skip navigation
Gun Crazy

Gun Crazy(1950)

  • Friday, November 7 @ 10:45 PM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Gun Crazy Two disturbed young people... MORE > $49.98 Regularly $49.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Great cinematography!

    • Ron Strelecki
    • 3/27/13

    Ahead of it's time film with camera work better than many of today's films. Especially noteworthy are the in-car shots, actually done with the actors driving. In the ballpark & laying the groundwork for films like "Bullitt" & "The French Connection". Brings back memories of the finesse required of driving cars WITHOUT power steering!

  • "Be good ... so long, honey!"

    • Jeff Boston
    • 3/24/13

    Great scene with Dall and Cummins in the car approaching the bank and going away, like their Hollywood careers after making this movie. Everyone agrees it was years ahead of its time, but only because we've become accustomed to degenerate anti-heroes and our culture is on a continuous slide down the slope. Dall's wimpy fiend is so dismayed when he discovers his cute little wifey poo Cummins shot and killed two human beings in a span of 2 or 3 minutes, he finally decides to put a stop to it. Not the crime spree, but his hand-wringing: they go dining, dancing, and roller coasting together!

  • Weak men, strong women = film noir

    • RedRain
    • 3/23/13

    This is a fantastically shot film noir with all the requisite subjects for the genre. Improvised dialogue was unheard of in a film noir but much of this film's lines were improvised and it works. I so wish we had seen more of John Dall in film, as this is but one where he shows what a good actor he was. Only eight films but he garnered an Academy Award nomination for one and two of the others are classics. Peggy Cummins excels as the murder crazed wife of Dall. A great film noir that shouldn't be missed!

  • Great Noir

    • Christine
    • 3/22/13

    Don't miss this noir classic. Great story, very innovative photography and impressive performances. I've seen it several times and it is just awesome, especially the bank robbing scene and the climax in the swamp.

  • Just like Bonnie and Cyde

    • maureen v.v.
    • 12/5/12

    Very good drama/action movie. Unfortunately all I kept thinking was "just like the Bonnie and Clyde movie". Even the hat the girl wears in the movie is just like Bonnie's hat.

  • Stunning!

    • MKDO
    • 12/5/12

    A brilliant, gritty noir with great and memorable production values. Sets out to document the destruction and self-destruction of these obsessed lovers and accomplishes its goal masterfully to the tune of that glorious Victor Young ballad, "Mad About You" whose sweet, yearning ardor works in ironic counterpoint with the crime-spree callousness of the principals. A truly great film.

  • Gun Crazy

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 5/17/12

    An amazingly made thriller. Dall is good as a disturbed gun- nut, but he's weak when compared to the crazed Cummins as his wife. The two have great chemistry, even when performing suprisingly startling scenes, we shake when we see the two armed in front of people. A frequently under- rated bur gleeful crime spree film. I give it a 3.5/5.

  • Gun Crazy

    • karrie
    • 10/13/10

    This movie is great!! I wasn't sure when I started to watch it since I didn't know the actors,but am I glad I watched!! this movie is so much fun,just what we have come to love about TCM, I will buy the Film Noir collection that has this film. I hope TCm shows this again soon & it definitly should be on everybody's list of movies to check out,its great!!

  • Gun Crazy, 1950

    • Brizo
    • 7/25/10

    Loved this movie and dont why I've never heard of it before--but movies like this are why I watch TCM !!! A great movie for old car buffs with its massive amount of vehicles and great street scenes. Had unique camera work, well directed with good story pace. Please show it again soon !!

  • Gun Crazy - Thanks TCM!

    • Robin
    • 7/18/10

    "Gun Crazy" is another example of why I love T.C.M. I can't imagine any other entity on television where I would be able to see it. The story, performances and imagery are far superior to most lower budget crime dramas that I have seen. My favorite Film Noir movie is, "Born To Kill", albeit because it is so over the top. In contrast, I found John Dall's portrayal of a lovestruck man who tries desperately to keep his lady, as quite believable. The story keeps from becoming predictable, thus, I was riveted while watching, "Gun Crazy". The code restraints of the time did not hamper that in certain ways, happily. Thank you, Turner Classic Movies, for keeping films such as this from becoming lost forever!

  • Obscure Film Noir Classic

    • Bruce Reber
    • 7/15/10

    I saw that "Gun Crazy" was scheduled to air on TCM 7/14/10 and I knew that I just had to see it. If I have ever seen it I can't remember when or where. It's a powerful story about two young lovers who embark on a life of crime, and is very similar to another film "They Live By Night", directed by Nicholas Ray, with Farley Granger and Cathy O'Donnell, which came out about the same time as "Gun Crazy", starring John Dall and Peggy Cummins. They are both excellent in their roles as two different characters; Dall, who although he has an obsession with guns despises violence and killing; and Cummins, the girl who wants lots of money and life in the fast lane. They both end up paying the price for the life they have chosen and meet a tragic end. I have seen John Dall in two other films-"The Corn Is Green" co-starring with Bette Davis and Alfred Hitchcock's classic thriller "Rope" co-starring with James Stewart and Farley Granger, and he is very good in "Gun Crazy". I also knew little about the films of director Joseph H. Lewis, but he did an excellent job with "Gun Crazy". I recommend this film noir gem to anyone who is a fan of the genre, which I am. Four Stars!Crazy".

  • I'm Crazy for "Gun Crazy"!

    • Amanda
    • 7/14/10

    "Gun Crazy" is better than any recent release and is one of the best thrillers I've ever seen;it stands the test of time and gives Alfred Hitchcock a run for his money. Not only is "Gun Crazy" full of suspense but it is also takes the viewer on a mental roller coaster as the character's actions and the plot itself stems from complex childhood neuroses. The script is extremely well-written and the director gets the best, most emotionally-potent and true performances from the actors.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.