skip navigation
The Grapes of Wrath

The Grapes of Wrath(1940)

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

The Grapes of Wrath Oklahoma farmers dispossessed... MORE > $19.98 Regularly $19.98 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • The Grapes of Wrath

    • John
    • 8/11/13

    Overall-4/5Lead Performers-5/5Supporting Cast-4/5Director-4/5Score-4/5Titles-2/5Screenplay-3/5Cinematography-4/5Importance-4/5Recommendation for fans of the genre-4/5

  • The Grapes of Wrath

    • Dashiell B.
    • 4/3/13

    Part history lesson and part social critique, this is a magnificent adaptation of Steinbeck's book. An family psychologically traumatized by being uprooted from their home seek work and a new beginning in California. Fonda was nominated for his first Oscar as an ex-con who joins his family's journey, Darwell won the Best Supporting Actress award as his mother. Ford won his second Best Director Academy Award for bringing the sense of suffering to the people who were still grieving during the Great Depression. Changing the ending to emphasize the people instead of the politics, this is an outstanding film from everyone involved. I give it a 5/5.

  • Grapes of Wrath

    • I_Fortuna
    • 2/9/13

    Except for many of those in the older generation, people may believe that this was not a reality during the Depression. It was and this film depicts the terrible poverty and hardship that plagued many people well into the 50's and beyond. Leonard and I sure agree on the importance of this film.

  • You need a hand up, we'll give you a hand out

    • Jeff Boston
    • 1/3/13

    No one helps the Joads in this entire film except for the federal government. FICTION at its fakest.

  • Good Grapes

    • ojc
    • 11/5/12

    An excellent movie in every sense of the word. Well acted, well directed. Wonderful cast. Moving and thought provoking. I would imagine some younger viewer who don't know about the Depression might find some of the details both puzzling and troubling. It is true that the novel is even more grim, but for its day this film was fairly rough stuff. It is a moving and memorable picture. Well worth the journey.

  • MY MOTHER WAS 'MA JOAD"

    • TOM ENGELHARDT
    • 6/6/12

    MY MOTHER WAS BORN IN 1916 IN BRIDGEPORT ,CONNECTICUT. SHE LATER MIGRATED TO "THE BRONX", N.Y.,WAS MARRIED AND HAD THREE SONS. BY THE END OF WORLD WAR II , STILL LIVING IN VARIOUS TENEMENTS IN THE BRONX, WAS ABANDONED BY MY FATHER (WHO WOULD SUBSEQUENTLY BE FOUND DEAD IN THE STREETS OF MANHATTAN FROM ALCOHOLISM) BUT MY MOTHER WAS THE BACKBONE OF THE FAMILY. SHE HAD TO ASK FOR "HOME RELIEF" IN ORDER TO FEED US AND PAY THE RENT. SHE EVENTUALLY GOT OFF 'HOME RELIEF', STARTING AS A SECRETARY IN ST. BARNABUS HOSPITAL, AND EVENTUALLY BECOMING THE EXECUTIVE SECRETARY TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE HOSP. ALL THIS BECAUSE SHE HAD A WONDERFUL EDUCATION FROM ST. THOMAS AQUINAS HIGH SCHOOL, WHICH TAUGHT 'SHORT HAND' IN PITTMAN AND GREGG. IT IS 'MA' IN THE GRAPES OF WRATH THAT I CAN SO EASILY RELATE TO MY OWN MOTHER, NO MATTER HOW HARD THINGS WERE, 'MA' MADE THE FAMILY COME THROUGH.

  • the grapes of wrath

    • Ana
    • 2/26/12

    one of the best movies ever.it should be shown on the lg screen for the today's youth that have been living relatievely good life to understand out past might be coming future

  • In Government We Trust

    • Jeff Boston
    • 2/25/12

    In "The Grapes of Wrath" (1940), the only place the Joad family and others catch a break from the harsh realities of life is at the camp run by the federal government. In fact, life is nearly ideal at the camp, in stark contrast to literally everywhere else the Joad family travels.The federal government and its employees are the only ones who care. This movie has inspired me to move into Section 8 housing.

  • The Grapes of Wrath (1940)

    • Jeff
    • 6/30/11

    Another powerful film is brought to life by John Ford and an ensemble cast. The film is about Oklahoma farmers who travel to find better lives in California. Henry Fonda is a standout in the cast, giving one of his best performances while Jane Darwell and John Carradine do the same. Ford does a great job directing this film. While the film may be a bit too long, the performances and direction make up for that.

  • Ford, Fonda, Darwell Masterpiece

    • David Atkins
    • 10/10/10

    John Ford created a movie masterpiece in the film version of John Steinbeck's great novel "The Grapes of Wrath".Henry Fonda gives one of the cinema's great performances and was nominated for an Oscar. I feel he should have won but he lost to his best friend James Stewart in The Philadelphia Story.Jane Darwell is incomparable as Ma Joad and Ms. Darwell justly won the Oscar for her performance. The final scenes whereFonda says goodbye to Ms. Darwell is acting at its finest.Bravo to Henry Fonda, Jane Darwell and the rest of the ensemble cast and to the great John Ford.

  • Powerful Film

    • Bruce Reber
    • 8/5/09

    "The Grapes of Wrath", the film version of John Steinbeck's classic book show that the people hit the hardest by The Great Depression were America's farm families. They were forced off their land by the U.S. government and they had to take to the road in search of jobs as migrant workers, working for practically nothing and living in squalid conditions in work camps. Henry Fonda gives a solid, powerful performance as Tom Joad, an Oklahoma sharecropper who heads for California with his family when the government takes their land. They face many hardships along the way (practically no food, living in filthy migrant work camps and mistreatment from both the law and the people they work for.) Anyone who sees this film has to wonder how the things shown in "Grapes of Wrath" could happen here in America. When the Joads finally arrive at a work camp run by the U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, you see that at least some effort was being made during the Depression to help these people. I compare "Grapes of Wrath" to William Wellman's "Wild Boys of The Road" (1933), as both films show the effect of the Depression on the lower classes in America and their struggle to survive.

  • John Steinbeck and John Ford's best

    • Vinny Castellano
    • 8/3/09

    The Grapes of Wrath is both a great novel and an excellent movie. John Ford did a terrific job transferring the lengthy novel to the screen. The story of the Joad family is both heartrending and heartlifting. There are so many poignant scenes and memorable lines in the novel, and the actors deliver them with genuine emotion. One of the most touching scenes in any movie is when Tom Joad dances with his mother. Henry Fonda and Jane Darwell are sublime. Lastly, Fonda's speech at the end was worth an academy award. Read the book and watch the movie. It helped me count my blessings.

  • A film that needed to be made...

    • Steve S.
    • 8/3/09

    from a book that needed to be written about a story that needed to be told!A powerful movie from the like's of Ford, Zanuck, Nunnally Johnson et al.The film is beyond a classic - it is timeless because character's such as Tom & Ma Joad make it so.This is a must see for ALL generation's.

  • The Grapes of Wrath (1940)

    • Jay Higgins
    • 7/20/09

    One of the greatest films to come out of Hollywood. Director John Ford does an amazing job bringing the classic story to the screen. I feel it's his greatest movie. Henry Fonda gives his best performance ever, Jane Darwell deservedly won an Oscar for her brilliant portrayal. Poignant, moving with great cinematography. Absolutely an amazing classic.

  • This movie will stay with you forever!

    • Tony
    • 12/25/07

    This film is absolutely riveting! There are so many memorable scenes; Ma before the mirror looking at herself and realizing that her youth is gone, Henry Fonda's narrations on the realities of life, all the difficulties and pain that happen in this life, and the scene in the beginning with John Carradine playing the half crazy ex-preacher talking while the wind is howling in the background! This is one of my all time favorite films!

  • Excellent Movie

    • Chris
    • 11/26/06

    This movie had an awesome cast and excellent story line. It is a good showing of the rough times that some went through in those days.

  • Well acted film of the great John Steinbeck novel

    • michele
    • 5/15/06

    The acting in this movie is terrific, especially the role of Ma. The movie captures the theme of the novel with feeling and sensitivity. It would take six or more hours to portray all the parts of this book, and I feel the director did a good job working within the time restrictions that are part of the reality of films. I believe this film will touch the heart of anyone who sees it. After you see the movie, read the book and fully experience a great American novel.

  • Not a very good movie

    • Candy
    • 3/31/06

    The movie skips out on a lot of parts and is really a disgrace to a great novel .. I don't suggest watching it ...

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.