skip navigation
Hello, Dolly!

Hello, Dolly!(1969)

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Hello, Dolly! A widowed matchmaker sets her... MORE > $14.98 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • A Film to See Once

    • Meredith
    • 11/29/13

    I think this is a film everyone should see once (and then never have to see it again). I did find the sets and costumes to be lovely, and most of the musical numbers were entertaining. I also found myself surprisingly noticing Streisand's hands and how beautiful and graceful they were. That turned out to be my favorite part of the movie - watching for Streisand's hands and hoping she wouldn't be wearing gloves.

  • Clash of the Movie Stars

    • keith abney
    • 11/29/13

    Babs and Walter did not get along during the filming of this super-sized dinosaur and it shows. Their scenes together look a little clumsy, slightly forced and only mildly entertaining. In fact I found the whole movie onlymildly entertaining, stumbling along from O.K. to dreadful. I think the supporting cast is over-acting, mainlyBarnaby and Minnie. I just found it hard to care for anybody in this picture even when they're surrounded by million dollar sets and 10,000 extras. Big, bright and brassy. Over-stuffed to the breaking point. All fluff and no heart in this box-office clunker. Well there is Barbras voice which sounds great as usual, but she's so young she looks like Mathaus grandaughter.

  • Goodbye Dolly.

    • ojc
    • 7/29/13

    I have seen this movie many times. It has its charms but the casting is often faulted and rightly so. The problem with the cast is that Barbara Streisand is channeling Mae West and Walter Matthau is channeling WC. Fields and it does not work. In their scenes together she is just to over the top, and he comes across as a mean, crabby boss.Now in the scenes where they are not together their performances are fine but strained. Walter Matthau was not the right choice for the part.Michael Crawford is good, as another commentator noted he does seem to remind me of a British Dick Van Dyke. In fact the scenes with the two young couples are fun and lively. Barbara sings great as always but she is way too young for this part. She and Walter have absolutely no chemistry. In fact every scene together is a drag. Splashy film, big cast, some fun. But if you want to see a musical with the young Barbara see Funny Girl.

  • Great!

    • Everett
    • 4/23/13

    Very fun and beautiful to watch. Sound also great. BLU-RAY looks even better!!!. 04/23/2013

  • Does anyone notice the similarities?

    • Colleen Sullivan
    • 2/10/13

    This is driving me crazy tonight! My 1st favorite movie was Mary Poppins. I LOVE Dick Van Dyke and 1st fell in love with him when I was a little girl and saw that movie. I haven't seen this version of Hello, Dolly! in years and love Barbra Streisand in this version. ANYHOW the dance sequence with Barnaby in Hello Dolly! and Dick Van Dyke in Mary Poppins seems almost 100% similar. Does anyone else make this connection? And, if so, does anyone have comparison info?

  • Hello, Dolly!

    • Dashiell B.
    • 1/2/13

    An extravagant musical based on the Broadway smash. Matthau & Steisand, the latter in a Golden Globe-nominated performance, have animosity instead of affection & Dolly's not an easy woman to sympathize with. However, the film won Oscars for it's production design, sound & score, with the addition of costumes & Kelly's direction, bring the adaptation to life. Visually entertaining with memorable tunes. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Fully alive flick

    • Commenter77
    • 3/5/12

    Dolly rocks from start to finish. This fully alive and engaging film delivers laughs, pathos, musical delight and frolicsome fun throughout. Streisand at the top of her game. Don't miss this thoroughly engaging film.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.