skip navigation
Guys and Dolls

Guys and Dolls(1955)

  • Thursday, November 13 @ 07:30 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Guys and Dolls A big-city gambler bets that... MORE > $9.99 Regularly $14.98 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • GUYS AND DOLLS

    • will
    • 2/21/14

    Great old fun Damon Runyan musical based on the hit Broadway show. It pays to pay your dues in show business. Example, Sheldon Leonard always playing the greasy, heavy, gangster with a slow drawl. Biding his time, never getting a shot at a lead part, in the 40s. Then boom! along comes television. He invests his time, energy and money in sitcoms, Danny Thomas, Andy Griffith, quiz shows and on and on, and ends up as rich as most of the big time movie stars he had to second and third banana for. This movie comes off like you were sitting in a theatre watching a live show. Love the period sets and clothes. Takes me back to when I was a little kid in the early 1950s. Frank Sinatra fits in perfectly with the slang expressions. The skinny kid from Jersey who always had an angle, or a con going on. He was born for this part. Great fun.

  • Guys & Dolls

    • Dashiell B.
    • 3/2/13

    A colourful film adaptation of the Broadway play. Brando makes his musical debut as a suave gambler who bets Sinatra that he can seduce Simmons, in a Golden Globe winning performance. Memorable musical numbers are made more extravagant by the Oscar-nominated cinematography, costumes, production design & score. Not enough interest is put into Sinatra's story as it is into Brando & Simmons obviously-predictable story, but it's still entertaining. I give it a 4/5.

  • Guys and Dolls

    • Wild Bill
    • 2/27/13

    A Fabulous Musical ! Marlon Brando sings . No one uses contractions LOL But it was great !

  • Be a Sport, Pal, and See It

    • Boy from Brooklyn
    • 1/27/13

    The garish cartoonlike sets and costumes are a gas, and just right for this urban fable. Preserving Vivian Blaine's performance of "Adelaide's Lament" and Stubby Kaye's of "Sit Down, You're Rocking the Boat" was a service to posterity. And count me in the party that thinks that Marlon Brando managed to make his very inability to sing and dance interesting. That's enough: "Guys and Dolls" is worth watching, even if the movie makers did chop out a third of the great Frank Loesser score and substitute a lot of draggy lesser material. Play the original cast album or see it on stage sometime to get what you're missing.

  • Great Musical

    • I_Fortuna
    • 1/26/13

    Well, let's give Marlon a break here. He did not do that many musicals. If you have ever been to a stage play the singing and dancing is not all Sinatra and Astair. Let's be realistic. Back in the day many actors were required to sing, dance and act. Those who could not sing had their voices dubbed. I think Marlon was fine. He never claimed to be a Sinatra and Sinatra never claimed to be a Marlon. I like them both in this movie which is done more like a stage production. I like to hear actors in their own voices as long as they are passable. Of course, Marlon was more handsome and a stronger leading man, at least to me. Sinatra was a very good actor and it is very difficult for some musicians to cross over into acting which he did successfully and should be commended for his talent. I enjoy the story and the supporting cast. This is a fun film I recommend it to those who can maintain an open mind.

  • Lousy!

    • jack thehat
    • 1/26/13

    For an A rated film this was awfull--miscast and at times boring. I'm trying to figure out why some liked it. Name recognition I guess. Sam's last and worst!

  • Guys And Dolls - Runyon With Music

    • Bruce Reber
    • 6/22/11

    "Guys and Dolls" (1955) is an entertaining musical comedy based on a Damon Runyon story, featuring colorful New York characters and a great Frank Loesser music score. The photography, sets and costumes also add to the overall atmosphere of this classic musical. It would have liked to see "Guys and Dolls" with the two male leading roles reversed, i.e. Marlon Brando as Nathan Detroit and Frank Sinatra as Sky Masterson. I hear that Sinatra really wanted the role of Sky, and he was quite disappointed when it went to Brando. I think that Sinatra was way more suited for the role, especially the "Luck Be A Lady" number, which Brando sings (he was certainly one of the greatest actors ever, but he left much to be desired as a singer). Sinatra got some payback later on when he scored a huge hit with "Luck Be A Lady", which went on to become one of his all-time standards. Jean Simmons, Vivian Blaine, Stubby Kaye and the rest of the cast all give good performances in their roles, but the casting of Brando seems to be the one gaffe in an otherwise excellent film. One of the popular male vocalists of the day should have been cast as Sky, but I don't know who it could have been.

  • Sinatra vs. Brando

    • Annie
    • 5/22/11

    I've seen this movie countless times since I was a kid. I've always loved it; love the sets, colors, songs and acting...wellll, except for Brando. I've never liked Brando even when I was a kid. It was interesting (and not surprising) reading Rob Nixon's "behind the camera" scuttlebutt on the rivalry between Sinatra and Brando. It's unfortunate, though, that Mankiewicz seemingly sided with Brando--I thought him a better judge of character--he's certainly a brilliant director. I agree with Sinatra (if he really said it) that Brando is one of the most over-rated actors ever. He [Brando] has never brought me to tears, say the way Sinatra did in Von Ryan's Express, Some Came Running, and From Here to Eternity (where, incidentally, he played a supporting role and stole the screen!). If Brando was over-rated as a musical thespian--which I think he was, Sinatra was most certainly under-rated as an actor. Whenever I think of this film, I think of Frank Sinatra, Vivian Blaine, and Stubby Kaye...I always forget that Brando and Simmons were also in this film. I'll bet I'm not the only one.

  • Classic Musical

    • GenevieveRose
    • 2/10/10

    Guys and Dolls is yet another over-achieving musical from the days of true show business. Well cast, and even a believable story, nearly every song is hit-worthy and just begging to be sung along to. Frank Sinatra is marvelous as Nathan Detroit, playing his part with melancholic passion fitting to his character, and who needs to ask whether The Voice had great songs or not? Marlon Brando does, however, very nearly steal the show as Sky Masterson. Perhaps Marlon could never have been a singer, but only one song, 'Luck Be a Lady' reveals his if-y voice. However, it is sung with such passion and meaning that it hardly matters that he was no crooner. Jean Simmons is delightful, as are the other characters. This film will make you laugh and sigh. It is one of those which can be watched over and over, and then over again.

  • A Little Bit of Everything

    • Vicki
    • 4/14/08

    This is one of my favorite musicals. Everyone in the movie plays a great part, and it has something for everyone! Who knew Brando could be in a musical? This is a MUST SEE for anyone that appreciates a good love story, a good comedy and/or a good musical.

  • great

    • megan
    • 11/30/06

    This is a good movie with good acting. I was hooked to watching it right away.Nice romance story. The begining of the typical guy dates girl because of bet. guy falls in love with girl until she is told about bet.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.