skip navigation
Good-Bye, My Lady

Good-Bye, My Lady(1956)

  • Sunday, November 30 @ 10:15 AM (ET) - Reminder REMINDER
Up
Down

TCM Messageboards
Post your comments here
ADD YOUR COMMENT>

share:
Remind Me

TCMDb Archive MaterialsView all archives (0)

DVDs from TCM Shop

Good-Bye, My Lady A stray dog brings together a... MORE > $19.99 Regularly $19.99 Buy Now

USER REVIEWS

user reviews

See Detailed Ratings
    Acting of Lead Performers
    Acting of Supporting Cast
    Director
    Music Score
    Title Sequence
  • No Ratings Available Add Yours Now
    Screenplay
    Cinematography
    Historical Importance
    Would You Recommend?
  • 0 Member Ratings

Add your ratings! Each of the detailed ratings you select will result in a cumulative score for this film.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

You can also write a review by clicking here. Your review will then be posted for everyone to read.

    Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
    Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
    Rate the Director
    Rating of the Music Score
    Rating of the Title Sequence
    Screenplay
    Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
    Importance in Cinema history
    Would you recommend for fans of this genre
Submit Ratings Cancel Write a Review Read Reviews

*By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use. TCM will use your personal information consistent with our Privacy Policy

NO REVIEWS AVAILABLE

The title has not been reviewed. Be the first to write a review by clicking here to start.

  • Spare, blunt and bracingly lovely

    • Marjorie Preston
    • 11/1/13

    Brandon de Wilde can do no wrong, and he's just right in this tale of a young country boy who finds and falls in love with an unusual hunting dog, then is called upon to relinquish her when he learns she belongs to a wealthy breeder. "Goodbye My Lady" is not overly sentimental and is stronger for it--extraordinarily poignant and moving. Just saw it for the first time on TCM, and look forward to seeing it again.

  • Enjoyable Film

    • Jerry
    • 10/29/13

    In this day with the violence and profanity in almost every film, it was enjoyable to sit back and become immersed in a 1950's film about about a boy and his dog and his maturation into a young man. Big fan of Walter Brennan and the director, Wellman, who always are part of quality films.

  • Hickory Nuts?

    • mugsy
    • 10/27/13

    That's a 20 gauge shotgun Skeeter be wantin'. I ain't never heard of no .22 gauge shotgun.

  • All dog stories end like this.

    • denscul
    • 3/8/13

    As a man who has had at least a dozen dogs over his long lifetime, I realize I should have had a parrot, turtle, even a horse as my pet. Alas, only a dog has that magic bond between boy or man with his dog. I have mutts and expensive pedigrees. They all seemed to have personalities of their own. I had the same experience as the boy in this story. In between dogs I was allowed, there were periods when a stray came home with me. I think dogs knew that I was available to fill the bond between. Alas, some ran away, some my parents or wife refused, and once an owner came. To say the least, I could easily identify with this film. Having lived for a time along the edge of a Southern Swamp, courtesy of the Air Force, the countryside, and people were acurately portrayed. In 1960's I was one of those "damn Yankees". Although most of the country people portrayed in this film were like the ones I meet. They were surprised that I hunted peasants, had a gun, and grew up poor like most of them. Perhaps the best thing for many is the small role played by Sidney Potier. He was one of them, and to some extent, was accepted as a knowledgeable neighbor. This film was not one of those "hit you over the head" with political correctness.Gettting back to the story. all my dogs have either died, left on their own, or claimed by others. That makes this story pretty accurate. Its not like most cliched films made about dogs, like all the Lassie films, which I personally do not like. Some, like "old Yeller" come closer to real life. But I think this is the best because it shows a boy knowing more than an adult. Yes, that happens a lot in life when adults stick to their preconcieved notions. And the boy lets go of his dog to the rightfull owner. Now thats a mark of adult character.

  • Goodby, My Lady

    • Cecilia Prange
    • 3/5/13

    Excellent film with stellar cast. Worth seeing again.

  • Would love to see again!

    • Leigh
    • 10/17/12

    It's been a few years, but I remember well enough to know I'd like to see it again. I'm fond of most dogs, and this Basinjii stole the show. Thanks TCM!

  • What A Great Film!

    • Bruce Reber
    • 7/3/12

    I checked out the TCM db overview and reviews for "Goodbye My Lady" after it aired in January, and when I saw it was scheduled to air again on Sunday 7/1/12 I decided to give it a look. I'm so glad I did. It's a warm and wonderful story about a 12-year old boy named Skeeter (Brandon de Wilde in a marvelous performance) living in the swamps of Mississippi (though it was actually filmed in Georgia) with his uncle Jesse (Walter Brennan, in one of his many fine roles) in a small cabin. Skeeter hears a strange sound (like a ghost laughing, he says) in the swamp, and he and Jesse goes to investigate. They find that the "laughing" is from a Basenji dog. Later, Skeeter goes back, finds the dog and takes it back home with him. They soon become inseperable, Skeeter names it Lady, and he teaches her to be a bird tracking dog. Skeeter's joy is soon shattered when he finds out that Lady belongs to someone else, and that they've offered a reward for her return. Skeeter faces a tough decision: should he keep Lady, or should he do the right thing and return her to her rightful owner? Eventually, Skeeter decides the latter, although his heart is breaking and he knows he'll lose his best friend. His uncle Jesse sees this as a sign that Skeeter is growing up, and he finally lets Skeeter drink his coffee black. I do wish Skeeter could have kept Lady, though. The cast also features Sidney Poitier, Louise Beavers, Phil Harris and William Hopper. "Goodbye My Lady" is a lot like another kids & animals film, "The Yearling" (MGM 1946), the story of a boy with a pet deer living in the Florida Everglades.

  • John Wayne trivia

    • Barry Lane
    • 7/1/12

    In 1942 John Wayne and Randolph Scott appeared together in Pittsburgh. Scott's character: Cash Evans. On Goodbye My Lady, Phil Harris plays, Cash Evans. I don't believe in coincidence, so just something they were having fun with..?

  • Too Sad an ending...

    • Susan
    • 1/4/12

    I hate movies that tug at my heartstrings the entire time, then end sadly! Loved the movie until the last 15 minutes. Why couldn't the Dog Farm guy just say it turned out to be the wrong dog & go back to Connecticut? Regardless of any great "Life Lessons" this movie may have purported to convey, the end was just too sad for my sappy old heart. Wonderful performances all around though.

  • Goodbye, My Lady

    • Michael Garcia
    • 1/4/12

    It's the coldest January 4th morning in Gainesville, Florida in 112 years; I've taken advantage of it by building a roaring fire in my seldom used fireplace. The perfect morning to indulge myself in a TMC movie. This was my first viewing of Goodbye, My Lady. I was quickly taken by the old southern charm, the wily inferences to Yankees and who could resist a story of a boy and his dog.I love movies that and take you back in time, to our forgotten recent past, allowing us a glimmer to the struggling times that may have easily been our parents or grandparents, the morals of a simpler time and the reword of sacrificing what your heart desires most by doing the right thing.Goodbye, My Lady reminded me of one of my all-time favorite classic films "The Yearling" in which author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings wrote of a time and place of her childhood. Walter Brennan delivers another classic performance capturing the rustic back woods lifestyle as only he can. It was like seen an old friend I've long forgotten. In my opinion Brandon De Wilde (Sketter), performance was superior to that of his earlier film "Shane" (another one of my favorite classic films).

  • GOOD BYE MY LADY

    • CHUCK HENSON
    • 10/27/11

    WHAT GREAT MOVIE , I WAITED FOR THE DOG OWNER TO RELEASE THE DOG AT THE END, BUT IT NEVER HAPPEN. BUT GOOD ENDING ANYWAY KEEP THEM COMING

  • Greay Movie

    • Ray
    • 10/26/11

    Best movie ever made

  • Good-bye My Lady

    • Joan Jestice Loftus
    • 8/17/11

    This is a wonderful film that touched my heart as a very young girl many years ago. When it came on the TV, I was amazed to see a Basenji featured in a film! Who ever heard of a Basenji in those days?!!! Well, I had one from my childhood and loved him so much. Imagine my joy in seeing another of the beautiful creatures running and chortling and riding on his "daddy's" shoulders and hunting and springing up and over everything. They are truly wild creatures (I think I once read that "Basenji" means "Wild Thing" in Swahili or another African dialect. Mine was a wonderful, wild little hunter/friend/protector extraordinaire who sprung up & down in tall grass and was one of the greatest joys of my childhood. He picked the name "Adolph." We ran wild and free in the neighborhood fields and parks and he could leap up and climb trees! He was so beautiful -- like a gazelle -- and people would stop us and ask to just look at him -- and just to touch his silky, shiny coat! He was an ambassador for his breed. He was so much fun! He was brave! He feared nothing! He was a true sport! And he was my friend. He lived 15 years. But he lives on in my happy memories. I think this film should be shown over and over again. Kids need that fun more than ever now.

  • Goodbye my Lady

    • Rhonda
    • 3/3/11

    Such a beautiful movie for the whole family. I was engrossed by each character and the message is so good. A must watch, I am so glad to see it will be on again in April.

  • Good-Bye, My Lady

    • Nancy Rojo
    • 1/15/11

    Beautifully filmed in B/W showing the natural beauty of swampland in the deep south. Great acting all around to highlight the simple, yet honorable lives of the inhabitants. The story is of the growing up of a young boy who finds a stray, yet valuable dog, and his doing the right thing by returning it to its owner. The language is simple, honest, humorous, yet powerfully noble in expressing the characters true feelings and intentions. Of course, the strange little dog....a Basenji steals your heart and I ache for the bond the boy and the dog made with one another. A wonderful film for all ages. I enjoyed it more seeing it as an adult, 55 years later. It impacted my life all these years in subtle ways and I have since known 2 of the "little 'ole puppy dogs" in my life. They are unique and gentle, but can be misunderstood by many. Thanks Turner Movie Classics for bringing back this classic.

  • Good-Bye, My Lady

    • Jill
    • 1/15/11

    Thank you TCM for showing Good-Bye My Lady. I've been waiting since I was a little girl to see this movie again. I have 2 wonderful Basenjis and was thrilled to see this on TCM. Can't wait to get the DVD!

  • Good-Bye, My Lady

    • janet hall
    • 1/15/11

    This is a wonderful movie. I had never seen this movie until today, January 15, 2011. Please play this more often. Walter Brennan and de Wilde keep your attention as well as tugging at your heart. It is hard, not to cry. Thankyou for another classic.

  • Great family movie

    • Anita LAwrence
    • 1/15/11

    Does anyone know the breed of Lady? I thought maybe Shiba? These movies always make me cry ,but I still have to watch them.

  • great family filmgreat family film

    • Doug Currie
    • 12/15/09

    this film use to appear on tv, but i've not seen it in years. would love to see it on tv or dvd.

  • we need to buy them

    • martha hebert
    • 7/10/08

    i remember watching this movie on tcm when i had cable. this was an excellent movie with walter brennan. i would love to have it on dvd please give us old classic lovers this movies to buy that is the only way to preserve them. walter brennan was such a fine character actor he is missed.

  • Large Basenji following

    • Wayne
    • 5/30/08

    I became familiar with this movie because of my introduction to the Basenji breed of dog fifteen years ago. As the breed has become more and more popular, this title has gained a mythic status as a great movie for focusing on the beautiful little Basenji girl. Its a great movie, and would have a huge resale market among the new devotees of this marvelous breed. The human cast is pretty impressive, too <wink>.

  • DVD Release

    • Jim Quinlan
    • 1/13/07

    I was born in 1941 & remember watching this black and white movie on television.Ever since I was a little boy, I have been looking for the book or movie. It would be nice to see it again on DVD before my final day arrives.Thanks

  • Your Name
  • Your Email (optional)
  • Your Location (optional)
      Rate the acting of the Lead Performers
      Rate the acting of the Supporting Cast
      Rate the Director
      Rating of the Music Score
      Rating of the Title Sequence
      Screenplay
      Creatively uses the camera to tell the story
      Importance in Cinema history
      Would you recommend for fans of this genre

  • Title of your Review
  • Your Review

    Character Limit! You have reached the 2,000 word character limit for this review.

  • Preview & Submit Cancel Submit Review Go Back
Thank You!

We have received your ratings and calculated them into the overall user ratings for this title.

Click the button below to read reviews and see your posting:

Close Detailed Ratings (optional)

*We protect your personal infortmation and will not provide it to anyone without your consent. For a complete explanation, please refer to TCM's Privacy Policy. By submitting your contribution, you agree to TCM's Terms of Use.