skip navigation
Holiday Affair

Holiday Affair(1949)

  • Thursday, December 11 @ 09:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Sunday, December 21 @ 04:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Thursday, December 25 @ 12:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Holiday Affair A young widow is torn between... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $14.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • How could anyone overlook this!?

    • Fred
    • 12/17/13

    Amid all the commentary over this simple, lovable yarn.....not one single comment was made over ..... the TRAIN! As a baby boomer who loved toy trains all my life, I noticed the train that little Timmy received (and clumsily broke in his trek back to the department store!) was a highly collectible Lionel Santa Fe Superchief decorated with the classic Warbonnet (red, yellow, silver) color scheme. I would have given my right arm to have one of those as a kid (I was about Timmy's age in 1949)! Probably, when Steve, Connie and Timmy were settled in California in an upper middle class suburb of L.A., Steve and Timmy did what any self respecting father and stepson team would do: They built a big Lionel train layout in their den!

  • One of the Best Holiday Movies!

    • Maria Ramos
    • 9/6/13

    First time seeing this movie and I loved it. How refreshing a Holiday movie about giving instead of getting. Love to see a young Janet Leigh and a loving caring Robert Mitchum! Gerbet, a real scene stealer. I hope to see A Holiday Affair played more often during the Holiday season!

  • One of the Funniest Movies ever made

    • thevanishinglady
    • 5/1/13

    How this is not considered as iconic a holiday movie as miracle on 34th street or it's a wonderful life???...so so funny, and sweet. Gordon Gebert as little Timothy steals every scene he's in...but every one is pretty much at the top of their game: Janet Leigh, Wendell Cory & Robert Mitchum. Harry Morgan's cameo at the police station on Xmas morning is hilarious...(A girl...with a balloon on her head!) So grateful to tcm for airing this every CHristmas now, and so sorry I didn't discover until a couple of years ago.

  • favorite holiday movie

    • Ruth
    • 12/16/12

    i discovered this little gem a few years ago and have made sure to watch it every holiday season. Robert Mitchum is one of my favorite actors and I liked this movie because it cast him against type to all his film noir movies. This movie is just charming and harks back to a simpler time and place. Love this movie!

  • Just watched

    • Adam
    • 5/25/12

    This past Christmas was the first time I watched this film and I really enjoyed it... Classic holiday movie.

  • I Love this Movie

    • Denise
    • 1/6/12

    I love this movie because it is essentially about the sweetness of finding love when you least expect it or think you don't even want it. The chemistry between Connie and Steve was intense. It took Steve one afternoon to see through Connie's "wall", which is why she is both intrigued and attracted to Steve, yet scared of him as well. Carl was willing to wait patiently while she continued to keep him at a distance and he never figured her out. Steve Mason is no bum. He is a war veteran who has a plan and a goal for his future. While he was risking his life in the war, Carl was safely in law school. Connie doesn't respect or admire Carl. He is so bland and without passion, that it takes him TWO YEARS to figure out that Connie is not in love with him. He never even gets angry in the courtroom scene when it is obvious that there are real feelings between Connie & Steve. Instead he agrees to DEFEND Steve. He should want to ring his neck with the "loud" tie (that was supposed to be for him) that is a symbol of Connie's "wild & firey love" as Mother Ennis later says. Connie is desperate to "feel" again even though it scares her to death. I think Janet Leigh's choice to wring her hands, tug at her hair, and nervously hug her own body many times was a brilliant way to show her conflicted emotions through body lanuguage. The only time she actually says how she feels is after she returns from the park and everyone is grilling her about Steve and she says "he's going to California and I'm never going to see him again, so you can all stop worrying about him."Moving to CA in 1949 was a stoke of genius because that state experienced boom times in the 50' and 60's. I could see the boat building business becoming very successful. Steve & Connie marry and have more kids and by 1962, Timmy is sufing with the Beach Boys!

  • Rather shallow, but likable.

    • Griff
    • 12/24/11

    The entire story line as a whole is rather unbelievable... a young widow fixated on her deceased husband that allows a drifter to occupy her life, a little boy with filled with over-the-top cuteness and pep, and a serious boyfriend that accepts with a tad too much sophistication the fact that he's being replaced by a bum. But of course, this is fiction, so we'll allow such liberal fantasy. All in all though, the movie somehow works, and the 'courtroom' scene in particular is quite hilarious. Definitely worth watching during the holidays.

  • Holiday Affair (1949)

    • Mr. Blandings
    • 12/19/11

    Janet Leigh has her mid-life crisis early and chooses creepy drifter Robert Mitchum over staid Wendell Corey. The seriousness of the whole (gasp!) "comparison shopper" thing leave you kind of scratching your head but I guess you had to be there. Kind of a depressing movie on the whole.

  • Holiday Affair~ Superb Christmas Movie

    • Carolyn
    • 11/14/11

    I watched this movie for my first time on TCM a few years ago and feel in love with it.The movie is brilliant and very enjoyable. I bought it on DVD last year!!My fav Christmas Movie!!

  • Charming!

    • Linda
    • 12/6/10

    I eagerly look forward to this movie every holiday season! It's a wonderful, heart warming story. I love that Connie (Janet Leigh) takes a chance on the more adventurous Steve (Robert Mitchum). Mitch is great in this movie. A holiday classic in my film library!

  • Yin and Yang

    • Marsha
    • 12/5/09

    I agree the wrong guy gets the girl. While I thinkMitchum is handsome and sexy, Corey has a boyishcharm and much more likely to go the distance.

  • Awesome Movie!!!

    • Jenna
    • 12/10/08

    This is such a drastically different role for Mitchum, but he still does an excellant job. Hes really funny in this. It is a heartwarming love story for Christmas.

  • My favorite Christmas movie.

    • Lenny
    • 12/24/07

    Christmas isn't Christmas without this movie and Miracle on 34th St. I would like to see it colorized.

  • Much superior to Miracle on 34th St.

    • Merk
    • 12/23/07

    Well written, with interesting plot twists. Janet Leigh is irrestible and a much better actress than Maureen O'Hara. I wish it would play more often!

  • DON'T LIKE!!!

    • Ginger
    • 12/23/07

    Awful and depressing....Yuck....Robert Mitchum is AWFUL!!! So is Janet! When I first saw it, I thought that it was okay..But when I watched it again, I got so depressed I didn't even want to see Mitchum or Janet again. It didn't have enough Christmas spirit!!!!

  • Great film for the holiday!

    • Sloan
    • 12/20/07

    "Holiday Affair" is one of the sweetest holiday films out there. I just discovered it last christmas and instantly fell in love with the film. Its a lovely film with a lovely cast and story. Its a shame it hasnt been released on DVD. If you ever have the chance to see this film, do it! You will have not regrets.

  • Excellent Movie!

    • Kerry
    • 12/9/07

    I saw this movie the Christmas of 2005 while visiting my parents. I couldn't remember the name but the great members of this website helped me! This movie has been my ritual every Christmas! I'm keeping my fingers crossed that the DVD version will soon become available!

  • Wonderful Christmas Classic

    • Art Ciccarelli
    • 11/15/07

    A romantic comedy that begins a week before Christmas and ends on a train New Years Eve.This film is suitable for the entire family and is my list of holiday classics.

  • Such a sweet movie!

    • KATHLEEN
    • 12/11/06

    I love this movie! I plan on watching it every Christmas to come as well. The performances were delightful.

  • Should Be On DVD

    • Paul Houlihan`
    • 12/9/06

    This is one of the best Christmas movies and can safely be watched by the entire family. Like the 1951 version of Scrooge and the 1947 version of Miracle on 42nd Street, Holiday Affair should be made available in the original black and white version and then colorized for younger audiences.

  • A Delight!

    • jennifer
    • 12/3/06

    "Holiday Affair" is a wonderful story that illustrates so much of our humanity, our compassion,-and our passions. Our need for sincerity! We want to buy it on DVD!

  • A holiday favorite...

    • Marilyn
    • 11/24/06

    I love this movie and anxiously await it every Christmas. There's the right combination of whimsy, romance, holiday spirit, but with an adult theme that really appeals to me.

  • The Wrong Guy Gets the Girl

    • Ann Brown
    • 9/22/06

    This is a charming holiday film thanks to appealing performances by Janet Leigh, Wendell Corey, and Gordon Gebert. Even the fact that Janet Leigh chooses Robert Mitchum over the more reliable and likeable Wendell Corey (would you place your happiness in Robert Mitchum's hands?), doesn't ruin this fun Christmas movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.