skip navigation
Hangmen Also Die!

Hangmen Also Die!(1943)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

Shop tcm.com

Hangmen Also... - NOT AVAILABLE

Crying Boy

VOTE FOR THIS TITLE:
Our records indicate this title is not available on Home Video. Vote below for it to be released on DVD.

  1. Total votes: vote now!
  2. Rank: (why vote?)

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • movies not yet on dvd

    • joan dalton
    • 4/22/14

    another great movie!waiting for it to come out on dvd to purchase!

  • Hangmen also die!

    • Bobby Garcia
    • 7/6/13

    This movie is timely taking into consideration our current events. A Fascist, corrupt government hell bent on world domination. Yet the (Nazis) only hope for success is breaking the will and unity of the people. I have to order this DVD. I may never meet my grandchildren or great grandchildren, but they must watch this movie and be prepared, for history has a way of repeating itself! When this is all over, on what side of History will you be?

  • I'm pulling my hair out at each scene!

    • terry
    • 7/5/13

    This movie is such a gem! Thanks TCM. It grabs your emotions better than any contemporary film on the subject. And Fritz Lang. Wow!

  • If Only More Were Done To The Persecutors

    • nottobeforgotten
    • 7/5/13

    Heydrich got off lightly for all he did.The heroes of Lidice were sacrificed to atone for cowardice of the Axis leaders in attempts to dominate the globe.A true show of valor of Resistance everywhere.

  • Hangmen Also Die

    • Eve
    • 7/8/12

    The delivery of this movie gives such a real feeling of what Europeans had to indure from the Nazis. SO RALISTIC! I felt the fear, the tension! Brian Donlevy gave such a great performance! Walter Brennan gave his ultimate delivery as an actor! Would love to see this movie again.

  • HANGMEN ALSO DIE

    • GLENORA
    • 2/6/12

    I had never heard of this film and saw it quite by accident today. It is a wonderful, suspense filled film. There are so many elements and angles to it, not just one of the WWII formula films. It covered a part of history I was unfamiliar with. The acting is good, especially by Gene Lockhart. I would definitely recommend it and want to see it again.

  • Historical, suspenseful & ironic

    • Jarrod McDonald
    • 2/8/10

    The film reminds me of 'The Mortal Storm' made a few years earlier by MGM, especially the part about the professor father who is sentenced to die. But that is just one element of the story, and there is actually a lot going on in Fritz Lang's great film. Some have mentioned the noir aspects, and there is a detective angle to it as well. The performances by Donlevy and Lee are good, but it's Gene Lockhart who steals this movie. He's simply fantastic as the doomed beer tycoon who has sold his soul to the Gestapo and gets double-crossed. The scene at the end, where he is told to take a walk and then gets shot at is reminiscent of the gangster genre. So what we have is an amalgamation of genres, and it all comes together in a suspenseful way thanks to Lang's sure direction.

  • Brilliant

    • jeff
    • 5/30/09

    Extraodinary tension. The characters are boxed in by the excellent police work of the gestapo and by their families and their freedom fighting commitments. There seems no escape from the trap.

  • I LUV BRIAN DONLEVY!

    • Nita Irvine
    • 7/5/07

    This is the best of 2 genres-WWII and film noir. The setting is in WWII Europe, but the addition of Donlevy and the lighting effects gives this movie a film noir atmosphere. Plus, the subject matter is FILM NOIR as to the suspense. GREAT movie!!

  • Hangmen Also Die

    • Dennis
    • 4/18/06

    TCM has done it again. This film made me feel the terror of the Nazi era. It demonstrated that some people were willing to risk everything for freedom, while others would sell their souls to evil in order to survive. I would recommend this film to anyone who questions the importance of freedom.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.