

    Along with a superior cast, the story line has it all. I will purchase this film without fail. When living in S.Florida, I used to see this movie 2 or 3 times a year. But have not seen it since moving. I love it, and hope to have it to see again soon. Robert Mitchum has been a favorite actor of mine since I was a little girl. I am now 51 years old. There are so many awesome classics. Looking forward to seeing "The Misfits" again soon. Thanks. D.

  • My husband favorite Movie

    • Pam
    • 1/4/08

    I was thrilled to find this movie on DVD. It's my husband and my favorite movie. He really related to the story line and especially Robert Mitchum's role as the Capt. It was much better than the book. Wonderful movie.

  • saw this when I was a kid

    • anne
    • 10/7/07

    it was on tv and I LOVED both george peppard and george hamilton what hotties!!!

  • Good Movie

    • Pat Harris
    • 7/7/07

    I saw this movie when it first came out and was so impressed with it that I went home and got my parents and we went to see it. They liked it just as much as I did. It isn't really shown very much, so I have only seen it a few times since but have always enjoyed it. George Peppard was so endearing in his role. I fell hard for him. Worth seeing!

  • One not to be missed!

    • kathy
    • 1/24/07

    Great movie haven't seen in years, great plot well acted and very romantic and sexy! A definate must see!!!!!!!!

  • A Movie Worth Watching....

    • Jeannette Bennett
    • 1/23/07

    This is one of the best love dramas with an all star cast. A movie that will give you something to talk about for a long time. It is a well enjoyed movie for everyone and you will not guess the plot.

  • Home from the Hill

    • Gail
    • 10/12/06

    I saw this movie years ago and would like to see it again. This film is wonderful and very well acted. The entire cast is superb....Robert Mitchum, Eleanor Parker, George Peppard and George Hamilton. Robert Mitchum and George Peppard are at their best. This film should definitely be released out on DVD!!! I highly recommend it.

  • GREAT MOVIE!

    • nita
    • 7/9/06

    This is one the best movies I have ever seen,maybe the best movie I have ever seen! Superb storyline and some of the best acting I have ever seen.Great,great movie I can't find the words to do it justice!

  • Home From the Hill

    • Iris
    • 3/26/06

    I have seen this movie several times and have never been bored. Each roll is a starring role. I would love to have it on DVD!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.