skip navigation
The Hanging Tree

The Hanging Tree(1959)

  • Thursday, October 30 @ 12:00 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
  • Saturday, November 15 @ 12:00 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Hanging Tree A doctor saves a man from... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • GREAT!!!! Gary Cooper film

    • RitaKay
    • 2/9/13

    I love Gary Cooper in most all movies but mostly westerns. He was just a natural and so believable. One really thinks he isn't acting. Tall and lean, what more could you ask for in a movie. "The Hanging Tree" is finally out on DVD and I purchased mine and am now watching it as I type this. One of my all time favorites along with "Friendly Persuasion." Finally found both on DVD.

  • GREAT!!!!

    • RitaKay
    • 2/9/13

    I love Gary Cooper in most all movies but mostly westerns. He was just a natural and so believable. One really thinks he isn't acting. Tall and lean, what more could you ask for in a movie. "The Hanging Tree" is finally out on DVD and I purchased mine and am now watching it as I type this. One of my all time favorites along with "Friendly Persuasion." Finally found both on DVD.

  • the hanging tree

    • mary ann davis
    • 2/5/13

    This is my favorite western even more than any john wayne western. Gary Cooper is great in this movie even better than High Noon, I think. I love the theme and the music through out.

  • The Hanging Tree--an undiscovered masterpiece

    • ted bruce
    • 12/24/12

    From the moment the WB logo appears and you hear Marty Robbins singing, "I came to town to search for gold..." you're hooked. This is absolutely one of the best weswterns ever made and certainly Delmer Daves masterpiece. It gets better with each viewing. Maria Schell is wonderful, George C. Scott is terrifying as the preacher and Karl Malden as Frenchy is wondefully bad. Gary Cooper gives a strong understated performance. This movie needs to be rediscovered and remastered. Don't miss it.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Nick Mackris
    • 9/27/12

    I love this movie it's one of my all time favorites. Please put it on the TCM broadcast schedule as soon as possible. If you can advise me by e-mail when it will be on.

  • Finally available on DVD R1

    • Edward Sullivan
    • 8/5/12

    Memorable performances by Karl Malden and Maria Schell, and of course, Gary Cooper. The Warner Archive folks have (just) made this available as a MOD (made on demand) DVD. Widescreen and the color is quite good.

  • One of Gary Cooper's Best

    • Bernard Juiliani
    • 7/3/12

    This is a classic western at it finest, also from my favorite Movie Studio, Warner Brothers. Directed by Delmer Daves and Karl Malden. I rank this western in the top ten of all time. One of Gary Coopers best (along with Man of the West). Great cast and a wonderfull story. It is a great dis-service that this Classic Western is not on dvd???

  • great movie

    • joyce
    • 3/22/12

    I love Gary Cooper and this is one of his best movies. I do not understand why it is not on more often. My husband loved it also. I saw it 20 years ago and have been searching for it every since. Please put it on dvd.

  • very good movie

    • joyce
    • 3/22/12

    I love this movie. I just saw it tonight (mar. 21, 2012) for the second time. I saw it probably about 15-20 years ago late one night. Gary Cooper is fantastic. I hope they put this movie on dvd. It is one I would like to see periodically. This is one of the best westerns. My husband liked it also.

  • Coops darker side

    • Julie
    • 1/22/12

    I remember watching this movie last year (11) not having seen it before. I love anything that Gary Cooper does especially westerns. I thought it was a pretty good movie, although it seemed a pretty dark character for Coop compared to what he had played before. Karl Malden was really believable as "the bad guy" to the point I really didn't like him at all half way through the movie!!! What made me come back to this review and movie was a autobiographical clip done on a Local PBS station about Gary Cooper. When they were interviewing George C Scott, he mentioned when they were filming in Yakima, WA!!! At the time I watched this movie I had no idea that it was filmed only about 40 miles away!!! So, I really cannot wait till TCM shows it again in March so I can watch more carefully and really look at the cinematography. Unfortunately, I don't remember much of Mr Scott's performance, the three that stuck out were Malden, Cooper and Schell. I found it interesting that one of Scott's comments was, when they were in Yakima, Coop was asked to come out of his trailer to sign autographs which he did willingly, Scott wouldn't be bothered!!! REALLY?? Here Coop was the veteran actor, who had more prestige then Scott could even think of, (this being his first film) and he had the grace and integrity to sign autographs for some youngsters and Scott couldn't be bothered!!! Gary Cooper was an exceptional actor and an awesome guy!!!

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Russ Gardner
    • 10/24/11

    This is one of the movies that I have been looking for on TCM and thank you so much for bringing it out. Now I hope they bring it back on DVD so I can purchase it. Been waiting a long time to see it. Thank you TCM

  • The Hanging Tree

    • John Vondrak
    • 10/21/11

    Thanks for finally showing this great film. I'll lend my voice to the others in this forum by saying please bring The Hanging Tree to DVD!

  • "The Hanging Tree" a Gothic Western

    • Harry Keim
    • 9/9/11

    This movie has to viewed in context of the times. It is post MacArthy erra. The topic of a woman trying to be independent and is assaulted and raped by a Gold rush miner in a boom town was earth shaking for the times. Coop and new commers to like Anerican films the German actress Maria Schell, The Brothers Karamazov (1958_film) and sister of Max Schell a well known actor in the USA at the time was an adventure in itself. Add to it The great theme song Written by Jerry Livingstonabd Scire by Max Steiner, song sung by Marty Robbins. The theme song is used in the begining and end of thd movie just like "High Noon" worksWell. With performances of veteran character Carl Malden "Street Car Named Desire", and George C.Scott his first major film appearance are treats. The dark characters with well developed personalities are not the typical western movie. The dark past of Doc Frail/Cooper plays Doc Frail a very flawed man, with a tragic dark past ala "Othello" and saves a young man from bein hung for stealing and manipulates him by the threat of exposing him. A human bondage relationship that the two principle chacters end up having with Doc Frail. It is later learned that Doc has a past of his own darker than the heroine (Maria Schell) and the boy. The climax and the confrontation of issues and human conflict are dramatic in this film. It is much more extreme than the episodes in High Noon. The scenery is little seen area in Eastern Washington where I used to deer hunt near the Yakima Indian Reservation. Principal photography was done on location in the "Oak Creek Wildlife Area;" it is located in the mountains west of Yakima, Washington. The cinematography and color for the period was wonderful. I recommend it with five stars. It amazes me the junk that makes it's way to DVD and a gem like this site in the archive. I blame the critics for the problems involving the release of this movie to DVD and the over exposure to early TV releases.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Romelle Hughes
    • 8/31/11

    My favorite movie and can't find it anywhere and haven't seen it in years and missed it on TMC, so sad. Want to buy it on DVD but no where to be found in USA format. Please advise why this is. I read once its because Gary Cooper didn't like the movie. Well, it was one of his best. Could I please have a date & time when you will be playing the movie again, and if there will be a chance we will be able to get it on DVD.Thank You

  • Another Vote to put "The Hanging Tree" on DVD!

    • Dianne
    • 7/23/11

    I just saw "The Hanging Tree" for the first time the other night on TCM. It instantly became one of my all-time favorite westerns. Gary Cooper was great, the story was terrific and what an ending! I immediately wanted to buy it on DVD, but to my dismay, I discovered that it was not available. I, too, like many others here, would love to see this movie brought to DVD. Maybe TCM could help in this regard. Also, I noticed that it was not going to be shown again on TCM until October 21st. At the very least perhaps you could arrange to have it shown sooner.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Caralynn Bouvoin
    • 7/19/11

    Thanks for finally showing this movie. I've been waiting 50 years to see it again. My favorite Gary Cooper movie, then comes Friendly Persuasion. Probably saw this at the drive-in movies, when they were popular in the 1950's. My vote is to get it on DVD. A TCM fan only since 2008, you are my number one viewing channel.The movie is fine acting and wonderful scenery.

  • When is this coming out on DVD??

    • demps66
    • 7/19/11

    I have always loved this Western and have wanted to own it for years, but its never been on DVD. I hope they do get it out there--it's shown so rarely.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Stephanie Schlegel
    • 6/17/11

    My Dad has requested "The Hanging Tree" Movie with Gary Cooper for quite a few years now as a gift that one of us three kids to get him. But the sad thing is, we have never been able to find it for purchase on DVD, just on VHS. But who even has a VHS machine this day and age. Our's pooped out on us years ago. This is one of my Dad's all time favorites!!! Please, please consider releasing it on DVD ASAP!!! We, his family would like to see this movie ourselves and would like to be able to give this DVD to him!!! I can tell from the other reviews that there is more people that are waiting for the release of The Hanging Tree on DVD. Please hear our cry.

  • happy old times

    • doug
    • 5/25/11

    my dad and i saw this on tv in 1977 when i was in 7th grade----it had a super part at the end when she gives up her gold to save gary coopers life and they play the song (hanging tree)----my dad said to me that love is worth more than all the gold in the world and i remember it to this day--to a guy like me being 13 at the time i had to think about it-my dad has been gone for 20 years but that special night watching hanging tree will always be with me---pass this movie on to your child--its great

  • Thanks

    • Walt
    • 5/21/11

    Thanks for airing Hanging Tree. It is one of my favorite Westerns. For years I was waiting for someone to play the show uninterrupted. TCM is one of the main reasons we still have cable.

  • The Hanging Tree (1959) with Gary Cooper

    • Jeff Jones
    • 3/1/11

    Could you please tell me when this movie will ever, ever be on DVD? Been waiting for years and years. It's such a good western movie with Gary Cooper, Maria Schell and Karl Malden.Got any information on this? Much appreciated. Thankyou...

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Fran Head
    • 2/27/11

    There are 4 Gary Cooper movies that stand out for me: They Came to Cordura, High Noon, The Fountainhead (which I saw on TCM for the first time last year-excellent movie!) and The Hanging Tree. The Hanging Tree stands out because its main character is a contrast to other parts Gary Cooper has played. He's a flawed man who is searching for something (redemption?) in this dreary mining town and who finds it in his relationships with the people who live there. It's good drama, good acting and a good story--maybe not his best, but certainly one of my top 4. If it was shown on TCM, I'd watch it every time. If it was on DVD, I'd buy it so I could watch it as often as I wanted.

  • The Hanging tree.

    • Dave Anderson
    • 2/12/11

    Dear Sirs: "Kathy", my wife is tearminally ill with brain cancer! This is her favoriate movie of all time and it would put a big smile on her lovley little face if they could make this movie avalable to us. She does not ask for much and never complains of her fate, so if you could arrange for her to have her own copy I would be willing to pay any amount for my wife's smile once again before she passes away. "GOD" Bless you, & Thank You, Dave Anderson --- dav1942@msn.com ---

  • The Hanging Tree (1959)

    • Celia Trimboli
    • 12/7/10

    Excellent adult western. Shows how unpleasant mining towns most likely were.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Mary Martinez
    • 10/22/10

    My parents and I love this movie and many others like it. Unfortunately movies nowadays are not this classy. Too much violence, profanity and sex. We older people are still very much alive and well and would appreciate it if a lot of the older classics would be provided on DVD so that our young people can appreciate the same types of movies we use to enjoy. Turner Classic Movies on cable needs to show more of these great oldies. There are very few western movies produced. Please get us away from what the world is becoming and get back to the real romance of life.

  • would buy it at any price

    • lana lones
    • 9/11/10

    This movie is one I will never forget. It kept you on the edge of your seat. Why wouldn't it be available for families to watch? I've looked everywhere for it. I would recommend it to anyone who loves westerns, dramas, action and romance movies.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Brian Boad
    • 8/30/10

    A classic Gary Cooper movie up there with High Noon. Beautifully filmed in Yakima, Washington with then unknown George C. Scott. A must see movie for Gary Cooper fans.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Gregory
    • 5/19/10

    Actually, it is a gold-mining camp, not a western town, but the movie is one of Coopers best...It was George C. Scotts debut film, and is star studded....It is also LONG OVERDUE for release to DVD....Great soundtrack coversong by Marty Robbins. Filming is awesome location, and one of my all time favorites.....

  • Better than High Noon! The Hanging Tree!

    • Kim
    • 1/17/10

    I first saw this movie in black and white,it is outstanding! Gary Cooper is great as Doc Frail as is Maria Schell as Elizabeth Mahler. The story is a classic Western with a love story, gunfighter and gold. The music is great in it similar to High Noon. Classic! Classic! The camera shots in the ending scene where Gary Cooper holds Maria Schell's face in his hands under the hanging tree is fantastic! This movie had young supporting actors who later became great actors, Karl Malden, George C. Scott. This movie is a must for any Gary Cooper fan!

  • The Hanging Tree, a forgotten classic

    • Greg Keene
    • 9/27/09

    An enjoyable movie from the "It could have happened" side of things. I saw it at the drive-in and actually watched the show! I have seen it on television some time ago and am surprised it hasn't been on TCM, I'm even more surprised it is not out for sale. The Hanging Tree may not have been the greatest movie ever, but it is ahead of a lot of the releases of today. This is one of Cooper's better movies and needs to be shown as an example of his work.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Anna Marie
    • 8/23/09

    I agree with Julio. The Hanging Tree is an excellent movie. I saw it several years ago and never forgot it. Wish it would be shown on TCM or come out on DVD. I guess Gary Cooper's estate has some reason this movie has not been released.

  • 0ne of Gary Cooper's better movies.

    • Julio
    • 6/30/09

    The Hanging Tree has a strong story.Excellent cast. I have been looking for it to be shown on TCM.

  • show this movie on tmc

    • pat baia
    • 5/24/09

    would like to see this movie come out on dvd

  • Bring back The Hanging Tree

    • Barbara
    • 5/8/09

    I agree with Deryl. I don't understand why this movie is not available for viewing. I remember watching it years ago and have never been able to find it since. It is one of the few movies that has always stuck with me and and it is so frustrating to not be able to see it again.

  • The Hanging Tree- Best western of that era

    • Deryl
    • 5/8/09

    I can't figure out why this movie hasn't been made available on DVD or why it is never shown on cable. It is simply one of the best westerns of all time.

  • Originally in wide-screen?

    • Scott Schilling
    • 4/23/09

    I have one of the very rare VHS videotapes of this movie, in superb condition (Today, I saw it selling for over $200 on the net!). Does anyone know--was this movie originally filmed in wide-screen (WarnerVision)? The location shots must be astounding.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Trice
    • 4/5/09

    It is a real shame this movie cannot be seen. In my opinion it is one of the best westerns ever made. I am 58 and remeber seeing this movie as a child and every time in the past that is was available for viewing, I had to watch it, but that has been years since it has been on TV or has been made available for home viewing. Please make it available for purchase.

  • The Hanging Tree available on Video

    • Judith
    • 7/3/08

    The Hanging Tree was released on Video several years ago, but only so many copies were made. I personally have 2. They frequently come up for auction on ebay, but buyer beware...make sure that you ask questions. Not a rental - not a copy - american and not international...etc. They are even making copies on DVD now. I have one of those too. They are off of the VCR tape. I got it off of ebay also thinking it had finally been released on DVD...NOT. The copy is not bad though. Anyway, just wanted to let everyone know that there are copies available. Judith

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Katherine Hodge
    • 6/9/08

    I saw this movie when I was ten years old and thought it was one of the best westerns I'd ever seen. I'm now 59 andwoul love to see it again and purchase it on DVD.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Dick N
    • 6/3/08

    Does anybody know why this Gary Cooper western is still not available on dvd?

  • Hanging tree on DVD!!

    • Lee
    • 3/16/08

    Lne of thebest Westerns I've even see! Classic Cooper, wonderful music and performances.! Cooper fans would love this one!!

  • The Hanging Tree - Great Gary Cooper film

    • Evelyn
    • 3/6/08

    I saw The Hanging Tree originally and think it should be made available to Gary Cooper fans. The performances were outstanding; karl Malden & Cooper were absolutely tops as well as the rest of the supporting cast. I look forward to seeing this film available on DVD.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • carol
    • 2/14/08

    The Hanging Tree was a classic movie I have been trying to buy or rent this movie for a few years. Now looking at your home video vote I see its not available for home video. If its at all possible could i be notified of when it will be available. thanks

  • Robert Osborne, Please read this!

    • John
    • 1/23/08

    I was 12 when this film was released. I never had the opportunity to view it but have loved the Marty Robbins recording of the title song for 49 years. I recently read that this movie marked the debut of George C. Scott, another reason for TCM to show it.My guess is that The Hanging Tree is not in the TCM library but hopefully someday it will be.

  • I agree

    • sylvia
    • 1/2/08

    I agree with the others the movie The Hanging Tree is a truly excellent Gary Cooper movie, we always watched it with great enthuasium and enjoyment, please show it . It should always be in the Gary Cooper line up . Thank You Also Maria Schell is outstanding as the blind girl and Karl Malden is exceptional.

  • Please show the movie.

    • Steven J. Beeler
    • 12/12/07

    When the hangin tree was filmed my uncle had a part as an exstra in the story.And I have been trying to buy or rent the film for some years now.What has happened to that old classic? Marty Robbins played a big part in the making of it. As the lead song and title became a big hit for him,In 1959.So please play the movie!!!!! Thanks, Steven J.

  • " Awesome Movie "

    • Albert Clements
    • 10/26/07

    I cannot believe that this classic western is not on your list to be shown.

  • A Gary Cooper Classic

    • Rob
    • 10/7/07

    I would hope that Turner Classic Movies runs this great Gary Cooper western and makes it available as a DVD soon. I have a personal connection to this movie as it was made in my hometown area of Yakima Wasington. My sister and I were nearly cast as extras but the cast and film crew brought enough of their own children and we were not needed. The remains of the tree that hollywood created in a forrest of ponderosa pine still lays down the cliff were the tree stood.

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Lynn
    • 8/16/07

    One of the classic westerns of the past. It should be made available to new viewers. Other movies of a lot less quality have been restored, why not this one?

  • The Hanging Tree W/Gary Cooper

    • Colleen
    • 6/12/07

    Would like to see this movie againwhen will it be scheduled and availableon dvd???

  • The Hanging Tree

    • Dick
    • 5/25/07

    When will TCM schedule The Hanging Treewith Gary Cooper?

  • A forgotten classic!

    • Barry Petterson
    • 2/2/06

    It would be great to see old classics like this restored and represented to the public instead of some of the mindless, violent tripe we veiw today as "Westerns".

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.