skip navigation
A Hard Day's Night

A Hard Day's Night(1964)

  • Saturday, November 15 @ 02:15 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Wednesday, December 31 @ 09:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

A Hard Day's Night A typical day in the life of... MORE > $19.95 Regularly $19.95 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Case of the Missing Mouth Organ

    • disinterested spectator
    • 6/17/14

    To say that the music in this movie is good is an understatement. It's the Beatles, after all. And we get to see them perform some of their songs. That is the good part. As for the rest of it, it is a lot of stuff that is supposed to be funny, but just falls flat. Most painful of all is when there is a pause after what they thought would be a funny line, presumably to give the audience time to laugh. When there is no laughter, the pause is painful. As a side note, when I first saw the movie in 1964, I remember John Lennon's saying that he played the "mouth organ." At the time, I thought to myself that that must be a British term for harmonica, but to an American, it almost sounds vulgar. Anyway, I watched it the other night on TCM, and I did not hear the line about the mouth organ. I can't help but wonder if that part of the movie was edited out a long time ago for American audiences, and it never got put back in.

  • Exclusion

    • Lisa Holmes
    • 6/2/14

    Although I enjoyed the music in this movie, at 48 years of age, I still cannot say I enjoyed the plot. No closed-captioning is available with this movie, so you can imagine how many thousands of other hearing impaired Americans, whether older or young, cannot enjoy the movie. We are being excluded from the pleasure of watching this movie and many other movies on TCM that remain without captioning. I have seen this movie again and again throughout my life, but never with much of an idea of what anyone is saying to each other in it, and here we are, in the millennium, almost a lifetime later (movie was made one year before I was born) when closed captioning is now available and possible for us, a splendid reality, only to still be depriving many of the opportunity to be a part of the "Hard Day's Night" enjoyment. Closed captioning should be a part of every movie so that all audiences in this country may share in the American experience of enjoying wonderful classic entertainment, at least before I pass away...

  • The MUSIC and recording quality are the thing!

    • Rich Phoenix
    • 6/2/14

    It must be remembered that Dolby and digital this'n'that did not exist in 1963 when the music for the film was recorded at Abbey Road Studios in London.The quality of what you hear in this film was the sole responsibility of Norman "Hurricane" Smith, a composer, musician and (later) a singer, himself, who bent the rules to get "live" quality from the band playing in the massive but sterile environment of Abbey Road Studio Two. Norman particularly worked miracles in achieving great presence on the recordings of the Fabs with the technology of the times. He was very modest about his achievements, even though much of this is frequently accorded to Sir George Martin, the producer. But, Norman did some very unorthodox things with microphone selection and placement that no one before him at Abbey Road had tried because of hard-and-fast EMI policies in the studios. In their earliest recordings, pre-dating Hard Day's Night, the studios didn't even have discrete stereo capabilities, so what Norman heard was what he got and what we heard in the formative years of the supergroup.Confirmation of Norman Smith's recording expertise and artistry came decades later, when Sir George's son, Giles Martin, was faced with going back to the recorded masters, then approaching 40 years old on the shelves of the Abbey Road studios. Giles could not believe the quality of recordings, the warmth and the presence that Norman had achieved with the technology of the time. Giles' project was the remix of the many Beatles recordings for use in the Cirq de Soleil Las Vegas show. At the time, Norman was still living, and the young Martin made certain that Hurricane knew with what admiration he and his classic recordings were held by him.The magic is in the music and the genius that recorded it at Abbey Road!

  • A Day In The Life...

    • Brian
    • 6/2/14

    A day in the life of The Beatles as they ready for a television appearance before going back out on the road. Terrific direction by Richard Lester and featuring many great supporting actors. Each Beatle gets a chance to shine, especially Ringo as he's egged on to live life by Paul's trouble making but very clean grandfather! A very funny, well done film...and then there's the music.

  • Bring the Music!

    • filmfan
    • 6/2/14

    Yes! Yes! Yes! TCM bring the MUSIC! Woodstock, Gimme Shelter, The Song Remains the Same, and dozens of others. Play them at midnight on Saturday nights like the old "Midnite Movies" at the theater. THANK YOU TCM!

  • The Fab Four

    • Lily54
    • 6/2/14

    For those of us who were lucky enough to grow up in the 60's (and remember most of it) The Beatles set the bar. They were the pioneers of the music that shaped our generation and all the copy cat bands that preceded them.A Hard Day's Night was a lovely piece of British Invasion fluff. If you put in the context of the times, it was perfection! They knew what the Beatlemaniacs wanted and delivered a tour de force performance.Thanks, TCM for taking me back to the happiest time in my life.

  • As great now as the first time in August 1964

    • apple scruff
    • 5/30/14

    Amazing music, funny, timeless fun - must see.

  • For Beatle Fans Only.

    • doodles
    • 7/16/13

    A light-weight movie in it's time. A Hard Day's Night has become the standard and truly one of the best of all "Rock & Roll" movies. Great music, silly subplot and where's Ringo? I would like to see this movie on TCM, as well as Yellow Submarine. But not Help, that film was rather silly.

  • John,Paul,George, and Ringo

    • Dana 59
    • 11/11/12

    Clearly the best rock movie ever, killer soundtrack as every song works, the story of a couple of days in the lives of the fab four.as they make way from the train to the hotel where it's room to room to car to room, with a couple of escapes where they seem to ne themselves.

  • A Hard Day's Night

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 10/14/12

    The debut film of one of the most iconic bands in history. All the boy's play realistic versions of themselves, each of whom shine, but Harrison was the only member who earned an Academy Award nomination for the film's music. The boy's constant rebellion against authority has poorly aged, but the humour & social-realist story is superb, earning screenwriter Owen an Academy Award nomination. That and, oh yeah, the music makes this film magnificent. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • The Beatles' Best

    • Dan Grissom
    • 8/12/12

    Richard Lester does an outstanding directing job of this fast-paced comedy/musical which records two days in the life of The Beatles. Released at the height of Beatlemania in mid-1964 this black and white film is so well done it can stand multiple viewings and never grow old. Five stars!

  • A Hard Day's Night

    • mike
    • 6/23/10

    A must have on TCM along with "Help!", "Yellow Submarine", "Let it Be", and the bittersweet perfomance film, "Concert for George".BEATLEMANIA LIVES!

  • A Hard Day's Night (1964)

    • James Higgins
    • 1/4/10

    Rather revolutionary in 1964, it showcases The Beatles at their madcap best. It is a typical day in their lives, screaming fans and wild adventures. I admire the uniqueness of the film and the dry British humor. Very well edited, great music and a must for anyone interested in Fab Four.

  • and i [concur]

    • mai
    • 10/13/09

    yeah, i'd very much like it if the Beatles movies were played more often on TCM. it'd be wonderful.

  • beatles 45 year anv.

    • donny
    • 1/22/09

    febuary 1964,It would be great to see HDN or any beatle flick, to celebrate this anniversary

  • Please Play More beatles Movies

    • Paul
    • 5/18/08

    would you please play the movies (Hard Day's Night, Help, Yellow Submarine And Magical Mystery Tour) I think alot of people would love to see these Beatles movies on TCM

  • PLEASE!!

    • Megan
    • 10/20/07

    Please play this movie and Help!I'm sure a lot of people would love to see these two movies on TCM! Please please play them!

  • Please play more Beatles!!!

    • Marie
    • 10/5/07

    Beatle movies are classics. They should be in your regular rotation. Appealing to any age group.

  • Beatles Night!

    • E'Beth
    • 1/29/07

    Please Please Me (and thousands of other viewers) and have a Beatles film night - A Hard Day's Night, Help! Yellow Submarine and any other Beatles movies you have laying around the movie vault.

  • I love the Beatles and I love TCM

    • DebraW
    • 12/23/06

    This movie is a Musical Classic and deserves to be seen on TCM alongside the great MGM and RKO Studio Musicals usually on your schedule.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.