skip navigation
Holy Matrimony

Holy Matrimony(1943)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Holy Matrimony An artist returning from years... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Holy Matrimony

    • Ponder Bleu
    • 2/7/12

    I didn't know this movie exsisted and loved watching it February the 5th. Can you tell me it will be aired againg? A friend is a huge Mony Woolley. I didn't know it was going to be aired until minutes before it came on and I didn't have time to set the DVD recorder. My friend doesn't have cable, so I want to record it for her and would need to know if and when it will be on again. Since it isn't available on DVD, I will have to record it for her. Thank you!

  • found at last

    • Dan Donovan
    • 2/7/12

    I saw this film on late night TV years ago and have been looking for it ever since. After trying all the retail movie sites, including TCM to no avail, I became convinced that it was lost forever since nobody seemed to have heard of it.So glad to see it finally show up, however to my dismay, I missed seeing it when TCM ran it last week. Maybe they will show it again someday.Dan Donovan

  • "Holy Matrimony"

    • carole
    • 2/6/12

    I loved this film. It was clever and witty. The story, the performances the dialoge all first rate. You won't find anything as charming in the 2012 Oscar noms. Play it again TCM.

  • holy matrimony

    • Tom
    • 2/5/12

    **** I liked this film alot. First time I saw it. An appealing movie thats starts moving once Gracie Fields character entered.

  • A treasure of a movie

    • Rosemary Osterhus
    • 2/5/12

    Loved everything about this movie. Show it again, TCM!

  • Holy Matrimony

    • Fred Carroll
    • 2/5/12

    The most superb acting, dialogue and casting you could ask for. How wonderful to be able to hear whats being said without over powering back ground music. Monty Woolley was as superb as he was in "The Man Who Came to Dinner"not to mention Gracie Fields. A must see movie.

  • Pure Delight

    • Dr J. Grant
    • 2/4/12

    Just viewed this film on TCM and LOVED it. Plot was clever enough; however, it was the acting, particularly that of Monty Wooley, that brought the whole piece to life. I was so taken with the movie that, when I was deprived of seeing the end, vie spent the last half hour trying to find how the court case was resolved. Thanks to TCM for providing the plot summary so now I can visualize our happy couple living in blissful anonymity in the jungle. Still, I'd watch it again were it available - it's a keeper!

  • Vote for HOLY MATRIMONY

    • Paula Schram
    • 5/20/08

    I taped this film on Beta from the old Turner Movie Channel about fifteen years ago, and have not seen it aired since then. For classic movie lovers this is a great pity, as this gem starring Monty Woolley (need I say more?) is a very funny English comedy of confused identities. Monty Woolley is at his drollest, and the rest of the cast (including Laird Kreiger) is superb. Please help me out, and do yourselves a favor, by voting for TCM to air this forgotten gem. Vote also for it to be released on DVD. You are in for a treat if TCM takes heed. Thank you.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.