skip navigation
The Happy Time

The Happy Time(1952)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

The Happy Time - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Cheerful film

    • Joy K.
    • 6/15/14

    I remember watching this movie, possibly ten years ago. Love the cast, the characters. It's just such a cheerful and delightful film. It's one of those movies that puts a smile on your face. One if my favorites. I'm sorry I missed it this morning. I hope it see it this same time next year. Maybe even sooner. I highly recommend it.

  • The Happy Time - Great Flick

    • Margie H
    • 6/15/14

    I had never heard of this movie, but I truly enjoyed it! I wish it was available for purchase and I'm voting for it to become available so I can share it with my kids (all adult children now). Great Father's Day pick as well! Thanks!

  • Thank you for the Father's Day gift

    • Sparks
    • 6/15/14

    Where has this film been all my life? Wonderful in every sense of the word. Direction, production, acting, scenario. Boyer not my favorite actor. But in this jewel, perfect. In fact, none of the actors are on my top-ten. But, here today, brilliant. And, Marcel Dalio an unexpected gift. Thank you TCM!

  • HAPPY TIME

    • scotmcc
    • 6/15/14

    I just wanted to add one point to the positive reviews of 'The Happy Time'. This is the second film shown this month on TCM that was later turned into a musical by Fred Ebb and John Kander ('Cabaret' 'Chicago'). Their musical version of 'The Happy Time' starred Robert Goulet and David Wayne.

  • Best movie I'd never heard of

    • Peter G
    • 6/19/12

    Absolutely wonderful. It sounds old fashioned to say so, but this movie is enchanting.Beautifully acted. Great story. Great characters and a happy ending to boot!Sadly, it doesn't seem to be available on DVD.

  • The Happy Time

    • Steve
    • 5/5/11

    Thought I'd seen them all... this gem somehow eluded me. Loved the film, and can't believe its not available for purchase.

  • Joyful, Good Clean Fun!

    • Karen Lee
    • 5/5/11

    Definitely a great movie. Really enjoyed Charles Boyer in this one. Can't wait to see it again!!!

  • A First-Rate Family Comedy

    • Raymond Banacki
    • 5/5/11

    "The Happy Time" is such a charming family comedy by none other than Samuel A. Taylor, who is famous for his play, "Sabrina Fair" and his screenplay for "Vertigo". The screenplay about young Bibi's coming of age in a rather eccentric French-Canadian family is beautifully written and the direction by Richard Fleischer, who is perhaps best-known for "Compulsion", is both lively and inventive. The film is also beautifully cast with both stars like Charles Boyer and well-known character actors like Jeannette Nolan. But the film is truly anchored by the highly engaging performance of Bobby Driscoll, who was, let's face it, a genuine movie star. Driscoll somehow went on to a rather tragic fate later in life as he ended up an unidentified corpse in an abandoned building in NYC's East Village. To experience his brilliance in this superb Stanley Kramer production is deeply and sadly tinged by this knowledge of his sad, sad ending.

  • One Of The Best!!!!

    • Stephon
    • 9/1/10

    This movie is one of the best films i've ever seen. I'm young and I have a passion for watching great films, sadly they don't exist too much in my generation so i've decided to look to other generations for great story telling and amazing actors and it looks like i've found them. "The Happy Time" is perfect! it's a wonderful family film about a young boy (Bobby Driscoll) beginning the process of becoming a man, with the help of four men in his life that inspire him the most, his grand father, his two uncles one an alcoholic, the other a womanizer, and his father. I love this film Bobby Driscoll shines in his performance as well as the other actors, and actresses! This Film Is A Must See!!!!

  • The Happy Time

    • Doris Wilbury
    • 3/28/10

    I have not had the opportunity to see this movie until this morning. (3/28/10) Also, I turned it on about half way into the movie. However, I found this movie to be an absolute treasure. A wonderful lesson of human nature, life experience and the knowledge that experience brings. The highlight for me was the intimate discussion between Father & Son on the facts of Love & Desire. The writers orchestrated the most beautiful & eloquent explanation of the difference between sexual desire within the emotional depth of true love & sexual desire for nothing other than desire.I wish this had been explained to me like that when I was a youth. To have an understanding of those souls that end up bitter & unhappy having never understood that most beautiful of life's gifts... Desire With Love.

  • A Delight!!!

    • Carol
    • 3/27/10

    The title of the movie says it all!!! By Hollywood standards a "little" movie which I hadn't seen since it first came out in the mid 50's. In spite of its disappearance . . . the memory lingered on . . . making it probably an all time favorite . . . worthy of inclusion in the "golden age" of the late 20's to late 40's cinema!!! The entire movie exemplifies love of family and joy and leaves you smiling for a very long time! If it is made available on DVD I would not only get one for myself but I would also give it as gifts.

  • Charming story of family life

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 11/2/09

    The film is obviously stage-bound in nature, but the characters are so well-drawn and the performance so engaging that you don't notice the less cinematic aspects of the picture. In particular, Charles Boyer as the liberal father and Louis Jourdan as his prodigal brother seem to anchor the story which revolves around Boyer's son who is coming of age, as played by child actor Bobby Driscoll. I felt the cast was well-chosen, and each performer seemed to bring a lively energy to his part. The real highlights are the scenes in which the men band together, despite their flaws, faults and handicaps, to protect one another and support one another. A key example of this is the scene where Boyer and Jourdan go down to the school to deal with a harsh corporal punishment-minded school official. There are also plenty of drinking scenes with another brother who lives next door and seems to occasion wine with everything. The film is also bilingual (on a minor level, since much of it is in English). This is a great feel-good-about-yourself-and-life type movie. My only quibble with it is that there should've been a sequel.

  • Such A Charming Movie!

    • Norma
    • 11/26/07

    I was just channel surfing after a big meal on Thanksgiving and I came upon this movie on the TCM Channel. To my surprise, I have never seen this movie and was immediatley drawn into the story of a young boy coming of age. Charles Boyer plays the father that displays the consummate liberal French attitude that is so sweet, genuine and honest. It isn't on home video yet but I am hoping soon it wil be,.Thanks TCM for selecting this movie.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.