skip navigation
Hold Back the Dawn

Hold Back the Dawn(1941)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Hold Back the... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Superior movie making

    • Ron Kerrigan
    • 3/4/13

    Although I am not a fan of Boyer, I find this a wonderful movie experience. Acting is terrific, plot is interesting (and timely) and although there is a hint of melodrama here and there, it's acceptable. Nice touches (raising olives, having a baby on the "right" side of the fence, Goddard's saying she wanted a husband not a automobile radiator cap ornament) help overcome some of the predictable plot points.

  • Hold back the dawn

    • Don Woods
    • 2/20/13

    A bit too dated. That is to say, predictable

  • Hold back the dawn

    • Melissa pate
    • 2/16/13

    I would love for y'all to put hold back the dawn on DVD. I would love to add it with my DVD collections. it has such a great cast, with Olivia de Havilland, charles boyer, Paulette Goddard. I really good movie.

  • Hold Back The Dawn

    • Sloan Mahony
    • 3/24/12

    Please don't hold back any longer! I would love to purchase this wonderful film on DVD. Great cast, great movie.

  • A Billy Wilder film

    • TB
    • 2/4/12

    This is the last screenplay by Billy Wilder before they finally let him direct - the rest is history. Co-written with Charles Brackett, who together teamed to win two writing Oscars. Hold Back The Dawn plays just like a Wilder movie, and if this had been his directorial debut I'm sure it would be much more famous. 7 Oscar nominations, including best picture and screenplay, ain't too shaby though! Great movie, a forgotten classic. Never released on home video. Go figure!

  • Hold Back the Dawn

    • Robie
    • 12/16/11

    Please don`t hold it back any longer. Great movie great cast anxious to see it again who love to buy dvd.

  • hold back the dawn

    • Susan
    • 11/14/11

    This movie is wonderful!! TCM should show it. It should also be on DVD. It's one of Olivia Dehavilland's best roles.

  • They're holding it back

    • hermann
    • 9/6/11

    It's many years now since TCM last showed this film. (And it's terrific!) Even during a 24-hour Olivia DeHavilland tribute, they neglected it. And I'm just cynical enough to wonder if it's because the plot deals with immigration enforcement. (Yeah, that's pretty suspicious of me, but political correctness being the way of the day, I still wonder...) Fans of DeHavilland and Boyer, classic movie fans generally, deserve to see this great movie.

  • bring it to tcm and dvd

    • yvonne
    • 8/7/11

    my mom, born it 1922, always said this was a favorite movie of hers, I've never watched it and would like the chance to see it, I hope they bring it to dvd format.

  • Hold back the Dawn

    • Stephanie
    • 5/13/10

    When I first saw this movie, I fell in love with it. It would be fantastic if it was added to the movie schedule in the very near future!

  • Hold Back the Dawn

    • kathy
    • 5/1/10

    Beautiful movie. At first I thought the story was going nowhere. Boy, was I wrong!! One of my favorite movies of all time. A real surprise. Great STORY, great acting, great EVERYTHING! This film deserves more exposure.

  • Hold Back the Dawn

    • Sharon
    • 4/9/10

    What a great movie! A very underrated movie. Since it's not out on DVD please put it on your schedule.

  • Hold Back the Dawn

    • Martha Hasso
    • 2/15/10

    This is my all time favorite movie. I cry just telling others the story. I keep on checking for this movie. It is so wonderful. I haven't seen it for 20 years. Please play this movie. Please put it on DVD. Please!!!!!!!!!

  • Hold Back The Dawn

    • terry
    • 11/10/09

    Ah, Boyer, DeHavilland, Goddard - not on DVD. A must! A wonderful movie - hardly ever shown.

  • OLD MOVIES

    • Laura Brown
    • 6/17/08

    All classics should be put to video!My mother and I have been searching and waiting for the movie "Hold Back The Dawn"

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.