skip navigation
The Great Dictator

The Great Dictator(1941)

  • Saturday, February 7 @ 04:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down
share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Great Dictator A Jewish barber takes the... MORE > $29.95 Regularly $29.95 Buy Now blu-ray

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Look up, Hannah

    • Dawn
    • 6/3/13

    This has to rank among the all-time great movies. Beautifully photographed, with moments of laugh-out-loud humor set over a theme of underlying horror. Charlie's speech at the end is worth hearing over and again.

  • My First Charlie Chaplin Full Film

    • GypsyPi3000
    • 4/16/13

    Wow! I am absolutely amazed at this film. Previously, I've really only known Chaplin as the iconic funny mime guy. But this film showed me a depth about him that I was unaware of. So, this is kind of rare, but I am honored that I was able to see this talkie. Thanks to Mr. Chaplin for making it and thank you to TCM for showing it to me. I laughed, smiled, saw irony, satire, tragedy, hope, inspiration, and tears all in this one simple film. The ending speech was so poignant to me. How much more so are we all linked to one another now through this here internet. So how much more so do we need to show love to our fellow man, so these monstrosities, like Hitler, are never allowed to ride on the tidal waves of our own fears ever again.

  • Great Classic(1941)

    • nshepard
    • 4/16/13

    Far be it for Chaplin not to take on History itself as he parodies the tragedy of War and the Great misguided/twisted Egos that inspire it, kinda like Washington today. Adenoid Hynkle/Jaeckel the Barber(Charlie Chaplin) in a tour-de-force performance also directs this film in an inspiring assault against tyranny/oppression Basically using Hitler as his foil and the backdrop of WW II as his canvass, Chaplin expresses the perfect dynamics of how some people profit from the suffering of others, like America today. Taught , never a wasted scene, each builds upon the other to a dramatic conclusion. Highly original, a true classic in every sense, it is one of the most humane films ever created , based on inhumanity. 5 stars out of 5.

  • Brilliant satire!

    • RedRain
    • 4/16/13

    For the life of me, I cannot understand why Hitler liked this film. I believe he may not have fully understood Chaplin was laughing at him throughout! I do not believe there is another film out there that is as satirically brilliant as this one. There are so many scenes that absolutely amaze the viewer. The balloon world scene is just one of them. Not only is Hitler satirized but so is Mussollini (Napoloni) and it is equally brilliant satire. The entire Nazi regime is made fun of here but it is Chaplin who is so remarkable throughout this film. I have viewed this film dozens of time and I never cease finding one more thing that I hadn't noticed before. Look for the detail!

  • The Great Dictator

    • Dashiell Barnes
    • 8/1/12

    Chaplin's first talkie is simultaneously funny & a brave stand against totalitarian government. Chaplin wrote, directed & earned a Best Actor nomination, Oakie was nominated as the Mussolini-like dictator. Like most of Chaplin's films it has it's memorable gags, but this is unique film considering the context of it themes & the time the picture was made. A funny, touching & powerful film that went toe-to-toe against Hitler's evil. I give it a 4.5/5.

  • maybe i need to see it again

    • chris
    • 8/3/11

    I saw it only this once and it lost me. Maybe another time will be better. I did like Oakie,

  • "The Great Dictator"

    • Taylor
    • 8/3/11

    This is by far the greatest Charlie Chaplin movie I have ever seen. Chaplin shows us how the people were treated before Hitler came into power and it sent a great deal of emotions through me. He uses symbolism to foreshadow what was to come. His speech at the end moved me greatly. He spoke for all of us today and his voice will be forever heard. Thank you Charlie Chaplin, for giving hope to the future generations.

  • Too Good...

    • Sean R. Moran
    • 4/17/11

    Great anti-war film... A true classic that deserves the attention of all people.

  • Classic Satire Of Hitler And Nazism

    • Bruce Reber
    • 12/3/10

    "The Great Dictator" (1940), written, produced and directed by Charlie Chaplin is one of the best satirical films of all time. It's also very daring, because at the time it was made Adolf Hitler was at the height of his power as dictator of Nazi Germany, and he had just invaded Poland to start WW2. MGM released two films at the same time, "The Mortal Storm" and "Escape" which also dealt with Nazism, but in a totally serious and dramatic way. The American studios were reluctant about making these kind of films, mainly because they didn't want to lose the lucrative German market for their product. However, that all changed on December 7, 1941 when Japan attacked Pearl Harbor and the U.S. entered WW2. I disagree with one of the previous reviewers who said that Hitler had a tendency toward humor and would have laughed at "The Great Dictator". Nothing about Hitler impressed me that he had any semblance of a sense of humor, in fact I think he would have been totally outraged at Chaplin's portrayal of him and such an obvious lampooning of Nazism (Adenoid Hynkel/Adolf Hitler, Herring/Hermann Goering, Garbitsch/Josef Goebbels, Tomania/Germany, the sign of the Double-Cross/Swastika). I also heard that this was one of the first films banned by The Third Reich. Chaplin also made no effort to disguise the fact that the victims of Hynkel's persecution were Jews. My favorite scene in "The Great Dictator" is the quasi-ballet with Hynkel fantasizing about world domination while playing with the balloon globe. I would like to see this classic satire on DVD (I could have sworn that it WAS already on DVD) - I rate it as one of the best films ever. Four Stars!!!

  • BALLOON SCENE WITH HITLER

    • william gauslow
    • 11/30/10

    The balloon at the beginning of the scene is quite different from the balloon at the end of the scene (just before it pops). States altered. Explain to me the difference. I know the answer.

  • THE SCENE WITH HITLER AND MUSSILINI

    • william gauslow
    • 11/30/10

    How did the Pasadena, California city hall get involed in this scene ??? Isn't Pasadena in California and isn't Berlin in Germany ??? Just exposing a movie discrepency. I suspect the Reigstadt wasn't available for this shot.

  • THE GREAT DICTATOR

    • william gauslow
    • 11/30/10

    I just saw several palms trees on Charlies march in prison. I didn't know there were palm trees in Germany. Hitler was power hungery, but this is ridiculous.

  • Hitler and Chaplin

    • sarah
    • 5/10/08

    Actually, one of Hitler's aids said that Hitler ordered the film twice and likely saw it more than once. Given Hitler's bent towards humor, he would have laughed at it rather than have been angry over it. The Nazi party, however, did falsely portray Chaplin as a Jew to the German people and probably did make threats to his safety, but Chaplin was more concerned about the US government okaying the film to be released.

  • Still as poignant as 1941

    • Narvin
    • 9/22/07

    Dictators will always rise to suppress. Even now, in 2007, leaders with power will still use it to impress the world. In the name of liberty people have died, are dying and will die. The question of how much liberty we really have continues to haunt us.

  • The Great Dictator

    • Craig
    • 4/13/07

    Is it true Adolf Hitler got bent out of shape over this movie , made threats to Mr Chaplin?

  • WHAT A GREAT SPEACH IS ALL ABOUT!!!!!!

    • Virginia
    • 2/16/07

    THIS IS A GREAT MOVIE, JUST FOR THE SPEACH HE GIVES, I COULD JUST CRY, HE SPEAKS THE WORDS OF TRUTH, I LOVE IT!!!!!!

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.