skip navigation
Heaven Only Knows

Heaven Only Knows(1947)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Heaven Only... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • How did Bob Cummings get into film?

    • denscul
    • 6/9/13

    Sorry to offend those of you who liked this film and Cummings. But as someone who first saw him on a TV series way back in the 50's when I was just a kid, I thought he was a dud compared to George Reeves as Superman, James Arness as Matt Dillon on Gunsmoke, or Milburn Stone as Doc. As mediocre as I have learned, Cummings was not as good as they. Cummings always seems to have a smirk on his face, and in this film, it goes well with his role as an angel. Since he always gave me the impression that he was above everyone else in the film, this should have fit his acting style perfectly. So how come, I still disliked this film?

  • Heaven Only Knows

    • Rev. Gordon Hills
    • 6/9/13

    When I saw this movie as a child I was intrigued by the message and the acting of Robert Cummings. I was overjoyed to see this movie again yesterday, and I can tell you that the message of love, hope, and eternal life remains the same for me. What a great movie! I just wish it was out on DVD!!!

  • Background Music - interesting note:

    • Sharol
    • 6/8/13

    I swear that some of the songs in this movie sound like "When you wish upon a star".

  • Off-putting

    • Karen
    • 6/8/13

    This film was very good but a bit creepy. I thought taking the little boy away to die at the end was downright icky. And every time Bob Cummings got that "holy" look on his face, I wanted to smack him. I think the film is too dated now; Cummings overacts and comes across as weird and should have played it as more of a regular guy. But "message" movies were much more obvious in those days. Preston Sturges did a similar film (also with Brian Donlevy) that was so much better -- what he could have done with this!

  • Heaven only Knows

    • Lynda
    • 6/8/13

    Excellent movie. Timely message for any time. The acting is great, I usually think old movies have too much over acting it this movie is great

  • still great

    • veronica schliemann
    • 6/8/13

    when this movie was featured on "million dollar movie", which showed a movie every night and all day on weekends, for a whole week, i watched every showing. loved it then, still love it. it's clever and charming, and, at times, touching.

  • saloon on fire

    • J R
    • 12/31/12

    I remember Bob Cummings decending to earth on a cloud.I remember Gerald Mohr coming out the swinging doors as the saloon burnedthats when Mike knew he was the devil.Is it available on DVD

  • last old movie in my bucket list

    • dan sternquist
    • 12/8/12

    I think we fans of Montana Mike are going to fail ultimately in getting this movie to have and hold. I say this because I just purchased a complete guide to movies on all home video formats and this film was not even listed. But I will keep looking and get back to you where I do find it. TMC can't be our only option.

  • Heaven Only Knows

    • Kay
    • 11/5/12

    I remember this movie from my childhood and would love to see it again. I would love to have a copy, this is a great movie for the whole family, touching story.

  • Montana Mike: Strangely memorable

    • Ken C
    • 10/31/12

    I don't know why I remember this film so fondly from my childhood, but would love to see it again. A starnge combination of sentiment, fantasy and old-fashioned Western.

  • Heaven Only Knows (Montana Mike)

    • Douglas Rivera
    • 6/24/12

    Great movie. I've been waiting to see this movie again that I saw with my father back in the '50s shown on the "Million Dollar Movie". Loved this movie and would really love to see it on TCM and would love to purchase it on DVD. Please make every effort to have this shown and released. Thank you.

  • heaven only knows

    • sandy
    • 6/9/12

    loved this movie as a child. trying to find a copy. help

  • Heaven Only Knows (1947)

    • Martin Mandzuk
    • 6/8/12

    I watched this film several times on TV in New York when I was a child. The movie starring Robert Cummings and Brian Donlevy was and still is a favorite of mine, even though it has not been shown in over 50 years. I have explained the premise to my children and grand children and we all would like to see the original movie. I hope TCM shows this film soon and/or releases it as a DVD. It is a great family film.

  • Heaven only Knows

    • Tina Morris
    • 3/24/12

    I ALWAYS LOVED THIS FILM, I WISH I COULD PURCHASE THIS MOVIE. I REMEMBER IT AS A CILD AND WAS ALWAYS TRYING TO FIND IT.PLEASE LET ME KNOW WHEN IT WILL BE PLAYING AGAIN. MY BROTHER SAW IT, I THINK IT WAS ON LAST YEAR AND SO UPSET THAT I MISSED IT.

  • Heaven only Knows

    • P McGee
    • 10/29/11

    I am so glad to see others remember this movie. I would love to have it on DVD. It has a great message to today's world. Maybe TCM can find it in their hearts to show it once more.

  • Disappointed

    • nila hamilton
    • 10/12/11

    I purchased this movie on a DVD. The reproduction was so awful it was painful to watch.Please schedule to show on TV.

  • need to get this film on dvd

    • eddie bila
    • 8/17/11

    have remembered this move since the the 50's never could find it anywhere please put it on a dvd i know other people will also get i talked about it so much

  • Heaven really does know

    • Steve
    • 8/14/11

    Originally viewed film in the 1950's and never forgot it...and never will. The late "Marvin Of The Movies" had a copy but the sound quality was horrible. Many heartwarming scenes but the last 10 minutes where Mike has to bhing the little boy with him in returning to heaven,the dialogue goes something like this (first the kid says he feels so sleepy,not realizinghes at deaths door)--and Mike says,People have many names for it but its nothing to fear. As the boy opens his eyes,Mike looks down at him and with a smile "Welcome son,you're home" WOW! If that didnt choke a person up

  • Heaven Only Knows

    • Charles Dequarto
    • 7/14/11

    I realize TCM had showed this print or movie last year..... but i myself was away & iLL...So many of my friends have asked to see this movie... but unfortunatly they missed it also. So PLEASE is there anyway you can get the rights to show this movie?? It's a rare one...and also i have no way of recording it as many do. The only way is to see it here or purchase it when it's released. Cordially, C. DeQ.

  • Heaven Only Knows

    • Charles J DeQuarto
    • 5/6/10

    Sir's, I have purchased many DVD's from Movies Unlimited, even way before TCM was aired on line. The point is... When TCM showed or aired this movie on its TCM Channel... the day they showed it.... i missed it that very day. Is there anyway to show "Heaven Only Knows" (1947) on T.C.M.?? Being that i missed it i usually figure that TCM will air that print usually twice in 1 months time. I always thought that TCM will show certain movies 2 times in one month. I guess if TCM had more Viewers & sent many e-mails demanding that TCM airs that movie again...then TCM will air it again. It's called CLOUT... the majority Wins... Usually it does. hahah. Anyway is there anyway you can show "Heaven Only Knows"???one last time?? One other question......... is there anyway to PURCHASE MONTANAMIKE OR HEAVEN ONLY KNOWS... on DVD DISC???Please let me know if it is & where possible to purchase it. I Await for your reply SOON..... CORDIALLY, Charles J, DeQuartoI Await for your reply SOON!! Thank You Again!!!

  • Heaven only Knows ---

    • Cindy Williams
    • 4/28/10

    I had a sickness in the family and was away and did not get a chance to see the entire movie. I caught the last 30 min of it last year and have unsuccessfully tried to see it since. We need this on DVD because from the trailer and the part of the movie I saw it was right up there with It's A Wonderful Life. Please hurry up and Play it again on TCM as soon as possible. I can hardly wait. Thanks for your time and let me know as soon as it is released on DVD.

  • heaven only knows

    • carolyn nichols
    • 4/18/10

    great movie. wish hollywood still made movies like this one.heart touching, funny, with the meanings understood . It blessedmy day and wished other could see it and be blessed too. thank God for this movie.

  • heaven is back

    • rosanne
    • 4/16/10

    a classic movie with superb acing and engaging plot. TCM do not wait too long to show it again. Perhaps twice a year, in springtime (renewal) and wintertime.Yeah

  • Heavenly Viewing!

    • Girvan Paterson
    • 1/8/10

    Have recently seen this movie on a 'so, so' quality video, and what a gem it is!I've always liked Robert Cummings, and put him in my all time top 5 comedy actors, and I can't think of too many others who could have pulled off this part so endearingly than Mr. Cummings does? To me, he makes the film, giving it such a 'feel good' quality, and the thought of that just maybe, it could really be like that? This film may have 'bombed' in it's day, but it seems so relevant in today's world, I feel it should be 're appraised', and certainly given an 'official' DVD release in mint quality!

  • Heaven Only Knows

    • Linda
    • 11/18/09

    I have been looking for this movie for years. I saw it as a teen and wouldlove to see it again 30 years is to long to wait.

  • Timeless! Needs To Be On DVD!

    • Chris Morgan
    • 11/16/09

    This film was released in 1947 and made a grown man cry November 14, 2009 on a Saturday night. The movie was wonderfully directed, while the acting is simply flawless. Hopefully, people keep voting for this film to be released on DVD because it is a real gem. It is the film's glorious ending that put a lump in my throat and had me reaching for a hankie - God that little boy really got to me! Hopefully, TCM will hear our pleas and put this inspirational film on rotation during these troubled & morally bankrupt times.

  • Wonderful film!

    • Alana
    • 11/16/09

    This is one of my favorite films of all time. Uplifting and full of hope in an all-to-troubled world.

  • Uplifting and Inspirational

    • Dutcher
    • 11/15/09

    This politically incorrect movie has the courage to clearly witness the gift of God's grace thru His redeeming love of all mankind. Right up there with Sgt. York as a bright light movie in a grim world.

  • Montana Mike (Heaven Only Knows)

    • Marty Albanese
    • 11/15/09

    I have been looking for this movie for many years. To me it was one of best. I hope they make it available on DVD.

  • Worthwhile film

    • Rosemary
    • 11/15/09

    This is a jewel of a film which I do hope will be shown again at TCM. My impressions on my first viewing last at TCM reminds me very much of the first time I viewed "It's A Wonderful Life". Bob Cummings exhibited the right spark as an angel, too. So glad I caught this film last night. Thank you, TCM!

  • Heaven Only Knows

    • John Colucci
    • 11/15/09

    I remember this movie when I was a child and I think it is a great classic with Brian DonLevy as the outlaw and Bob Cummings as the angel. I came home tonight too late to view it. I did not know it was playing until after it was over. I have been looking all over for this movie for quite some time. I do know that this movie was renamed to Montana Mike. That makes sense but I think the original title fits it better. I could only hope that TCM does show it again.

  • A GREAT 1947 CLASSIC!!

    • ken langlotz
    • 11/14/09

    HEAVEN ONLY KNOWS HAS ALL THE ELEMENTS OF A GREAT 1947 CLASSIC WHICH TELLS THE STORY OF AN ANGEL SAVING A SOUL OF A GAMBLER. IN TODAY'S TIMES THIS MOVIE HASN'T LOST IT FLAVOR IN PROVIDING A MEANINGFUL MESSAGE WHILE COMIC RELIEF AND A CAST OF GREAT CHARACTERS DPIN THEIR MAGIC IN THIS WESTERN . PLEASE RELEASE THIS MOVIE IB DVD IT IS A GREAT PART PF MOVIE HISTORY WHICH SHOULD BE SHARED.

  • Great movies!

    • Laraine
    • 11/10/09

    I loved this movie when I first saw it as a child. Should be on DVD.

  • Heaven Only Knows

    • Esther Bolger
    • 11/9/09

    I have loved this movie since I first saw it in the early 50s on TV. It is a wonderful example of good movie making and the message is always timely. I hope it becomes available on DVD.

  • It' about time!

    • B. Nelson
    • 9/24/09

    This movie is a wonderfully poignant one with humor and western story. I haven't seen this since the fifties, but it was a funny and different story which captivated me. I felt very connected to this story, and I think it was a special movie that many people today would really enjoy. Brian Donlevy and Rober Cummings do a great job and bring the movie home. Please play this again. Thanks

  • A well-remembered film

    • Ken C.
    • 6/15/09

    I watched it every time it was shown on TV when I was a kid. I remember it as being a bit odd, emotionally touching and a bit sad, yet overall a very "hopeful" message. While it certainly is not a "GREAT" movie it must have something going for it for me to still want to see it, a good 45-to-50 years after I last saw it.

  • Heaven Only Knows

    • Karen Miller
    • 3/19/09

    I also saw this on television many times as a child and cannot get it out of my mind; it was one of my 2 favorites along with the Baron of Arizona, which I found. Please, someone make it available on home video. I've looked at TV listings and in video magazines for years as "Montana Mike" to try and find it and until today didn't realize it had an original title.

  • HEAVEN ONLY KNOWS WHY THIS FILM IS NOT AVAILABLE

    • Frank
    • 3/18/09

    Here is a film that once viewed, cannot easily be forgotten. There is NOTHING offensive about it, and so much to recommend it. A wonderful storyline, terrific acting, endearing characters, beautiful score. I could go on and on. I am extremely fortunate to have a 16mm print, which is my most treasured film in my collection. It's my sincere hope that someone will make this film available to the public

  • montana mike

    • suzanne mendoza
    • 2/16/09

    I saw this movie several times when I was younger. I have never forgotten it.Please get it on video.

  • PLEASE

    • Mike
    • 7/7/08

    I saw this movie on my parnets Dumont TV set when i was a child. It left an impression om until this day. Gneral TV program is horrid!!! and TCM is just wonderful to watch with my wife and family. It would be just great if this movie could be shown.If not, how and where can i purchase it.I Just remeber two seans that the one where las la rue when to light a cigarett and the match blew out!!1And second, wherre the stage coach lifts for the heavens...Thank you

  • Heaven Only Knows with Bob Cummings

    • Dean Chambers
    • 2/10/08

    I only saw this movie once when I was a small boy, I have never forgoten it. Bob Cummings as an angel was really great. When he goes into the burned out church, well it sent chills up my spine.The devillooses, from a beam of light from above, great use of light. Emotional movie, I dare you to watch it and not feel something great.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.