skip navigation
History Is Made at Night

History Is Made at Night(1937)

  • Monday, January 5 @ 04:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
Contribute

FOR History Is Made at Night (1937) YOU CAN

UPLOAD AN IMAGE SUBMIT A VIDEO OR MOVIE CLIP ADD ADDITIONAL INFORMATION WRITE YOUR OWN REVIEW

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

History Is Made... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Romance

    • Don Letta
    • 5/1/14

    POSSIBLY ONE OF THE TWO BEST ROMANTIC DRAMAS EVER MADEI'll have an order of Lobster Cardinale ala Cesare and then look for the papers of transit in the piano.

  • HISTORY IS MADE AT NIGHT

    • ALINA
    • 8/9/13

    I LOVE THIS MOVIE BECAUSE SHE FINALLY FINDS HER SOUL MATE AND SOMEONE WHO UNDERSTANDS HER INSIDE OUT AND LOVES TO DANCE WITH HER FOR HOURS AND HOURS ....THIS MOVIE IS ONE OF THE BEST ROMANTIC MOVIES EVER..THANK YOU FOR PLAYING THIS MOVIE ON TCM

    • David H.
    • 7/22/13

    At best, "History Is Made at Night" can only be described as a fairly good movie. Its plot is so contrived that it seems to have been written out on a cocktail napkin. Only the fine performances by the lead actors keep this film from being a complete disaster. Jean Arthur gives a perfectly understated performance as a wife trying to get out of an unhappy marriage and Charles Boyer is suave and elegant as a French headwaiter who helps her. Colin Clive (Dr. Frankenstein) is also good as the domineering husband, but Hispanic Leo Carrillo is miscast as a French chef. The final shipboard sequence is a precursor of what's been copied since in a number of 'Titanic' films, but with a different resolution. Otherwise, if not for Jean Arthur at her best matched by Boyer and Clive, this film would have sunk long before the climax.

  • Undiscovered GEM

    • Mommalulu
    • 7/21/13

    Thank you, TCM, for bringing this wonderfully romantic film to my screen! I would buy it in an instant and cherish it as one of my best new discoveries in years. It provided a wonderful and lighthearted escape from the cares of modern life. I was quickly transported to another time and place in a marvelous way and I now greatly long to share my new-found treasure with those whom I love

  • Simply Wonderful!!!

    • Courtney
    • 12/5/12

    I saw this movie on TCM on Demand and I loved it. I cried like a baby only to smile when I realized the boat would not go down taking the couple with it. This movie touched me so much. To think that a husband would be so insane that he would take the lives of over 3,000 just to get back at his wife is just mind blowing. Jean Arthur and Charles Boyer were great but that husband blew me over. Great acting!! Also loved the Head Chef who was willing to take the blame for his friend. Could look at this movie all day. Please put this on DVD!!

  • Delightful acting!

    • Nancy Dennis
    • 3/8/12

    Thanks TCM for showing this! Jean Arthur and Charles Boyer were wonderful, especially Arthur in a non-screwball role. The plot twists within twists within twists became far-fetched yet predictable. But who cares? A great discovery.

  • Not bad at all.

    • Carol
    • 3/7/12

    I just saw this last nite but missed the first few minutes. This is the 3rd or so Charles Boyer movie I've seen now and he's got my attention. I can see why he was such a heartthrob. While this movie did have some corny moments both he and Jean Arthur...especially her charming...swooning over him moments...were just wonderful. What is it about an accent, the dark eyes and hair, perfectly charming manners and yet that hint of danger...works every time! I was so happy the ship didn't sink!

  • Loved It

    • Natacha
    • 3/7/12

    Excellent tale of romance and true love. Jean Arthur is literally married to Dr. Frankenstein (Colin Clive, the actor who played "Dr. Frankenstein" in the monster movie of the same name). Clive plays a very wealthy jealous husband who smothers Arthur. Arthur decides to divorce him, but in an effort to stop her, Clive contrives a scheme to set her up for appearing unfaithful with her chauffeur. Boyer, a headwaiter at a tony Parisian restaurant, takes a very drunk wealthy customer back to his hotel and happens to pass by Arthur's hotel room while she is struggling with the chauffeur. Boyer intervenes and when Clive and a private detective enter the room to witness her "adultery" with the chauffeur, Boyer impersonates a robber and hits the chauffeur on the head, accidentally killing him. He locks Clive and the detective in a closet and pretends to kidnap Arthur. The two fall in love, but Boyer is now wanted for murder. Clive blackmails Arthur into returning to him as his wife by threatening to expose Boyer. She agrees, but then changes her mind. Clive sets up an innocent man as the alleged murderer. Boyer does the right thing and confesses to hitting the chauffeur on the head. While he and Arthur are returning to face the authorities, the ship they are sailing on, owned by Clive who ordered the captain to attempt to set a speed record despite dangerous conditions, hits an iceberg. Despite serious damage to the ship, named for Arthur's character, Boyer and Arthur are saved. All the actors did a fine job.

  • History is made at Night

    • Kathy
    • 3/7/12

    Loved this film! Saw it for the first time last night and couldn't stop watching it. Very well done by all the cast and very entertaining. I want this on dvd for my collection. Boyer was superb and so was Jean Arthur. Colin CLive plays a good bad guy as usual. Leo Carrillo was also excellent. Please put this on dvd! I could watch this again and again.

  • Horror!

    • RedRain
    • 3/6/12

    What a piece of schmaltz! There are a lot better ways to spend two hours of your time than watching this terrible film! You know from the outset what is going to happen and it is so formulaic that it's sickening. Colin Clive is the only saving grace, as his jealous rage is palpable. As for the rest of the actors, I am shocked the very talented Jena Arthur even agreed to be in this thing!

  • HISTORY IS MADE AT NIGHT INTRODUCES "NEW STAR"

    • joseph molinari
    • 3/6/12

    "HISTORY IS MADE AT NIGHT" CONTAINS THE FIRST PIECE OF FILM INTRODUCING TIM HOLT... THE NINETEEN YEAR OLD MR HOLT APPEARS AS THE SHIPS S.O.S. OPERATOR.MR HOLT WENT ON TO DO WESTERNS AT RKO FOR 13 YEARS MINUS SEVERAL YEARS DURING WW2 AS AIR FORCE BOMBARDIER...IN ADDITION TO WESTERNS MR HOLT TURNED IN OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCES INSTAGECOACH, MAGNIFICENT AMBERSONS, AND TREASURE OF SIERRA MADRE TO NAME A FEW. HOWEVER MR HOLT WAS NOT INTERESTED IN "MAIN STREAM FILMS? AND PREFERRED WESTERNS.

  • HISTORY IS MADE AT NIGHT INTRODUCES "NEW STAR"

    • joseph molinari
    • 3/6/12

    POSSIBLY I AM ONE OF THE FEW WHO KNOW "HISTORY IS MADE AT NIGHT" CONTAINS THE FIRST PIECE OF FILM INTRODUCING TIM HOLT... THE NINETEEN YEAR OLD MR HOLT APPEARS AS THE SHIPS S.O.S. OPERATOR.MR HOLT WENT ON TO DO A WESTERNS AT RKO FOR 13 YEARS MINUS SEVERAL YEARS DURING WW2 AS AIR FORCE BOMBARDIER...IN ADDITION TO WESTERNS MR HOLT TURNED IN OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCES FORSTAGECOACH, MAGNIFICENT AMBERSONS, AND TREASURE OF SIERRA MADRE TO NAME A FEW.

  • Boyer at his best

    • Richard Lavin
    • 12/13/11

    When you think of it, Charles Boyer was an unlikely movie star. He wasn't the least bit rugged and I can't recall him ever throwing a punch. Furthermore, most leading men with heavy accents didn't do well in Hollywood in that era unless they were British. But Boyer had a unique blend of elegance, charm and, most important, vulnerability, and this film puts it all on display. "History is Made at Night" is like no other movie and there are scenes of him in the restaurant that I can't watch often enough. The Colin Clive parts are heavy handed, but forgivable since they don't destroy the fantasy. Oh, and one final note about that accent. Pairing his limpid baritone with Jean Arthur's chirp was pure genius.

  • TERRIFIC MELODRAMA

    • ALARKIN
    • 1/2/08

    One of the best melodramas. Colin Clive is at his best as the insanely jealous shipping magnate.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.