skip navigation
The Highwayman

The Highwayman(1951)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Highwayman - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Highwayman 1951 film

    • Peter Anderson
    • 12/20/14

    What a great film for the time - Hollywood at its best. Good romantic story, great poem accentuated by having it narrated at the end with the words on screen superimposed on the ghost image of the rider riding up to the old inn door. I saw it as a 7 or 8 year old. would love to see it again.

  • loved the highwayman (1951 version)

    • barbara roberts
    • 10/2/14

    I was only 11 when I seen it -I loved the story and wished and wished I could see it again - never did. please release it on dvd

  • The Highwayman (1951)

    • Sandra H.
    • 9/22/14

    Please, please, please release this movie on dvd. I love the poem. Many people talk about this movie with Wanda Hendrix, Charles Coburn, etc. and how true it is to the original poem. I would love to see the poem's storybrought again to the big screen ASAP. I'm a hopeless romantic and this poem is the embodiment of all that is romantic.

  • The Highwayman on DVD

    • Michael T Price
    • 6/30/14

    This was a great movie. I was only 9 or 10 when I saw it at the movies. I have a great collection ofclassics on DVD but I can't find even a VHS of this one. Please release it for DVD. It is too goodof a movie not to be ever seen again. I would even like to see it as a remake since Hollywoodlately seems to have run out of original ideas. If it was made sticking to the ordinal poem and storyit could be a blockbuster with the right cast.

  • The Highwayman

    • William
    • 1/16/14

    I remember this movie. I would love to see it again. I would really like for you to air it in the near future. Great stars, good performances.

  • Show Times

    • Crystal
    • 7/10/12

    Would love to see this movie air sometime in the near future. Would love to buy the movie even more! Come on TCM release the info. please!

  • A treasured memory

    • George Stiehl
    • 4/8/08

    My memory of the hightwayman is quite similar that posted by Katy. I saw the movie on TV in the 1950's with my mother right as I came home from scool one day. This was the kind of romantic fare presented to house-wives in the early afternoon as a break in the days work prior to preparing dinner. I think the captivating essence of the movie was the conection to Alfred Noyles poem and the director carefully crafting the scene of the highwayman speeding down the road to match the images created in poem. The compelling story of Bess and her warning and suicide at the end sealed this memory as an event which could never be forgotten.

  • The Highwayman based on a poem.

    • Katy
    • 12/26/07

    Almost 50 years after Alfred Noyes wrote this poem it became a movie, one I still remember vividly. I watched this black and white rendition of the poem on a small screened TV in the mid 50's, but I never forgot it. There is something about the love story between Jeremy and Bess that just seemed to haunt me over the years. I can still see the young actor riding up to the old inn-yard door as a ghost and the ghostly Bess plaiting a red love-knot in her long black hair, as she looks down at him. It wasn't only a tale of tragic love but a commentary on the political period of the time as well. This movie sent me on a three year search for the poem, I was only 7 when I first saw it. Most movies which began with a bit of literature have to be cut down, but this tale had the writer's using their own creative imagination to fill in parts of Jeremy's life that wasn't included in the poem. Somehow it is poetic justice that the part I remember most is at the core of the poem itself. Since then, the tale has been put to music and singled out for picture book versions for children.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.