skip navigation
The Green Slime

The Green Slime(1969)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Green Slime A mysterious fungus invades a... MORE > $14.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Love it!

    • Alice
    • 3/23/14

    I grew up with the, "Creature of the Black Lagoon", when it first came out in the early 50's, I think. My little sister and I watched so many of these on Saturday afternoons with our mom, on TV. This little gem reminds me of those great little films, only in color. This kind of "cheesiness", as one viewer described it, is much more preferred by me any day, than the gory, violent, bloody, realistic, stuff that is more common, from the 70's, to this day. The old type is fun to watch. The ultra-violent, bloody stuff, I do not believe is healthy for anyone as a steady diet. Thank you, TCM for this 1969 treat. I had not seen it. Please show this and others like it anytime and often.

  • Part of the cream....

    • Bob Eckert
    • 3/22/14

    This film has Asian directors (main and assistant) which is an instant plus. Although most of the best of low-budget sci-fi was made in the 1950's and early 1960's, this film retains the oeuvre of that period without the budget being quite so low. Remember 2001:A Space Odyssey can out in 1968 and this film is 1969. So it must be said that what little cream of the previous low-budget era was left in 1969, The Green Slime skims it off the top for itself to savor.

  • Monsters and outer space!

    • Paul Salapatas
    • 11/18/11

    That's what The Green Slime has in store for you! If you have an imagination, you won't worry about the cheesiness. What more could you ask for on a friday night? It's 'Godilla meets Alien'!

  • Green Slime Review ( from one of the "extras")

    • Ken
    • 11/17/11

    I am the scientist on the left of the big board tracking the meteor in the beginning of the movie. All the "extras" were GIs from local bases and were there mostly for the fun and experience. As it turned out, that experiential fun made it all worth while, as we never got paid, speaking parts or not. Some of the more focused on extras may have gotten paid, but I lost track of them. The movie was shot in what I now know as a typical indoor "set" which may have been an old airplane hanger close to Tokyo. The director was "old school" Japanese who had made a lot of Japanese gangster movies. He spoke very little English while directing, using an interpreter to shout out the directions. He knew very little American habits or nuances in languages, so there will be very noticeable phrases or customs or "takes" on things that add to the comedy of the flick. It was supposed to be serious and the director wanted it to be an epic sci-fi adventure. To add to it all, one of the "generals" was an armed forces DJ, somewhat well known, and he kept everyone laughing all the time. Most of his joking was at the expense of the director's inexperience with Americans, lack of scientific knowledge and inability to listen to criticism. Everyone wanted the movie to be great and acted to the nth degree. I don't remember what the original name for this movie was, but it was distributed outside the US under another name. I tried to get to the opening of this movie but my duties kept me busy. I think I didn't see this until I had been back in the States for several years. All movies are entertainment. If the entertainment comes from a different direction other than what was intended sometimes just adds to the overall enjoyment.

  • The Green Slime

    • Timothy Crowley
    • 7/27/10

    An excellent old sci-fi flick that's fun to watch!

  • THE GREEN SLIME

    • Waah
    • 7/20/10

    AS HAMMERHEAD SAID, ABOUT THE MOVIE WHEN HE WAS 5, IS QUITE RIGHT. WHEN YOU LIVE THAT ERA OF THE 60 AS I HAVE MOVIES LIKE THAT WERE AWSOME TO SAY THE LEAST. NOW! AS WE LOOK ON AND WATCHIT HAS GONE FROM AWSOME TO FUNNY. NOW YOU HAVE TO ONLY LOOK AT THE SPECIAL EFFECTS NOT THE DIALOG. THEY WERE WELL THAUGHT OUT. HOW CAN THEY CAN GET 4 PEOPLE IN A TOY SPACECRAFT. ITS BEYOND ME.

  • The Green Slime

    • Waah
    • 7/20/10

    Crabs anyone?

  • The Green Slime(1969)

    • nshepard
    • 7/19/10

    I've been Slimed ! Not only does it apply to Ghostbusters but to this well known hilariously bad it is fun to rip attempt at Sci-Fi by Kinji Fukasaku . Better know for "yakusa' Japanese gangster films, he tries to transcend the gap into "Suspension of Disbelief" as an asteroid headed on a collision cousre with "Earth, Must Be Destroyed !" Unwittingly they become attached to a foreign life form"The Green Slime." Well , bad science equals bad films. This is not an exception when Commander Jack Rankin(Robert Horton) and Commander Vince Elliott(Richard Jaeckel) battle for sontrol over the "Space Station" from "The Green Slime"and command for the heart of Dr. Lisa Benson(Luciana Paluzzi), and she is worth fighting for. Creatures that look like Sigmund the Sea Monster with sparklers attacted to their tentacles looks more like an outing on the 4th of July ! Patriotic to say the least. Can you say, Robert, take off your helmet when you are inside the station ? What the Director fails to do intentionally, present a solid Sci-Fi story ,does so unintentionally by causing people to howl with laughter and glee at the bizarre visons of life in Outer Space. So when watching this film , please be advised that you are watching this film not for its science, but its insane hilarity. It gets 1 Star out of 5 ,simply for bringing a smile to your face.

  • green slime

    • LARRY TOOMEY
    • 5/2/10

    it took about 3 years to get THE ILLUSTRATED MAN on dvd and i have bought 6 copy for gifts now I hope it don,t take that long to get GREEN SLIME put on dvd the movie is silly and stupid at times but it,s well made and you can let your kids watch it with you thats saying a lot now days. IT was so hyped up back when it was first released i still have a THE GREEN SLIME ARE COMEING bupper sticker it was on bill boards here in CHATTANOOGA TENNESSEE the green slime were every were. it was great.

  • The Green Slime Terrifies Five Year Old.

    • Hammerhead
    • 2/9/09

    I remember vividly begging my Mom and Dad to take me to see this at the local drive in. I guess I was about 5 or so when it came out. I was so excited all week long it was all I could talk about. I told the Avon lady who'd come to see my Mom about going to go see, "THE GREEN SLIME!" The night to go came and when the movie started, I cried and wanted to go home! Oh well, I guess I wasn't as brave as I thought. As for the film itself, it's high camp on a low dollar budget. American actors hustled in to appeal to the U.S. market. They did the same thing with Godzilla and some other low budget flicks, using American actors or filming extra scenes to give it a more western look. Godzilla for example gained in popularity enough by the early seventies that they no longer needed to do it and the distributors made more money by releasing the films without the added cost of reshoots.

  • Drive -In Memories

    • Patron Zero
    • 12/13/08

    The Green Slime was the first monster film that really stands out in my childhood memories (from the 1960s), what I recall most clearly is the creatures being prominently displayed on the cover of Famous Monsters Of Filmland, a required reading as part of growing up in 60s America itself. It was the first issue of that magazine my mother refused to buy for me, subsequently my whining and wheedling got her to take me later that week to see the movie at our local drive-in, of course it was paired up with another 'rubber monster' b-movie of what title I have forgotten. One last note to this story is the scene in the concession stand between films when I discovered a huge (well,larger than child-sized me at the time) stand-up lobby poster with a near life-sized Green Slime monster, this was going home with me so off I carried it to the car, the theater manager just smiled and nodded, my mother had other ideas, so with a slightly stinging butt I watched the second feature pinning over my lost treasure.

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.